We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmmmm........very tasty!”
Review of Pen-y-Bont Hotel

Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Tal-y-llyn
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Pen-y-Bont Hotel is a 16th Century Coaching Inn on the South West shore of Llyn Mwyngil (Talyllyn Lake) in Southern Snowdonia. We serve hearty Home-cooked fare on our Bar Menu, served with real, home-made chips (a rarity nowadays.)Our local regulars & repeat Holiday visitors enjoy our Steak & Ale Pie (which is full to the brim with large pieces of real steak!), Chicken & other filled Pancakes and a wide range of meals including a large vegetarian selection. We also have a Children's Menu & a Gluten Free Menu, and cater for special dietary requirements wherever possible. During the Summer dining is in the Lakeside Bar or, in warm weather, on the scenic Beer Garden along the lakeside. We also have a patio garden where you can sit and enjoy the flowers, especially if it is windy by the lake. We allow dogs on the patio. We have a room separate from the Bar where we allow diners to bring their dogs indoors.In the winter customers cosy up by the three log fires in our old Oak-beamed Fireside Restaurant. So if you have just walked up Cadair Idris or you would just like to enjoy our serene setting come and joining us for a quality meal that will not leave you wanting!
Hope Valley, Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mmmmm........very tasty!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Delicious food in a wonderful location. There was a great choice on the menu and I was not disappointed by my meal of steak and ale pie. It was really tasty and full of tender meat. The service was friendly and I didn't mind waiting a little while for my meal which was obviously freshly prepared. Definitely a place to go back to for the warm welcome, the views and especially the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannyB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    4
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Looking forward to coming back!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Ate here with a group of friends at the weekend. Very welcoming and friendly staff, food was excellent - freshly cooked and plenty of it, just the job after a day in the hills!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdovey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WORTH VISITING TIME AND TIME AGAIN!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I and my friends prefer to relax and unwind in beautiful and friendly places.
This restaurant covers all of that. Then there is the amazing freshly cooked food, carefully selected ingredients; hot, plentiful, beautifully and colourfully presented, and so good it almost stops conversation!
Everyone's tastes are catered for, but for those of us who are Vegetarian or Vegan, this is a Paradise on Earth.
Unusually, Several Menu options to choose from and all of high quality
Warm, friendly but not intrusive Patrons and Staff , with a wonderful lakeside patio looking at the whole vista of the Tal y Llyn for the many sunny days that come so unexpectedly in this part of Wales.
We have certainly returned many times during our Summer Holidays, and also plan a Winter break or two, (just as we did last Christmas Day!) at the Pen y Bont.
We have already booked a mixed Vegetarian cum meat-eating party in for the "One Enchanted Evening" celebration of the natural world with a specially researched firework display, a talented Lounge singer and of course the Carvery (including the famous Pine Nut roast option, not to be missed).
This is a good place to relax, whether they are hugely busy, as so often in High season, or just for a lovely quiet off-season meal and relax to chat with a friend or two.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stelyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Excellent food, excellent service and excellent location. I think that really sums it up! Plus the chocolate caramel tart was absolutely amazing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DipaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back yet again”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Back yet again and still the food is fantastic. Great bar and waiting on staff who again made us feel very welcome.
fantastic gluten free menu; which other locations dont offer and after seeing the reviews on here about people winging about having to eat in the back room because u have a dog? Really? Consider yourself lucky ur allowed to take ur dog in the first place! Most places ban them! And besides would you be allowed to take a dog to the hilton? Dont think so; and any responsable dog owner would realise that the grassed area makes dogs foul. Would you like to sit and eat ur meal next to a pile of dog stuff?? Pen y bont hotel owners and staff you are ALL doing a fantastic job. Dont let these narrow minded idiots on here bring you down!!! Service excellent staff 1st class food well not a grade high enough!! Back again soon!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oioi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pen-y-Bont Hotel also viewed

Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park
Abergynolwyn, Snowdonia National Park
 
Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park
Abergynolwyn, Snowdonia National Park
 
Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Pen-y-Bont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing