We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous accommodation, but dinner was a bit of a let down”
Review of Babington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Babington House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation, but dinner was a bit of a let down”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night as part of a special birthday celebration. The accommodation was superb - huge, airy and warm, with not one but two massive plasma screens and the most enormous shower I've ever been in. This was worth the price.

Dinner, though, was not to the standard we anticipated. My starter, pate with truffle butter on brioche, was excellent. But the T-bone steak we shared was a bit of a disaster. We had ordered it with two vegetables and bearnaise sauce, but only one vegetable arrived. No one seemed to notice until we chased the other vegetable and the sauce, which meant they arrived several minutes later. Result: the meat and first vegetable were luke warm, and only the second vegetable was hot.

And the meat, while perfectly good, wasn't in any way special.

To cap it all, the waitress also spilled olive oil in my water glass and replaced the glass - but didn't provide another bottle of water, leaving us feeling rather short-changed.

So, for the price, the accommodation was spot on, but dinner was disappointing.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BequiaWhispers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    102
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
87
279
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place is as near as you can get to the perfect getaway... We're lucky enough to travel a lot and stay in many top-end hotels, so you do get very fussy about the smallest things that you think could be done better. Here, you look around and there's actually nothing you'd change. And that's a huge complement - And a vindication of paying your staff well enough so that they actually know what they're doing - and seem to really enjoy it. This infuses the whole place with a great feeling of confidence and ensures that however frazzled you are when you arrive (and I was about 9/10), it instantly drops away as you succumb to the feeling that it's like coming back home - even if you've never been here before.
We arrived midweek lunchtime.... Our room wasn't ready, so went to the bar to wait. Unsure about what to drink (and having spent the whole 2hr drive from W.London on the phone), the barman (A brilliant example of a top hiring - a young guy called Ewen) said that I looked like I should have a cocktail and to trust him to suggest the perfect one for lunch. Too tired to disagree, he mixed up a couple of the most perfect drinks which set the mood for the rest of our 24hr stay. Delicious bar food, a perfect atmosphere, roaring fires, all the magazines and papers you could ask for - then up to the room, a walk around the grounds and off to the spa for massages (great) followed by half an hour in the soaking tub (absolutely essential) with a bottle of champagne. Back to the bar, where a band are playing (it's open-mic Tuesday) giving it the vibe of a full on Friday night, then dinner (delicious) and bed (with the roaring fire already lit). We were only there for one night, but so good is the whole experience (the Cowshed is an essential part of the relaxing vibe, so you should do everything you can there - it's all great), that it felt like a long weekend - and all in the middle of the week. Almost wouldn't dare try anywhere else... Only one word of warning... However much the room costs you, expect to triple it by the time you've done all the treatments, food and drink. Even taking that into account, it's definitely worthwhile. Perfect.

Room Tip: I'd try and stay in the main house to get the full atmosphere. Don't forget your swimmers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 900cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Shame on you Babington. Last year directly post my stay in July i left a glowing review of the hotel and said how much we enjoyed our stay last year. This was very much undermined by the fact the hotel took an unauthorised and incorrect amount of several hundred pounds off our card after we left the hotel for charges to the room which were made the evening that we arrived by the previous guests who had checked out.

There was no courtesy call to inform us that this would be happening and not even a letter containing the credit card slip. In fact the whole incident would have gone unnoticed if i hadn’t checked my credit card bill in August and noticed the erroneous amount. I am pretty sure this behaviour is at best careless, and at worst fraudulent. When i called the hotel instead of instantaneously and unquestionably refunding the amount a whodunnit ensued – and my card was eventually reinstated. They were apologetic but not overly so, there was nothing to suggest if we ever went back they would make it up to us- they just wanted to sweep the incident under the rug. In fact i didn’t feel like they truely recognised the implications of what they had done – and the whole experience left such a bad taste that i would never go back there on principal in spite of the fact our stay was quite enjoyable at the time.

Moral of the story is to scour your credit card statement after you leave to ensure that they don’t do the same to you. Or stay somewhere else instead.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
17 Thank HotelMavenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

What better way to spend a couple of days at the end of a long,cold winter!
This was our first experience of Babington and the pressure was on as it was our first trip away without kids in 5 years but boy, did it deliver! From the moment we checked in to the moment we pulled out of the long drive to head home you could feel every sinew in your body start to relax. The staff could not have done more and the wide ranging training they undertake has obviously had an effect as without exception they were charming,courteous and could not have done more to make our stay more pleasurable. Make no mistake, this place is not cheap, although the Jan/ Feb off season rates are excellent value for money considering the attention to detail that has been paid to Babington. And that phrase, 'attention to detail', is what best sums up this hotel, those little things which makes your stay worth that bit extra. Many other reviewers have given the details but do not be put off by some criticisms ( slippery paths, poor external lighting.....perleeease! ) If you want a break where you can be as formal or as casual as you like, where you can mix it with celebs in tux's or t-shirts, where you can stuff your face with profiteroles or beast yourself in the fitness rooms, where you can sip coffee or cocktails then this is the place for you. But don't shout it too loudly or we'll never be able to get a booking again!!
Babington, you worked your charms and we will be back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tangoringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing one night break at Babington House and I have to say it certainly lived up to its expectation.

Upon arrival, our room wasn't ready (expected at midday) but we were informed we had been upgraded to the Play Room and had a tour of the property by a member of staff; we really thought nothing more about it, had a lovely lunch and went down to the Cowshed Spa for our pre-booked treatments. These were fantastic and on a par with other Cowshed treatments we've had at other properties (a facial and a pedicure). I finished before my wife and headed back to the house for a drink. I was informed our room was ready and shown to our room... WOW!! It was the honeymoon suite, the biggest in the House at 60+m2 with the biggest bed I've ever seen, a roll top bath, log fire, separate toilet and shower room, home cinema system, automated curtains, complimentary bar and views over the gardens, I needed a strong gin martini to calm myself down!

My wife returned a little while later, I let her in but can't repeat the expletive that came out of her mouth! She was just as taken aback as I was! Thank you Babington for letting us stay in your £600 per night room!

So, other things we enjoyed about our stay: great bar, great cocktails/mocktails, we had a fab guy that looked after us most of the day/night (sorry we didn't catch your name!), food was fantastic though we thought the service in the restaurant was a little lacking/unfriendly compared to the rest of the house where the lovely members of staff were always up for a chat, minor point though. The pools are great too, there was something quite surreal about swimming in the outdoor pool in February!

All in all a very relaxing 24 hours, we will return soon with the family...

Room Tip: Play Room if you can afford it, family rooms have just been upgraded apparently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brissleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A late review for our fourth trip to Babington House in October last year. Room was beautiful as usual, food excellent and service great. This is the perfect country house hotel & spa. We will be going back, again and again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadwithpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband & I spent a couple of days at Babington House without the kids between Christmas & New Year. It was wonderful; friendly, understated but efficient & professional service, felt relaxing the minute we walked through the door. Our room in the main house was fabulous, grand but comfortable like Babington House itself. The open fireplace in the room and large comfy sofa, magazines and huge bed were all perfect. The plethora of Cowshed products in the beautiful bathroom was fantastic & much to my husbands dismay, led to a visit to the spa shop before departure. We both enjoyed a massage at the spa - excellent. The service & cocktails in the bar before dinner was faultless, the atmosphere quirky & interesting. The only slight disappointment for us was the quality of dinner - nothing wrong with it, but of bistro standard and we were expecting and looking forward to a full top end restaurant experience. Overall though, rating it against similar UK properties, the best country house hotel weekend we've enjoyed.

Room Tip: Room 3 in the main house, very large bathroom with freestanding tub, walk in marble shower and firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babington
5.2 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
665 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
6.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
705 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 31 in Bath
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babington House

Property: Babington House
Address: Babington BA11 3RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Babington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Babington House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Babington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babington House Hotel Babington
Babington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing