We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous !!”
other travelers have booked this property
St.Mary's a part converted 15th Century 2* listed building now a beautiful holiday home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St.Mary's a part converted 15th Century 2* listed building now a beautiful holiday home
Overlooking the lake at Talyllyn this historic building offers you an unforgettable experience . Just a bit different ! NB:The 15th Century Church operates an Eco Loo System
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
St.Mary's a part converted 15th Century 2* listed building now a beautiful holiday home
Overlooking the lake at Talyllyn this historic building offers you an unforgettable experience .
Just a bit different ! NB:The 15th Century Church operates an Eco Loo System
views across the lake from St.Mary's with Cader Idris rising in the background.
The old vestry with it's modern kitchen set within a space of huge ancient oak beams to impress
Neighbours visit you here ! This one often helps me cut the grass!
A comfortable area to sit in the old vestry also providingTV/ DVD player and PlayStation with games
Definitely a room with a view .
The old building still retains most of its fixtures and fittings to set the atmosphere.
One of the many dramatic lighting options...this photo was sent to me by one of our visitors
Kingsize beds for that extra comfort  -- with filtered and  balanced air flow  ....
The stained glass window depicting the story of The Good Samaritan
The view of the lake from the old Church with Cader Idris reflected in the still waters ...beautiful
A good nights sleep here for sure and another kingsize bed.From this level you can view the Church !
One of the two  Lych-Gates and the ancient 15th Century Church - one of the oldest in Wales
An impressive rear entrance to the Church with parking and privacy .
St.Mary's and it's  beautiful location..photo taken on the ancient route to the Church from Corris
One of the collection of Victorian oil lamps that compliment St.Mary's..a step back in time ..
Spend the nights under the huge impressive 15th Century rafters.....a great treat !
This is the view from the 'pod'that you could wake up to ...showing the ancient barrel ceiling
A fine picnic area ... Incredible views ...and a private place to look out over the whole lake..
A beautiful location ....photo taken from the Old Rectory On The Lake
There aren't many places like St.Mary's.This is the 15th Century roof structure..impressive for sure
View of St.Mary's across the lake with Mynydd Graig Goch behind which glows red in the sunset !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lissieb
stalybridge
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous !!”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from this fabulous holiday let.From start to finish our experience has been one of charm,comfort and generous hospitality.Peter our host has paid attention to every detail and every requirement that a visitor could want.Lovely quiet location,but a mere half hour to numerous villages and lovely coastal towns.Dont hesitate to book,go and experience this totally unique holiday experience

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: there was nothing not to like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2015
Hello Both ..
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the holiday experience that St.Mary's offers .
Your care and attention to the old place was noted ....even down to presenting the famous grave of Jenny Jones with a fine flowering plant ...and it is this very day 200 years ago that she was actually at the battle of Waterloo..along side her soldier husband ...what a woman ..!!
We look forward to seeing you again soon ..
With Regards
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walter s
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Book it”
Reviewed May 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Hello

adding to the previous reviews. Excellent location, beautiful property, absolute reliable owner ..... just perfect. My advise ..... BOOK IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and the locatin
Liked least: Nothing .... .All was perfect !!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2015
Thanks for this positive review ...short ...but it says it all ..brilliant ...!!
Even now after many years of ownership of this beautiful old building I can't help but feel proud and happy to be its present custodian..even if it does take me four hours to cut the grass ..!
Regards
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K59C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique and peaceful”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you like something out of the ordinary then this lovely conversion is for you. Quiet location but easy traveling to the whole area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2015
Thanks so much for a five star review and so pleased that are planning to return .
St.Mary's and I will look forward to seeing you again.
Regards..
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy69De...
Devizes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed here in March 2015, and didn't want to leave, " Absolultely beautiful" cannot fault it, Amazing surroundings, & sooooo nice to see such a sweet little chapel bought back to life.. we will be going back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
Thanks for choosing St.Mary's for your holiday ...It was a pleasure to meet you both and I'm well pleased that you enjoyed yourselves...
I look forward to seeing you again one day .
Regards
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandrea M
south staffs
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed March 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the most amazing quirky, unique, property I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The property is extremely spacious and well equipped, with the added bonus of the inside of the Chapel right in the middle of the property. Untouched with its pews, pulpit, open beams and large stained glass window. The location is quiet and relaxing, but with two restaurants in walking distance. I would definitely return to here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, comfy beds, well stocked kitchen and truly unique experience. there were lights everywhere creating a wonderful atmosphere
Liked least: nothing really apart from the lack of a dishwasher
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2015
Thanks so much for visiting St.Mary's and I'm so pleased you enjoyed the experience. It was a pleasure to have talked with you and hear of your exploits.
I was well pleased to have received a copy of your recent publication ..wow..!!
Regards
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shazzaAus...
Aussie in UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing opportunity to stay in something so unique”
Reviewed January 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we were blown away by the amount of history and the location in which we were about to spend our next week. St Marys is certainly a very unique place to stay and is one which will stay with us forever. Everything you need is on hand without compromising the value of traditional ideals.

We were not so fortunate with the weather and I can imagine during much better weather we would have to be able to explore the surrounds much more. We did manage to sit by the lake on a fine evening and have a beverage from the local hotel a very relaxing expererience. The drive down to St Marys is a sight to behold as the lake opens up before you as you head on down the winding road.

A stay for someone who is looking for something different in a beautiful location.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2015
Hello Sharon ..
I remember you .. you came to visit St.Mary's all the way from Australia ... and it rained ..!!!! .. I deserve to have a star deducted for that ..!!..You still left a note saying you had enjoyed yourselves..
Thanks for those kind words in your review ..and good to know you won't forget us here at Talyllyn ..
With Regards
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was different and away from it all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2015
Hello Both ..Thank you for your positive review and thanks for venturing to come so far to spend a special time here at St.Mary's ..I'm glad you weren't disappointed .
It was wise to bring your bikes with you as there are some brilliant places to visit ...
I'm pleased that New Years Eve was enjoyed ..the firework display courtesy of the Old Rectory, viewed from the Church , must have been quite a treat ..
See you again one day maybe..
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing