We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24 hours thinking space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“24 hours thinking space”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Another trip to Talyllyn for a 24 hour away day to plan the next 12 months. As always,a great welcome, great service and an excellent meal. I always think when I visit that Ricky's cooking has reached new heights, and each new visit he exceeds expectations.
The organgery is a fantastic space for working during the day, and with the lake and mountainside views, it really frees the mind and allows for heightened creativity.
Accommodation was superb - lovely crisp laundered sheets.
As usual, a fantastic stay again. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and all have a view. Two of the rooms have a huge bathroom, so if you want e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary-coedfryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are pleased Gary that yet again The Old Rectory on the lake proved to be the ideal place for you to escape for 24 hours - uninterrupted by the pressures of modern working day life - to allow you and your colleague some quality and indeed useful thinking time. I have passed on your kind comments regarding his cooking to Ricky and he and I sincerly hope that all goes well for you both workwise for the forthcoming year.
John - joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
586
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Let's start by saying this is the most amazing place for so many reasons, so if you are reading this and have never stayed here just book!! Without even reading on.... Initially we wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle for a weekend, and that is exactly what we experienced. Wales is close season in November so don't expect much going on but tranquil/beautiful/views to die for (and not to mention the stars at night) this is the most amazing place we have ever stayed!! Such a warm welcome on arrival that continued throughout our stay with the proprietor (john) being always helpful and incredibly informative about walks and the places to go and visit. We booked dinner for our first nights stay (Friday)(maybe thinking that if it wasn't too good we could go somewhere else Saturday) well if you are still reading this don't even contemplate this because Ricky is the most amazing chef, producing the highest quality locally sourced food. The evening started by John introducing the guests to each other (it felt such a warm atmosphere) then our 4 course meal was amazing (both nights of our stay) we booked fairly late so could only get the ground floor room, this was adequate for our needs, maybe a little small but cosy. Breakfast on both mornings was to the same high standard that dinner was presented, but if you have a small appetite don't order the full English it's 'mahussive' (that means really big!!) we have felt privileged to spend a lovely weekend with such genuine people, both staff and other guests. Thank you John and Ricky!! Jon and Kariena.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kariena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We simply have no idea how to respond to this incredible detailed review of your weekend stay with us. We are just well flattered and so 'mahussively' encouraged by all that you have kindly written.
John and Ricky - joint owners, The Old Rectory on the lake, Tal-y-llyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolvey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our second visit - as before excellent in all respects - this is no ordinary Bed and Breakfast. Lovely rooms, enormous bathrooms, spectacular views. The breakfasts surpassed all expectations for a Bed and Breakfast. The evening meals at the Old Rectory were excellent - good quality food, cooked by an excellent chef Ricky and served by a very pleasant, helpful and friendly host John were thoroughly enjoyed by us all.
We certainly will return here and recommend it to our friends.
Thankyou both of you for a wonderful stay.
David and Jane

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We really appreciate you coming back to see us and taking the time to leave this review. Thanks also for bringing your friends to stay and I am glad that you all enjoyed your mid-week break away from your farm. I especially enjoyed our pre-diner conversations and David's wise advice on various matters. We look forward to welcoming you here again.
Kind regards, John - joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Puente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our first trip to the UK to visit our son stationed at Mildenhall. Our first outing was to see Wales and we chose The Old Rectory by the Lake for our stay. It was absolutely beautiful. The scenery around the Rectory is tranquil and you could just sit and stare at it for hours. It was picture perfect. There is plenty of beautiful places to hike or go sight seeing. The accommodations were lovely. John made you feel right at home and Ricky's cooking was 5 star. We definitely recommend you join their dinners, fine dining at its best. At the time of our visit Adam was assisting as staff and working with John on videos of their area.

Please visit them and you will have no regrets. We plan on returning to the UK and The Old Rectory on the Lake will be on our list of things to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi to you both! It was brilliant to meet you all and it was just incredible to discover that your engineer son often flies around the area from his air base down in Cambridge - we must try and get a shot of his huge transporter plane as it flies over us some time! Thanks so much for posting such a glowing review about your stay here and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your first trip to Wales - it goes without saying it would be our pleasure to welcome you to our home again. We suspect you are still in the UK but returning to California at the weekend and we trust you have a good flight home.
Kind regards, John and Ricky - joint owners of The Old Rectory on the lake, Tal-y-llyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Returned in October (visit number 12!) for my 70th birthday.
My wife had arranged for me to fly fish on the lake with ghillie Phil Wood as guide and this proved a wonderful experience.
The resident otter put in an appearance just in front of the boat - which was probably why fishing at that point was slow!
John and Ricky did us proud, with the usual warm welcome and great food.
A perfect birthday treat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raincheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are so pleased Richard that you decided to celebrate such an important birthday with us and that Angela's fishing present went down so well. We were impressed that despite Mr Otter making an appearance and together with the enthusiastic encouragement of Phil Wood, the ghillie who works for the hotel opposite, you managed to catch many a fish. The season has now officially ended and all the boats have been taken off the lake however Mr Otter and his friends are still about and will continue to dine on brown trout and the occasional sea salmon throughout the winter. They do not need a licence nor a boat!!!!!
We sincerely hope to see you both again next year and in the meantime may we be the first to wish you a Happy Christmas and prosperous New Year. John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Location, hosts, accomodation and in particular, the food, were outstanding! Will definitely be back for a longer stay. Total relaxation and a wonderful opportunity to get away from the hurly burly of life.

Room Tip: First floor bedroom with amazing view over lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for coming to stay with us from The Wirral and it was good to meet you both. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your night with us and your kind comments about my food has made my day!
Best wishes, Ricky - chef and joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We love to visit Wales and in particular the fabulous beaches and countryside around Aberdyfi and were so pleased to find this excellent accommodation. It has a wonderful tranquil position with excellent views across the valley and the lake. We stayed for two days in the Rectory Retreat which is separate from the main house (but only by a few paces) and it suited us perfectly with our dogs. The Retreat is beautifully fitted out with an oh-so-comfortable bed and even has a fully fitted kitchenette. We enjoyed the friendliness and great hospitality shown by our hosts Ricky and John with breakfast and dinner being served in the dining room with its great views. The food is gorgeous - filling breakfasts and delicious 4-course dinners cooked up so well by Ricky. Thank you both! We enjoyed our stay immensely and look forward to our next visit!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickandFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We had donated this weekend's accommodation to a friend to celebrate his 50th birthday - so many thanks for being so generous when you bid for it in his auction which raised a considerable sum for a childrens' charity. It was great to meet you both and your kind remarks about your tranquil stay in The Rectory Retreat are really appreciated. I have passed on your appreciative comments about his food and cooking to chef Ricky.
Best wishes, John - joint owner, The Old Rectory on the lake, Tal-y-llyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Tal-y-llyn
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
206 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing