We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt by the extractor fan”
Review of Babington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Babington House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

An absolutely lovely hotel. Luxurious through and through, as the other reviews say. But our stay was spoiled by the noise of an industrial extractor fan. Our room was above the kitchens. On the first night the fan didn't go off until 0430 and was back on at dawn. We complained and the manager assured us it would be turned off the next night, but it wasn't until we asked. Unfortunately it has to be on when the kitchens are I operational so we were woken up on both mornings which was a real pity. So ask for a room away from the kitchens!

S

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank timwalker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 523 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We went here for our 25th wedding anniversary. I'm very particular when it comes to hotels and look for special rooms with extra touches. This hotel definitely had that.
The pictures of the rooms don't do them justice.
We stayed in a walled garden room (32). You enter into a huge bathroom, two sinks, nickel bath, shower and separate loo. Then upstairs is a mezzanine bedroom and downstairs a sitting room with table, log fire, and antiques. Actually everything you may want. Outside there is a terrace with outdoor hot tub. We couldn't have asked for more.
It is vastly expensive though but for a special treat or if money is no object it's a must.
The food is good but not fine dining if that's what you're looking for.
Staff are very friendly, the whole place has a relaxed house feel. Good bar.
Spa is great and treatments are varied.
We had mud for two, great fun and the massage at the end is amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katepots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed at beautiful Babbington for my boyfriend and I's anniversary back in July. Having heard so much about this hotel we were excited to experience it for ourselves and we were not dissappinted. We stayed in the Playroom which is in the main house and is gorgeous! It is much much bigger in person than on the website which was a nice suprise. We both agreed that the bed was the comfiest bed we had ever slept on! The room also had a gorgeous free bar, and a bath tub for two with gorgeous cozy dressing gowns to put on after! Staff all absolutely fantastic, there would often be times we'd go down to the big sun beds outside to relax and they would be back and fourth getting us cocktais and lunch menu's - nothing is ever too much to ask at Babington and staff are exceptional.

We also had some gorgeous treatments at the Cowshed spa which again is my best spa experience to date! We had the couples mud treatment followed by a soak in one of the big tubs together - really lovely interactive treatment for couples! The Walled Gardens at the spa are beautiful and really nice just to walk around - you can smell the flowers from miles away which is lovely.

We really enjoyed every meal at Babington and didn't go into the main resturant once - the bar food was too good to miss out! Buttermilk chicken burger was melt in your mouth deliciousness!! Cocktails - some of the best cocktails i've ever had and on par with bars in NYC. Have breakfast in bed - cooked is delcious but then a big trunk full of cereals, jams, pastries, orange juice, granola, yoghurt and toast gets delivered to your room! YUM!!!

We both agreed we would love to get married here one day after getting to see the famous chapel we had been looking forward to seeing for so long!

If you are thinking about booking don't think just book! We can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Book The Playroom for beautiful garden views, huge comfy bed and a bath for two people :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed for one night for my birthday in one of the stable rooms. We were really impressed at all the little extra touches: homemade cookies, pot of tea in the room, loads of Cowshed toiletries

The room we had was over two floors with an enormous bath and walk in shower and a spiral staircase going up from our lounge into a loft bedroom

We got to the hotel early the day of arrival to use the spa and pool - which were really nice and fairly quiet. In the evening we went to the bar and dined in the restaurant - the food was lovely and service was very good.

Unfortunately we didn't have much of an opportunity to wander round the grounds as it was raining

We will definitely be coming back for another romantic weekend away soon, cant wait!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Arriving at babbington for my birthday break and potential future wedding venue we was greeted with friendly staff that was so welcoming, we instantly settled in and felt totally relaxed, our treatments in the spa was 100 per cent relaxation with very professional staff, there is a lovely little shop with unusual clothing and bags and our room was perfect with extra little treats we didn't expect. The bar food was delicious and breakfast was fit for a king that we was served in a box to our room. We will undoubtedly return for a longer break and hope to book our wedding as we fell in love with the little chapel on the grounds, we met the manager rob who was extremely hospitable and could not fault our stay, the afternoon tea was the absolute best we've ever had! Can't wait to return soon and worth the drive from London life.......

Room Tip: Walled garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makeup75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A really interesting property based on an old house sympathetically restored to be luxurious and homely at the same time. The restaurant is pretty good - really fresh salads to start and the best chips ever. The mix of club members and hotel guests is a little odd, particularly in the gym (chummy members dominating the thing) but not diminishing the experience. We're staying in a walled garden room which is really nice; no children allowed in these and their location makes them quite quiet, save for the noisy crows at 7am.

Room Tip: Room 32 (walled garden room) is furthest from the main hotel - nice and quiet but a bit of a walk. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent 24hours. I feel like i have really relaxed. Every aspect of this hotel is fabulous. The rooms are chic and nostalgic. The food is incredible and the service excellent. My only criticisim would be that the pool area is a little snug and no room to lounge by the indoor pool. The treatments are amazing and relaxation area fantastic. I will definitely be returning. Overall its the best place i have ever been to!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heret0help
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babington
6.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
986 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
684 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
15.4 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
684 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babington House

Address: Babington BA11 3RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Babington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Price Range: $415 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babington House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Babington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babington House Hotel Babington
Babington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing