We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed!! Needs some advice from the hotel inspector.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Holywell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!! Needs some advice from the hotel inspector.”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Turned up at the hotel and was instantly impressed by the beautiful setting, I was sure this was going to be a lovely place to stay and well worth the long drive. I trundled into the reception and was kept waiting for a while to check in as the person behind the desk was on the phone, although I did get an apology and was promptly given a form to sign and a key, with what seemed to be half a tree attached to it (I wasn't going to loose that in a hurry). Quickly went up to the standard double room to dump mine and my +1's cases, didn't pay much attention at first to the room but it was very compact and off I went to join my friends for a bite to eat. Opted for the bar menu which was rather limited and a bit on the pricey side, decided to opt for a warm sandwich, the pork and apple sounded good with a side of chips. Service was very slow but then the waitress arrived with no food but an apology as the 'pork' was a misprint, it should have stated 'beef???' Hmmmm beef and apple...... never heard of that before so I opted for a chicken wrap! Food arrived eventually and it looked beautiful but we were all very disappointed in the quality (seems to be a pattern with this hotel) the bar was also very limited, anyway it was late so off to unpack and sleep. On returning to the room i noticed how tired and grubby it was, the carpet had not been cleaned very well, there was stains on the throw and the chair and what looked like dead flies in the light fitting, there was also a hidden surprise, a tissue in the bed which was an unusual touch! In addition the room that I stayed in seemed to be situated directly over the kitchen, as I was woken up early every morning by banging, clashing and an electric whisk. On the plus side breakfast was ok, on the first morning the service was a little slow and there were no mushrooms but the food was nice and the second morning the waitress was lovely and yes there were mushrooms. This hotel 'could be' really special, the location is beautiful but that seems to be what you are paying a premium for, as the rest is like a cheap B&B that I would expect to pay a fraction of the price for.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank pink828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    79
    29
    28
    35
See reviews for
64
161
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
MK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

I have not stayed at the Tynycornel but have dined there for many years.
Before my most recent visit I had heard locally that the standards had declined, but I thought I would check for myself.
Visited for a lunch time meal and was very disappointed.
The food was of poor standard, veg undercooked to the point of raw, fish small and overcooked.
Didn't have the the time to send it back but complained on paying.
The young waitress said she would tell the chef, but no apology was offered.
Had to ask what they were going to take off the bill to get a reduction which was agreed by the senior waitress/receptionist. Still no apology.
Will not be returning under this management.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank tg7812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2010

My friend and I had a wonderful time at this hotel it is very very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpfull The food is excellent I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would certainly go back

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Lovely lakeside location with fishing available. Great for a quiet off-peak romantic get-away, but doubtless very busy in high-season Perfect for walkers. Amazing views .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caravanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I've just returned from a Christmas break and can thoroughly recommend the Tynycornel Hotel. I stayed in a superior room, which was excellent, but the standard rooms are quite nice too. The restaurant serves delicious food throughout the day, (and finding anywhere locally to match the quality is not easy), so I would suggest that all visitors take the Dinner, Bed & Breakfast option. I noticed some less satisfied reviews before my visit but, if there were any problems previously, the Hotel's new manager & head-chef are now delivering the required standards. I was also impressed by the friendly attitude of the various staff members I met. Tynycornel Hotel: book this hotel with confidence - it's excellent!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJH-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We have been going to the Tyncornel Hotel for the past few years and have just returned from the stunning views and surroundings..

When booking, I was dealt with in a more than welcoming and professional manner and was advised to stay in a family room as I have a 4yr old and a one yr old, not forgetting the family pooch.

When arriving, I was pleased to be roomed by staff and asked what time we would like dinner.

On arrival in our family room, we were more than surprised by the amount of space we had in our family room (with a family of 4 we have experienced box sized rooms), a living room, 2 bedrooms, bathroom, fantastic.. it was very clean, cosy and just what we needed for a winters stay.

The food in the restaurant was a good choice, served prompt, hot as was the breakfast the following day, absolutely faultless. They were also MORE than accomodating for the children who both had meals and breakfast and stayed and ate for free.

The following day, the Chef actually took the children to feed the trouts in the lake, it was more than enjoyable!!!

An absolute overall enjoyable stay had by all of us, including the dog, and we will certainly be going back..!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keelyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We've just returned from a weekend break at this hotel, and after reading the previous reports I was very aprehensive as it was a birthday treat! I neednt have worried. We arrived late afternoon and the friendly receptionist took details before showing us to a lovely room set around a courtyard with views over the lake. It was modern, clean and welcoming. A lovely warm bathroom with plenty of clean towels, a large bath / shower and toiletries etc was extremly welcome after a days walking up Cadair Idris. We had reserved dinner in the restuarant and again after reading previous reviews were corncered about what might be on offer - We neednt have been - not only the usual menu but a seperate vegetarian menu WITH PLENTY OF CHOICES!!! Courteous staff took our order whilst we enjoyed a drink in the lounge area. We were then shown through to a beatufully presented resturant and shortly afterwards served our meal. How any reviewer can say "canteen food" is beyond me - it was superb, hot, well presented and ultimatly tasted lovely and it was nice to have fresh iced water on the table without having to ask! Our waiter (a young man) was attentive and polite and knowledgebly answered any questions we had about the food. (Compliments to the chef please)
Breakfast the next day was also served in the same manner with plenty of choice and excellent service again. A late check out at 11am gave us plenty of time to enjoy a leisurely breakfast (and wait for the rain to clear a little!) Well done Tynycornel Hotel, you deserve a pat on the back, you're staff were lovely, the hotel was a gem in a superb location and the food wonderful. Will be returning !!! You deserve much more than 3 stars!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islay1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
5.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
333 reviews
9.1 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
1.2 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
78 reviews
5.8 mi away
George III Hotel
George III Hotel
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'yn y Cornel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Property: T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Address: | Tywyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — T'yn y Cornel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your T'yn y Cornel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
T'Yn y Cornel Hotel Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing