We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit to the Old Rectory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Have just returned from our second visit. Stayed for 3 nights in the Craig Goch room. We were pleased to be back and our visit didn't disappoint. Our hosts were most obliging and catered for my wife's dietary requirements with no fuss. Breakfast was excellent and Ricky's evening meals were superb. The weather really set off the already stunning views. One can just look and admire for hours. No problem with car parking.
Just a minor grumble. Ran out of Yoghurt and honey at breakfast!!!!!.
We will be coming back again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyJazz_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hello from Tal-y-llyn and it was pleasure to meet you both again and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your three night stay in our upstairs Craig Goch room which looks out over the lake. We really appreciate your kind comments posted on here and it is our pleasure to share this amazing area with you, which we know you really both enjoy and love.
Our kindest regards, John and Ricky - joint owners, The Old Rectory on the lake.
PS Sorry that we run out of yoghurt and honey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 952 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Have just stayed again and this place never disappoints. Ricky's food is amazing, the rooms are great and John is the ultimate host. I am writing this as I overlook the most amazing of views over the lake and I just love this incredible hospitality experience - and there is free wifi too! I will be back!

Room Tip: choose an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

It is so good when guests keep returning to see us and then write something again so positive about what we are trying to offer here at Tal-y-llyn. Having been lucky enough to get so many reviews - mostly excellent thank goodness - we also realise that you simply cannot please all the people all the time so to read what you have written today has cheered us up greatly.
Our kindest regards, John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the Craig Goch room on the Bank Holiday weekend . Had great expectations due to the fantastic reviews. Must admit when we first got there we were shocked....had to go and re-read the reviews to make sure we were at the right place.
On arrival the first thing that caught our eye was a long dead dried up pot-plant outside the front entrance . The window of the owners private room had a stack of novels on display and the door was open showing piles of stuff everywhere. The front sideboard looked like it hadn't been attended to for a while. Quite a shock when you are paying 120 a night and expecting 5 star luxury!.. On the plus side we arrived a few hours early and shown to our room. It seemed they had forgotten to clean... dust on every piece of the provided bedroom fixtures...such as the lamps, kettles, sound system.....dirt on the base of the taps and vanity basin. The dining room didn't fare any better and the windows had large cobwebs. Again, on the positive side the room included a separate bathroom, was enormous and the quality of the fittings were excellent. It seemed a lot of money and thought had gone into choosing the décor.

John was an obliging and helpful host and it is obvious that him and Ricky try hard....and work hard....it is not an easy job.

We ate there both nights and found the food imaginative and good value, the wine list had a good choice and was reasonably priced ...having said that if there was something available within a short driving distance, we would have tried elsewhere on our second night....we didn't feel we really needed to pay for a 4 course meal but that was all that was offered. What we didn't like was that the menu for the night was not available until late afternoon and on our last night we arrived at 6.30pm after a long walk feeling a little guilty that Ricky would be waiting to see what he needed to cook for us....and indeed there he was .... waiting for us at the door to get our order. We didn't understand why with a little organisation the menu for the night could not be given out at breakfast.
We didn't mind Johns Video or been put in a situation of mixing with other guests...that's what a lot of B&B's are like.

It goes without saying that the setting is what makes the place...it is unrivalled and spectacular.

The place could be really something very special.

......but attention needs to be paid to detail and cleanliness ....but then again maybe the cleaner was on summer holidays

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walpolepark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hello to you in London and I am sincerely sorry that we did not live up to your expectations based on previous TripAdvisor reviews during your two night stay. However as I have replied elsewhere I just wished you had said something as soon as you had arrived that morning about what you felt was the condition of your bedroom. I am also sorry that you did not like the evening meal menu not being available in the morning – the simple reason is that at that time of the day Ricky does not know what he will be offering as often fresh fare is delivered during the day and as you know our four course menu changes daily. We are only a four bed roomed bed and breakfast and I am afraid it is not viable to offer anything more. Our guests are certainly not obliged to dine here at all and there are two other establishments within walking distance that offer bar meals. Your comment that you feel we both work hard is greatly appreciated and I note with some wry amusement that you did not mind watching the video nor sharing our guest lounge with others. It just proves you cannot please all the people all the time! Again many thanks for taking the time and effort in leaving this review and on repeating your thoughts on another site.
Kind regards, John – joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed one night at this B&B.We stayed in Craig Goch room and had spectacular views over the mountain and lake. The room was spacious and had a completely seperate bathroom which was luxurious.I would recommend the accommmodation as excellent value.
We stayed for evening dinner which we were not originally planning but were concerned about where we could eat nearby. Dinner remarks are a little mixed as everybody eats at the same time meeting in the lounge at 7.00 to view a pre dinner promo film. This I found uncomfortable being put with 2 other couples I had not met before, not everybodies cup of tea .Being organised to watch a video also felt a little weird, like a time shares venture. Food was a 4 course dinner and was good quality although the lamb was well done when we were promised it would be pink, it would have been nice to have more flexibilty on the food rather than a set 4 course dinner although I can see the limitations due to the size and number of guests.If I hadnt had dinner i would have given this B&B 5 stars but i am afraid the organisation of dinner spoiled things slightly for me.

Room Tip: Craig Goch had spectcular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We appreciate you leaving this review - together with a great picture of our home - and as it comes from such a seasoned and obviously discerning traveller we have taken on board your comments about your dining experience here. The only thing I gently take issue with you is that you say we offer a four course set meal but this is simply not the case. Sure the first course each night is of my choice but then the other three courses all come with options. We agree that we do live in a spectacular location and it was our pleasure to share it with you.
Best wishes, Ricky – chef and joint owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night, with quite high expectations because of all the great reviews. The lake is beautiful ofcourse and you can have a nice walk in the area. We were staying in the smallest room. The bathroom was not clean, there were hairs in the shower and it was dusty on the floor. As we were having drinks before dinner we were forced to watch a video about the b&b which was a bit weird. Dinner that evening was quite a disappointment and was not very tasty. We were having lamb and seabass, the lamb was cooked well done even though they told us in advance it was going to be rosé and the fish was dry. Breakfast was fine. The staff was really friendly. The owner was a bit too pushy on asking us if we could 'like' the b&b on Facebook and write a (positive) review on tripadvisor. All in all, eventhough the location is beautiful, the b&b is too expensive and we will not come back.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LisaKap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks for taking the time and effort to leave this review and as you can imagine we are devastated to read it and are greatly saddened that you felt we were overpriced and over rated. You are of course entitled to your opinion but we are just so disappointed that you said nothing to us during your stay therefore giving us a chance to rectify anything you felt untoward. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the video about the lake in all the seasons and that you found dinner to be a disappointment – again I am a tad mystified that you said nothing at the time, as we always ask guests ‘how is your meal?’ after they have had a chance to try their meat. If you had told us then you felt the lamb was too well done and that the fish was dry we would have instantly replaced the dishes and certainly would not have charged for your two meals. When guests are paying on departure I always enquire ‘how was your stay?’ and again you did not say anything thus denying us the opportunity of reimbursing you if you genuinely felt we had charged too much for your night away. When leaving I do say to folk that we would appreciate a review on TripAdvisor but would never be crass enough to suggest we only wanted a positive one.
Best wishes, John – joint owner, The Old Rectory on the lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

extremely beautiful establishment in a totally unique, breathtaking setting. The hosts are extremely obliging. And the decor is without peer. Our one night stay here makes us want to return to Wales and Snowdonia.

Room Tip: Give yourself plenty of time to travel through the Snowdonia Park and stop to take photos as it is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scaifes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

G'day to you from over nine thousand miles away in Tal-y-llyn! It was good to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I will pass on your kind comments about our decor to Camilla who organised a complete makeover while we were away at the start of the year - I know she will be thrilled.
Our kindest regards, John - joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Three years ago we got engaged at The Old Rectory On the Lake and because of the great experience including warm welcome, great food and a homely feel we decided to return for our honeymoon. And it had only got better! It is quiet remote place with lots of romance and warmth about the place with such beautiful scenery overlooking the lake. On the last evening our parents joined us and they made us all feel very special. We enjoyed a lovely evening dinner they prepared especially for us. Our time on both occasions was very special and we hope to return again in the near future - possibly for the first anniversary!

Room Tip: I would choose the Craig Goch but every room is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sezmobile36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

As you may imagine we get a real thrill when folk keep returning to stay with us and it was even more pleasing this time when you came back for your honeymoon having got engaged here three years ago. There must be something in the Tal-y-llyn air as we have had three proposals this year in as many months! I really enjoyed cooking for your parents and it was a great night.
If you do want to return on your wedding anniversary ever you would be more than welcome!
Good luck with your lives together and best wishes - Ricky, chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Tal-y-llyn
159 reviews
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
8.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
362 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Address: Talyllyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range: $143 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing