We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We have been going to the Tyncornel Hotel for the past few years and have just returned from the stunning views and surroundings..

When booking, I was dealt with in a more than welcoming and professional manner and was advised to stay in a family room as I have a 4yr old and a one yr old, not forgetting the family pooch.

When arriving, I was pleased to be roomed by staff and asked what time we would like dinner.

On arrival in our family room, we were more than surprised by the amount of space we had in our family room (with a family of 4 we have experienced box sized rooms), a living room, 2 bedrooms, bathroom, fantastic.. it was very clean, cosy and just what we needed for a winters stay.

The food in the restaurant was a good choice, served prompt, hot as was the breakfast the following day, absolutely faultless. They were also MORE than accomodating for the children who both had meals and breakfast and stayed and ate for free.

The following day, the Chef actually took the children to feed the trouts in the lake, it was more than enjoyable!!!

An absolute overall enjoyable stay had by all of us, including the dog, and we will certainly be going back..!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keelyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for T'yn y Cornel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 325 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2009

We've just returned from a weekend break at this hotel, and after reading the previous reports I was very aprehensive as it was a birthday treat! I neednt have worried. We arrived late afternoon and the friendly receptionist took details before showing us to a lovely room set around a courtyard with views over the lake. It was modern, clean and welcoming. A lovely warm bathroom with plenty of clean towels, a large bath / shower and toiletries etc was extremly welcome after a days walking up Cadair Idris. We had reserved dinner in the restuarant and again after reading previous reviews were corncered about what might be on offer - We neednt have been - not only the usual menu but a seperate vegetarian menu WITH PLENTY OF CHOICES!!! Courteous staff took our order whilst we enjoyed a drink in the lounge area. We were then shown through to a beatufully presented resturant and shortly afterwards served our meal. How any reviewer can say "canteen food" is beyond me - it was superb, hot, well presented and ultimatly tasted lovely and it was nice to have fresh iced water on the table without having to ask! Our waiter (a young man) was attentive and polite and knowledgebly answered any questions we had about the food. (Compliments to the chef please)
Breakfast the next day was also served in the same manner with plenty of choice and excellent service again. A late check out at 11am gave us plenty of time to enjoy a leisurely breakfast (and wait for the rain to clear a little!) Well done Tynycornel Hotel, you deserve a pat on the back, you're staff were lovely, the hotel was a gem in a superb location and the food wonderful. Will be returning !!! You deserve much more than 3 stars!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islay1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We have been visiting The Tynycornel Hotel since 2001 and at my last visit for my birthday we were sadly very disappointed. As others have stated the change of Ownership/Management has seen this haven turn into a shambles.
Poorly stocked wine cellar, and the food well it was jsu like 'CANTEEN FOOD' not in the least worth the premium you pay for the Dinner option.
WHOEVER OWNS THIS HOTEL PLEASE WAKE UP! YOU HAVE A GOLDMINE AND ALL YOU ARE DOING IS KILLING THE PLACE. Thank god for Halo Ice cream!
Graham Clark

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Clarkie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

My group of friends have been using this hotel for 20 years. its in a lovely location.
Myself only last five years and stay for two nights the same weekend every year,
The new staff and new manager are not customer service orientated, and i wonder why they have chosen the hospitality industry as a career they clearly lack training - one female waitress is very charismatic and helpful. But she is swimming lonely against a tide of indifference.
We had one dinner which was best described as grim with food selected from a small choice of dishes. The second evening dinner it must be said was much improved and the service better.
All this hotel needs is staff training, a good chef and an ethos of service and customer
care to be restored as it is in an excellent location. I am sure the new owner will spend time managing it and eventually get it right.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank dougskeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Wow - what a setting. The stunning Talyllyn laps gently at the entrance to this hotel set in one of the most beautiful corners of Wales.
Fishing fans will find themselves in heaven.
Walkers and lover of stunning scenery will be delighted at every turn.
I stayed in a room in the annexe - a room with an atmospheric porthole looking out over the lake.
The room ticked all the boxes.
Evening meal and drinks in a lounge overlooking Talyllyn made for a memorable stay.
I was on a business trip, but will find the time for a more leisurely return in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Wow, i thought that when I read the reviews on Trip advisor, that I had made a dreadful mistake but how wrong I was.

This is unquestionably one of Wales'hidden traesures. A good old fashioned hotel in a breathtaking location. Our rooms were good , comfortable and plenty of hot water. Food was good, and the fishing superb. the new ghillie is a real gentleman, and made our trip special.

Yes there have been changes in the last month, and our stay was excellent, relaxing and quite unique. The new owners were fishing and they explained the plans for taking the hotel back to being a victorian fishing lodge. When they finish next year this will be one of the best hotels in Wales.

We had two great days fishing and one walkiung, and will be back for some more autumn walking.

Its great, give it a try, and make sure that you leave your mobile behind!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwdexec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

fourth stay here and from the outset realised something was wrong. was told later that the hotel was under new ownership and management, although the new manager had taken time off and was absent for our stay. remaining (depleted) staff seemed miserable and despondent - most were young and inexperienced. the meals were indifferent, service very slow and poor(waited an hour for breakfast 1 morning) guests complaining all the time about the poor quality of food/low housekeeping standards in rooms/poor service. the head chef spent most of his time wandering through the public areas in his catering outfit, moaning or showing people his dog, which he kept in one of the guest rooms and which barked its head off whenever guests walked by. i suspect he may be the new owner but he didn't seem to care when guests complained at the poor standard of food. we saw 4 meals returned during our stay and heard him complain loudly in the bar that it wasn't his fault and implying the guests were just trouble-makers! one guest told me it reminded her of fawlty towers but there were no sybil or basil to address complaints to - and at least they always had 2 or 3 people waiting on tables: we never saw more than 1 young person struggling to dish out the food while we were there. very disappointed and very upset that this once lovely little hotel has descended rapidly into a dive!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sooz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
5.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
9.1 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
10.1 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Rectory on the Lake
1.2 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'yn y Cornel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Address: | Tywyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range: $113 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — T'yn y Cornel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your T'yn y Cornel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
T'Yn y Cornel Hotel Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing