We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pen-y-Bont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Hope Valley, Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend here and were made to feel really at home. From the moment we stepped through the door the owners made us so welcome. The bedroom was warm, nice hot shower after a day on the hills and the bed especially comfortable. There was a great choice on the menu and the food was really great, I definitely recommend the steak and ale pie! Great hosts, superb location, good food - a really lovely place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannyB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank You Granny B44! Yes many people say that our Steak and Ale pie is second to none although this year we have added a delicious range of Gourmet Burgers, home-made Fisherman's Pie and Scallops in Brandy Cream sauce! We constantly seek to improve customer's taste experience with new and up to date choices to expand our range of home-cooked menu favourites! It is very important to us that you experienced such a warm welcome so thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
29
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend with a group of friends. The owners made is feel very welcome and as we we were arriving late kept the bar open for us which was appreciated. The hotel is clean and warm and the hosts very welcoming and very knowledgable on the area, the location and views are stunning, and food was excellent. We hope to return again soon and stay a longer !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
It is marvellous to receive such positive comments about our customer care and home-cooked food. Thank You David. The location is of course remarkable and we hope you will come and experience the wonder of this "little piece of Heaven on Earth" again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago with our dog. To be honest, for the room rate, we did expect more... the whole building was quite cold, the room even more so. It was clean and tidy, if a little dated. Bathroom was freezing, and there was no attachment to hang the shower head from, which was a bit of a pain!
Food in the restaurant wasn't great, seemed to be poor quality/possibly just reheated. It wasn't cheap either, so that was disappointing. Also, if you bring a dog, you have to sit in the back room. Now, I don't mind having a separate area for dogs, but it was a cold, dank room at the back, right next to the toilets. No main door on the toilets so you were constantly interrupted by the sound of the tank flushing through. No working lights in there either. Now, we spent a fair amount on drinks and dinner, so I did resent feeling like a second class citizen a bit, just because I had my dog with me. It's almost as if our custom doesn't matter as much?
Hosts were very friendly and helpful, which makes writing a negative review a shame. I just feel for the money it didn't really live up to expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank ElvishBadgerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We do remember your visit, which was in August in 80F temperatures. We are very surprised to say the least that you were cold in these conditions. How could we be expected to know this in these high summer conditions? We are so sorry that you didn't feel able to speak to us personally about this as we would have been more than happy to provide heaters, blankets, anything really to enhance your experience. It is of great concern to us that your perception of our home-cooked food was not of the high standard that we expect and you deserve. I can only hope that one day you return so that we can demonstrate that there is surely something on our extensive menu that would be to your liking. We cater for dog owners and value them just as highly as our other visitors. We have listened to your concerns and this year we have added a new seating area in a prime position by the lake which is separate from the main Beer Garden. We may not be a finished article but I hope one day you will return and see that we are not resting back on our laurels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

If u are thinking Wales, u must see this place. From a short distance from a hotel(10 min by car) You will find a magic escape intro nature, through waterfalls, hidden caves, flora and fauna,King Arthur labyrinth, Hobbit trees, and breath taking mountain views.

If you are the one seeking a luxury and meal in 10 minutes to be ready for you do not be fooled. Did ever seen a home made food to be ready in such a short time? People do not have a patience these days, they are like spoiled kids screaming ''feed me now''. I waited for my food to come longer than usual but the quality was delighting. Every morning we were welcomed with fresh veg or watermelon juice and garden salad. My partner is a meaty person enjoyed local beacon and free range eggs.

The rooms were very clean with comfy bed, and supply with drinks on arrival. The staff were very polite and helpful. The owners night stories about Celtic legends and Druids only assured me that was a place we will be back shortly.

Kasia and Derek

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KasiaTomczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank You Kasia! It was great to meet yourself and Derek when you visited in August and to find we'd met two new friends! Thanks for the inspiration and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited the restaurant/pub as a family of 9 for a Pre-booked Sunday lunch. It was my idea to revisit this place as we frequented it many years ago and it was always a treat and we always felt it was a smart, even 'posh' place to have a special meal out. What a disappointment! And how embarrassed I felt to have recommended this place. On arrival we felt as though we had walked into the toilets as there was a strong, damp smell of toilet cleaner. The first room is dank and grotty. Th main room, where the bar is is sparse with patterned carpet and turquoise painted walls. I am sure a few walls have been taken down to create this space, but it was far nicer years ago when there were smaller, cosy rooms. We had booked a table but still had to queue to order out meals. Service was slow and unreliable.
The meals arrived swimming in gravy, with soggy veg and very little meat. On reflection I'm not really sure my lamb was lamb as it looked and tasted more like pork!
Completely overpriced - £10.95 for one course. £10.95 for a child's 2 course.
The pub cannot take any credit for the outstanding views, which remain unchanged and beautiful.
We won't ever return and would dissuade anyone from eating at the pub.
I notice all the positive reviews are about the scenery, and from people sitting outside!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
40 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Customer reviews on booking.com rate the friendliness of our staff at 9.3 out of ten, compared to 9.1 for the location. We are very proud of this fact. The same statistical database, measured over many dozens of reviews, rates our food as the best of any of our local competitors on booking.com. If you were to contact us and make yourself known in person, we would demonstrate to you that the experience and perceptions you describe do not define what we are doing here at the Pen-y-Bont Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

first stop here after a 3 hr road trip from s/wales.. dog friendly only just....dogs are allowed on patio and back room...went into back room to have a look before we ordered our drinks/food etc...no chance, room dark, damp and smelling of the toilets...if we dared sitting in this area we would be in ear shot of the toilets ..shocking.. went back into bar ...which was serving an elderly gent..the bar man was very rude to the gent...after my partner waited 10mins to get served whilst they sorted out the gents bill we were told after the wait that only sandwiches were available etc...after this we left promptly..You cant even sit beside the lovely lake...no dogs aloud ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
36 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Although the sign to the outdoor area said "no dogs" they are welcomed here!
The star of the show is the view. We could have sat there all day and watched the changing reflections on the lake.

Our party of 6 all enjoyed our food. The staff were friendly and we will hopefully come here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrummyDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
A big Thank You to all your family for visiting us, including the dog! I'm so glad you enjoyed our home-cooked food and warm welcome. When you visit again ask for Brian or Angela so we can thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
5.6 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Tal-y-llyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
#10 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Bont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Bont Hotel

Property: Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Address: Talyllyn | Tywyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pen-y-Bont Hotel in Talyllyn is a 16th Century Coaching Inn situated on the South West shore of Llyn Mwyngil (Talyllyn Lake) in Southern Snowdonia, Wales. Our location at the foot of Cadair Idris is magical and uniquely beautiful, the views you see here are shown by many yet only fully seen from our premises. We offer a warm welcome to all our visitors and share our knowledge of the local area, helping you to get the most out of your stay in this serene Celtic landscape. Many Welsh myths are centred here, and the landscape is untouched by development. Within the valley we have virtually no mobile phone signals, although there is free WiFi throughout the Hotel Building & we have Flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We have five rooms, a Bar and a Restaurant. Our Beer Garden is where you can see Talyllyn at it's best, and is a sensational place to eat on a warm Summer's day. At other times you can cosy up by one of our log fires in the Fireside Restaurant and Bar. Come and enjoy our Home-cooked meals with Real Chips and Real Ale, in one of the most stunning locations in Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pen-y-Bont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Bont Hotel Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing