We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Nearby Hotels
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
$236
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lion Hotel(Machynlleth)
$77
$75
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wynnstay Hotel(Machynlleth)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolffanog Fawr(Tal-y-llyn)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plas Dolguog Hotel(Machynlleth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbour Hotel(Barmouth)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (980)
Filter reviews
980 results
Traveler rating
940
30
8
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
940
30
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubricky's cookingthe craig goch roomfree standing bathhosts johnmynydd rugog roomroll top bathstunning viewshuge bathroomcadair idriswarm welcomeeggs benedictbed and breakfastbefore dinnerlocal areaidyllic locationicing on the cake
Filter
Updating list...
915 - 920 of 980 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Old Rectory and can't stop telling people what an amazing time we had.
My fiance was over from Germany for the weekend, so for us we were looking for a perfect weekend, and that is exactly what we got - the room was lovely - the bathroom out of this world!

After our hike up Cader Idris we could wallow in the hot tub for a couple of hours, drinking Champagne and eating chocolates whilst enjoying the splendid view over the lake.

Dinner was a culinary treat - and even when we had to leave the restaurant early as we were so tired from our day our dessert (a spectacular chocolate dish) was brought up to our room for us to enjoy!

When we left I was genuinely sad - and hope to return one day - John and Ricky made you feel very at home with luxuries you would not normally think of within your own home.

A big thankyou to them both for making one of our few weekends together extra special -

Sally and Marcel

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally5171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

Thanks so much for submitting what is our 50th review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you had a good stay here at Talyllyn but you flatter us when you describe 'The Old Rectory on the lake' as being a hotel - we are just a five star bed and breakfast blessed with being in an incredible location here in south Snowdonia. We were well impressed that you both got to the summit of the mountain above us despite the low lying clouds. You certainly deserved the hot tub wallow afterwards and we are pleased that Ricky's dark chocolate fondant surprise hit the right spot!. We wish you well with your wedding in Greece later on the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Had the most fantastic Christmas in a magical setting - Fun , laughter, games Hot Tub and snow mountain walks with breathtaking scenery.
Home away from home with all the luxury eminities one could ask for.
Rickie and John's food and hospitality made this Christmas break a wonderful and unforgetable experience.

Thank you

The Kristian's and extended family.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muksicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at the rectory and we can honestly say from the moment we got there it was everything we hoped for. Excellent hospitality from both john and ricky, spectacular views from every angle especially our room and outstanding food. There physically was nothing that we could fault. We felt that john and ricky genuinely wanted to make our weekend perfect, right down to letting us light candles in our bathroom, corking our wine before we left and letting us have use of the balcony hot tub at ten oclock at night! perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sachantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

The Old Rectory is a lovely modern B&B situated on the Tal-y-Llyn Lake shore in the middle of amazing nature. You can watch your favourite programmes on satellite TV or browse the internet on your wireless device here. But you will not do it because you will be fascinated by stunning view through your room window.

I am student from Czech Republic. I visited this beautiful place to improve my English. John and Ricky are very friendly people! I felt here really welcomed.

If you like fishing you can visit the Tal-y-Llyn Lake. I very like fishing and it was the first time that I could try “fly” fishing. You can catch fish from a shore or you can borrow boat. The second choice is much better :-) Although I did not catch any fish it was a great adventure!

If you like a walking you can walk up Cadair Idris Mountain. Our trip lasted about 5 hours. Unfortunately the weather was not very good in height – mist was everywhere – so we couldn’t see the beauty of this region from the bird’s eye view. When we returned back, hot tub and sauna were waiting for us! It was a great surprise!!!

Next tip for a good trip is Rheilffordd TALYLLYN Railway. It is the first volunteer-run preserved narrow gauge railway in the world. You can go by train from Nant Gwernol or Abergynolwyn to seaside town Tywyn and back. The locomotive is driven by a steam. In the Tywyn you can visit the Narrow Gauge Railway Museum and Gift Shop.

Yes, beautiful nature with all the technological advances and very friendly hosts – that is The Old Rectory!

Thank very much to John and Ricky for a fantastic holiday with great English lessons!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawiDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

The Old Rectory was recommended by a colleague and we were not disappointed. The location is stunning – on the edge of a very beautiful lake surrounded by mountains. John and Ricky are perfect hosts – making you very welcome in their home and providing wonderfully cooked and presented 5* evening meals and breakfast. Our room was one “wing” of the large house; the bedroom was very spacious and comfortable with a separate huge and luxurious bathroom and a separate loo. The hot tub was the icing on the cake for a very indulgent weekend. Great value for money. I am saving up for another visit hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue321_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews