We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay - Very highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay - Very highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived on Friday afternoon and immediately were made to feel very much at home. We were shown to our room which was very clean and adequate. We then decided to have some afternoon tea enjoying the stunning views of the lake from the picture windows in the lounge. Other members of our family were also staying in the area and at short notice decided they would like to join us for dinner that evening - this did not pose any problem for the hotel and a table soon laid up. In all there were 9 of us who all enjoyed an excellent 3 course dinner with plenty of choice and cooked to perfection. Breakfast at the hotel was also very good and set us up for the day - again plenty of choice.
The new owners of this idyllic hotel are trying very hard to bring this business back up to standard and given the chance will do just that. We have no complaints and will return. Special thanks to Geraint who was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. A great guy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJDavies, Manager at T'yn y Cornel Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay and your family meal and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    64
    25
    27
    34
See reviews for
45
122
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This has to be one of the most stunning locations for a country hotel...a lake, a beautiful Welsh valley with majestic mountains, a handsome (from a distance) hotel on the lake shore. I appreciate that this hotel is in the middle of changing hands (we stayed 18/08/12) but my honest advice would be: shut the place for a couple of weeks, got your act together in a reputation damage limitation exercise. In that 2 weeks, deep clean everywhere, interview new staff and land yourself a 'named' chef, refurbish the well stocked mature garden, and make sure all your drinks are in stock, and where necessasry kept at the right temperature. Sleep in every room to check the user experience - and replace the bed in Mallard - it is an instrument of torture.

The possibilities with this place are endless and it could be a stunning and profitable lifestyle and leisure facility, but it needs revolution, not evloution. And if you decide to sell again, please get in touch. I wish you the very best of luck - please bring this treasure back to life.

Room Tip: Don't chose Mallard - the bed is agonising. And insist on checking all other beds are not of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
35 Thank liz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJDavies, Manager at T'yn y Cornel Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Again, thank you for your feedback Liz.

I'm afraid we're unable to shut the hotel as you've suggested - a mixture of hotel bookings, functions and a bank holiday all make it unfeasible.

We have currently hired 2 extra housekeepers who are working hard daily to deep clean each bedroom and the public areas, whilst the kitchen staff are flat out deep cleaning the kitchen and storage areas.

Our handymen are getting through all the jobs needed to be done outside, which as you point out are sizeable to say the least!

Beds are top of our hit list and we'll be ordering new shortly. As you've suggested we are sleeping in each of the rooms to see what work needs doing from a customer's point of view.

As much as we'd like to be able to fix all the problems with the hotel over-night, the previous years have been hard on the property and Rome wasn't built in a day.

Hope to see you again
Ed and the Jenkin-Davies family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tal-y-llyn hotels

Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We did not stay but had dinner here. The new owners had just been there a week so things are bound to be in flux. Service was a little on the slow side as there weren't many diners (and the children are a little impatient). The fish and chips, which three of us had, were excellent and the tartare sauce was clearly home-made and delicious. My husband had ordered a rare steak but it was well-cooked when it arrived. However, on pointing this out, it was replaced immediately, was excellent, and we were only charged half-price for it. The view of the lake is wonderful from the dining area. I'd try it again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maloptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We should have known things were going to be bad when this hotel called us a day before our arrival to say they had no dinner chef and we could bring our own wine as their drinks license had expired! In retrospect we realise we were stupid not to have cut our losses then. On arrival it just went badly down hill, our room was jaded and dirty, milk was past its use by date, the bathroom was not that clean and the water not that hot. Others told us that they had to change room and it appeared there were very few staff, not that it mattered as there were very few guests! But the few front of staff who were hanging around could talk for Wales – one lad who we could not shake off gave us his life story and rather indiscreetly revealed how much the new owners had paid for the place and another (maybe the manager?) stopped gossiping about another nearby establishment when she realized we were listening. The new owners, who we were told were about to move in any moment, will have an uphill struggle turning this place around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
37 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJDavies, Manager at T'yn y Cornel Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Firstly, thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to report that we have now officially taken over the Ty'n Y Cornel hotel as of this weekend just passed. We have already taken a couple of steps to improve the business but sadly we can't make all the changes we would like overnight! We appreciate that we have a long road ahead of us to say the least. I'd like to highlight a couple of the changes we have already made however:

We have sorted out the drinks license and have put in a couple of chefs from our other business whilst we interview for a new head chef. We have a lot of work to do in the kitchen but as soon as we can we will only be serving freshly prepared food using local suppliers - in fact we have already done this with the evening menu which will be changing regularly.

We have refurbished the cellar and bar and are currently organising a wine tasting in order to put together a wine list that will compliment the food on offer, as well as introducing real ales and ciders produced locally.

We have also invested in the lake, with a professional weed cutter bought and the lake re-stocked with brown trout.

After a couple of weeks to bed in and take care of the work that needs doing back-of-house we will be holding an open day to which everyone will be welcome.

Any feedback or suggestions are always welcome, and we hope to bring Tyn-y-Cornel up to the standards expected by our customers and beyond.

Many Thanks
Ed and the Jenkin-Davies family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

By chance, I was lucky enough to stay there at a very historic moment in the life of this legendary fishing hotel. After years of uncertainty the hotel has been bought by committed new owners and will return to being a family-run business. I met two of the new owners who arrived half way through my stay and it's clear that they will be just what this place needs. Despite the difficulties the hotel's staff were awesome, particularly Anwen, Terry and Phil the Ghillie and nothing was too much trouble. It never stopped raining once during my 3 night stay, but the plus side was that the trout prefer it that way and I had full bags both days. With a combination of the lovely local staff and a management team that knows what it's doing, I think this will the start of an exciting time for the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had stayed here in the 70's and were having a trip down memory lane. Despite the awful weather, we enjoyed our stay. The food was very good and the service was too. The only negative comment would be that upon asking for a bread roll with dinner, we were told that the chef does not allow anyone to have a bread roll other than if having soup, but the obliging waiter said we could have some bread!!

Room Tip: If booking a standard room, ask for one overlooking the lake, these have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
493 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stopped here for tea and toasted tea cakes and sat in one of the bay windows in the lounge overlooking the lake. We appeared to be the only people around on a Saturday afternoon and having just read other reviews the current lack of personnel / change of ownership appears to be the reason - the guy on reception served us. The hotel is beautifully situated so would be a pity if it is not restored to its former glory.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
5.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
6.6 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
11.2 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'yn y Cornel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Property: T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Address: Tywyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — T'yn y Cornel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your T'yn y Cornel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
T'Yn y Cornel Hotel Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing