We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Having had our daughters wedding here we feel that this wonderful hotel and their staff deserve all the praise for their dedication and hard work that they showed throughout the weekend. Nothing is too much trouble, they made our guests so welcome, the food was good and the rooms were so comfortable with views of the Tallylyn lake. We would certainly reccomend this hotel for a wedding and for a holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peebs100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 366 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

Had a great stay - excellent food and one of the best locations in the area; an amazing view. The hotel is opposite the lake, with boat hire and fishing available.

Room Tip: stayed in Heron - a slighter bigger room, with own balcony overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LouDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Very disappointed .. sadly we will not be returning

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Daz2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Excelllent service from friendly staff. We had a comfortable room with views of the lake. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the breakfast was very good. Good value for money in a superb location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmag56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We had a lovely five days and although the hotel is for sale you would not have known it. The staff were hard working, polite and attentive.

Room Tip: Our room fronted the road so there was some traffic noise in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jem027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Having read some of the earlier reviews my wife and I arrived with some trepidation but from the outset I can say this was unfounded.

We stayed in Room 2 and our friend in Room 1. Both rooms and en suite bathrooms were spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. Some of the fittings are a little dated and the floor slopes, but this is Mid-Wales in the heart of walking/fishing country not some central metropolis.

The food in the restaurant was very well cooked and service was totally acceptable. Breakfast was also well cooked, promptly served and large enough for the day.

The fact that the hotel is in administration was not obvious and to me seems irrelevant. The room for two was £130 per night, including bed, breakfast and evening meal and this was a little on the expensive side, however all-in-all I would not hesitate in recommending for a weekends walking or fishing.

Room Tip: Room 1 - Great lake views but shower only. Room 2 - Same views but bath and shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clivedunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I have just come back from a long weekend staying at the Tynycornel Hotel. For the price we paid for two people £80 pn I wouldn't fault this hotel in too many ways, apart from the room being a little tired, this hotel is a very warming, friendly place to stay.The food was lovely especially the rack of lamb, I had on the second night and would definitely recommend people to try this when visiting.All the staff were friendly and very helpful and even though I found out during my stay that the hotel is under Administration I would stay again.

The location is great and the view from the room was fantastic and for my first time visiting Wales I wasn't disappointed. Wish we had stayed a bit longer and had the chance fishing on the lake as we found out from speaking to the gentleman who looks after the lake but hopefully we will next time we visit.

Ps, Take some bread for Henry 'Swan'.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silva6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Tal-y-llyn
160 reviews
5.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
344 reviews
5.6 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 4 in Machynlleth
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Rectory on the Lake
2.7 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#1 of 1 in Abergynolwyn
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'yn y Cornel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Address: | Tywyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range: $103 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — T'yn y Cornel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your T'yn y Cornel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
T'Yn y Cornel Hotel Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing