We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely view, with lovely people”
Review of Pen-y-Bont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I just keep coming back to this place! The owners, Brian and Angela, are so friendly and the atmosphere is really welcoming. If you like hill climbing, it is in a great spot with lots of circular walks, and you can get to the base of Cadir Idris in 35 mins by foot. It has to be the most beautiful view in all of Wales, and that's saying something! I have never been disappointed with the food or the great selection of beer and wine that is stocked there. I was so taken with the place and the people that I had my 50th birthday party there, and was made to feel like a prince. If you go there, try Brian's lamb-straight off the hill, and incredibly tasty. These guys work hard to make you feel at home. I recommend it to walkers and climbers who want a comfy base camp, and couples and families who enjoy beautiful scenery and warm hospitality

Room Tip: People-there is no swimming pool unless you class the lake (which is very cold!!)-I can't get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calgar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

High praise indeed from one so well travelled as yourself! Make sure you get back safely from your latest destination and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've stayed here for one week and found the owners very welcoming. They can not do enough for you. Along with the staff. They all really make you feel as if your part of their family.
Breakfast is full English however cereal is available of preferred.
no mobile signal and no tv which is fantastic. Who wants to watch telly when you have lovely scenery. Away from.the city. However the pen y bont hotel do provide wi fi. So if you do need to make contact there is a line.
the menu is really large. Lots to choose from which is good. Plenty of variety. Also very reasonable.
i really found the beds very comfortable. I really didn't want to go back home..
thank you Brian. Angela and all the hard working staff for a warm welcome and making our holiday a one to remember.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oioi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Many thanks to Angela and Brian for a lovely evening on Friday, Food excellent, Angela's singing remarkable and to top off the evening a great firework display. Many thanks, you have an idillic spot for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This is a bed & breakfast grossly overpriced. We stayed for two nights, the bedroom was a little damp with cobwebs. The bed was too soft. There was no shower gel or shampoo and the room wasn't made up on the second day. This meant we didn't have clean or dry towels. There was no hairdryer either, luckily a friend was staying at the same place so I borrowed hers. Breakfast was ok, despite my cornflakes being out of date.
Not the standard I expected when paying £90 per night.
However the owners were pleasant enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
134  Thank BristolTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is arguably one of the best spots in Wales. The Tal-y-llyn lake is idyllic, peaceful and magical. Perfect for romantic getaway. There is no mobile signal, TV, street lights or Wifi and that is all a bonus. For you are alone with the beautiful countryside and this makes for a very relaxing break away from it all.

The owners, Angela and Brian are just great and can't do enough to meet your needs. The evening meal was delicious. The price was very reasonable too. I loved the informal, relaxed atmosphere. Just a great place to unwind and chill out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Annelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
5.6 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Tal-y-llyn
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Rectory on the Lake
1.4 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Bont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Bont Hotel

Address: Talyllyn | Tywyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range: $117 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pen-y-Bont Hotel in Talyllyn is a 16th Century Coaching Inn situated on the South West shore of Llyn Mwyngil (Talyllyn Lake) in Southern Snowdonia, Wales. Our location at the foot of Cadair Idris is magical and uniquely beautiful, the views you see here are shown by many yet only fully seen from our premises. We offer a warm welcome to all our visitors and share our knowledge of the local area, helping you to get the most out of your stay in this serene Celtic landscape. Many Welsh myths are centred here, and the landscape is untouched by development. Within the valley we have virtually no mobile phone signals, although there is free WiFi throughout the Hotel Building & we have Flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We have five rooms, a Bar and a Restaurant. Our Beer Garden is where you can see Talyllyn at it's best, and is a sensational place to eat on a warm Summer's day. At other times you can cosy up by one of our log fires in the Fireside Restaurant and Bar. Come and enjoy our Home-cooked meals with Real Chips and Real Ale, in one of the most stunning locations in Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pen-y-Bont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Bont Hotel Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing