We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The start of a new life together"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Telford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"The start of a new life together"”
Reviewed April 20, 2010

After finding this hidden treasure on the internet I asked my partner to take me their as my birthday present. We were overwhelmed when we drove up to the location. Pictures do not do it justice it is an amazing place. We were greeted by John and Ricky who made us feel welcome immediately. After taking a walk around the lake we went back to our room. The room had such a homely feel and the little touches that they added to the room was wonderful; there was binoculars in the window to look out onto the lake and a small blue light to which you switch on at night and it lights up the whole window. We then went out to hot tub and whilst enjoying a glass of wine we looked out to the amazing views of the lake and Cader Idris. My partner then cheered to my birthday and I found a ring in the bottom of my glass and he proposed to which I accepted. This was the perfect moment accompanied by the views, the atmosphere and to one I will remember for ever. We dined in the new Orangery which overlooks the lake in the evening and the food was delicious, I must recommend the lamb shank. Towards the end of dining John and Ricky toasted to us with the other diners with a complimentary bottle of champagne which made our moment more special. We were extremely touched by this kind gesture. We would like to say a big thank you to Ricky and John, you have created the perfect setting and there is nowhere else I would have preferred to spend such a momentous moment in my life than the Old Rectory on the Lake.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sezmobile36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
586
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2010

It has all been said before but this is a really special place to stay. John and Ricky have created a unique experience up in one of the most beautiful spots in Snowdonia. The food was delicious and very well-priced and Johns tips on enjoying the area are spot-on every time. We would recommend a few days stay as there's so much to see around and about. We were lucky enough to see the lake covered in snow.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattyje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

It wasn't just the idyllic location, sumptuous food, clean and spacious suite, hot tub with a view, or the charming hosts that made this such a memorable trip. It was the combination of all those things in one heavenly place that made our stay unforgettable.
We awoke refreshed after arriving late the night before to a breakfast of fresh fruit, home-made jams and yoghurts, cereals and a choice of hot dishes from locally sourced produce. The food was abundant enough to see us able to walk directly from the front door up along-side the lake and along a circular tour in the snow of the three highest peaks that made up Cadair Idris, eventually descending through the woods to arrive directly back to the front door! After tea, our tired legs were bathed and massaged by the hot tub as dusk enveloped us looking down the lake. The evening meal was sumptuous enough to be served in any top restaurant, beautifully presented and well complimented by their wine list.
In short – unspoilt luxury – if you are thinking of going don’t hesitate as I’m sure rooms will be at a premium next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We drove from Heathrow to this B&B, which was a beautiful drive especially with the fall colors. When we arrived we were greeted with a smile and was shown our room which was large (especially the bathroom) and had big windows with amazing views of the lake. We were told about what the area has to offer. There is a wonderful walk around the lake and it takes about an hour. We decided to have dinner at the B&B and the meal was fantastic. We did bring our own wine to dinner which was not a custom of the B&B because they sell wine. We were charge a couple pounds for a corkage fee. We relaxed in the evening in the sitting room which was comfortable. We were served some drinks while sitting there listening to the music of our choice. The service is excellent. The breakfast the next day was also amazing. Between the lovely scenery, food and service you can't go wrong with staying at this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Traveling to Ireland through Snowdonia we wanted to have a two day rest, and decided to stay at The Old Rectory at Tal Y Llyn and booked the The Rectory Retreat. There room was clean and big enough for the 4 of us, and is even suitable for older people!,.. (well considered!)
It is in an incredible location just 25 minutes from the Beach and all sorts of interesting places and a wide ranch of activities, especially for young children!. While having a nice fresh made breakfast, we enjoyed a beautiful view over the lake and mountains.
The owners were very friendly & helpful!, and will ensure you enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FvH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
243 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

This is the best b&b I have ever stayed in! It is so convenient for Cader Idris. The food is fantastic! The bathrooms are lovely. Can't wait to go back sometime. They even let me use the landline because the mobile reception isn't that great.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caustonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We came back to 'The Rectory on the lake' for a second time, after we stayed here about a year ago. We had just as an amazing time as then. John & Ricky provide an unobtrusive service, if you need them they are there otherwise you are free to relax and do as you please.
The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are lovely and spacious. We stayed in the Mynod Rugog room and the views over the lake are to die for.

We had dinner 2 of the 3 nights that we stayed and you really get spoiled for choice. The food is very tasty and presentation is also really good. Local produce is used and you really cannot fault anything. We really enjoyed the wines on the winelist too.

Breakfast is cooked to order and again you are spoiled for choice.

We would definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Tal-y-llyn
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
207 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing