We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Rectory changed - for the better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Old Rectory changed - for the better”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A year has passed and here I am - visiting The Old Rectory again.

I was pleasantly suprised by the changes of the interior of the house after a refurbisment. I slept in the Talyllyn room and even that - although the smallest room in the house - now has a an airy and fresh feel with vibrant colors of pillows and wallpapers just as the big rooms upstairs. Mercifully, Ricky and John have not changed and are still providing almost michelin star meals and great hospitality respectively. Newly, my room was made up every day without me asking for it, which was nice.

Now the photographer in me would like to share some pictures with you...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkl-cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
It was great to see you again and thanks for reviewing us for a third time - mercifully with good comments! We are pleased that you approve of the changes we have made to our home since you stayed with us a year ago and thanks for the kind comments regarding both of us. We trust that you have a great holiday in Greece with your girlfriend and we truly appreciate you sharing those pictures you took during your week here. We now have over five hundred images posted by other guests which is remarkable.
Our kindest regards, John and Ricky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    26
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
124
603
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a difficult review to write. Good location, in a tranquil spot overlooking the lake - a little difficult to find.
We arrived about 7.30pm - obviously a busy time for the owners as they were in the middle of serving dinner, felt rather a nuisance, were offered a drink, told where our room was, with no offer to help with luggage etc.
Am aware that this B&B has amazing reviews so I find it difficult to differ but being an avid traveller, having stayed in many B&B's throughout the world, feel I have to give an honest, unbiased review.
Our room was large, clean and had good views across the lake and fells beyond. Bed was comfortable and good quality bedding and towels. The bathroom was huge, nicely furnished with attention to detail. Unfortunately the shower was broken, which we did report.
The food in the restaurant was good and nicely presented. The wine was good and not too expensive. There was a good breakfast menu and efficient service.
All sounds good I admit. But several things let the place down. I have never stayed in a B&B where the room isn't serviced, you have to make your own bed! Cups not washed, tea making facilities not replenished. There was no real atmosphere. Everything felt slightly rehearsed with no real feeling. The gardens were overgrown and the hot-tub area was slightly shabby. Something was lacking.
Can't put my finger on it - but for an expensive weekend, at almost £500 for two nights with dinner, we are unlikely to return.
I also didn't like being asked to put a review on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We were greatly concerned to read that you were not happy with your stay with us - so much so that it’s unlikely that you will ever return. This is why we ask guests if they will leave a TripAdvisor review so we can pick up on anything untoward especially if they do not mention anything at all on checking out. If you would care to contact us direct we would like to refund you any money you deem appropriate as it is obvious you felt you did not receive the experience or indeed the value you were expecting here at The Old Rectory on the lake.
Thanks for taking the time to leave this review which we do take seriously and apologise profusely that you did not enjoy your time here.
Our best wishes, John and Ricky – joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location of this establishment is outstanding. It is unbelievably peaceful and beautiful. It is immediately beside the lake and mountain.
We prefer not to go out again to find somewhere to eat in the evening and this frequently excludes B&B's. This is different, because a very high quality dinner, with drinks, is available in the delightful dining room which also has the full benefit of the view.
Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful, particularly with regard to our route planning the following day. Frankly, their advice made it !!
You will not regret visiting The Old Rectory.on the lake.

Room Tip: If you can, try not to leave booking to the last minute. If you do, you may be disappointed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review and we were pleased that we were able to accommodate you at such notice. It was an utter delight to meet you both and thanks for the kind comments regarding your evening dining experience in our Orangery overlooking the lake. I am glad too that you found my advice for your onward journey to Lampeter useful - the route I suggested is indeed delightful.
We hope to welcome you here again. In the meantime I send you both my best wishes - John, joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My sister and I spent last weekend in the Rectory Retreat at The Old Rectory. I have been several times with different members of my family and with friends and never tire of this place John and Ricky are superb hosts and always make me very welcome. The place is beautiful, the views of the lake are stunning its just a lovely place to be. Ricky's food just gets better and better if that's possible, his breakfasts are great and his evening meals are to die for.

It is a very special tranquil place and I will go back again as soon as I can.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the lake and are beautiful, I especially like the Rectory Retreat as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Ann, it is always good to welcome you and your family to The Old Rectory on the lake and indeed we look forward greatly to your visits. I will pass on your kind comments regarding his food to Ricky - it will make his day! We will continue to look after your parents' bench for you and we are pleased to report that many a guest enjoy just quietly sitting there looking out over the lake - with a drink in hand it is even more magical!
Our kindest regards, John - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wow, wow, wow!! Located in a tranquil spot, this B&B has truly breath-taking views.
Despite staying during the hottest week so far in the UK, the B&B owners, John & Ricky, were very friendly and attentive.
We dined in the restaurant most evenings and Ricky’s food was absolutely superb - he has a natural talent and could easily give top chefs a run for their money. Ricky’s chocolate fondant in particular was to die for – as soon as my spoon went in, out oozed a river of gorgeous melted chocolate!!
Overall we loved our stay at this B&B so much that we are already planning our next visit :o) Thank you John & Ricky for making our 4 days at your B&B so memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g_and_h_keane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Wow, thanks for this review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your four days with us and that my chocolate fondant surprise hit the right spot! Your comments regarding my cooking are really appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you both back again to Tal-y-llyn.
My best wishes, Ricky - chef and joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from an overnight break at The Old Rectory on The Lake and I can't praise the whole experience highly enough. John and Ricky are welcoming hosts and have made over this lovely old house over sympahetically. The result is a luxurious stay in an idyllic location with terrific food prepared by Ricky from fresh, local ingredients. We chose to take dinner as well as breakfast and both were fantastic. Dining takes place in the orangery which is light, airy and atmospheric, with great views over the lake. The excellent service is an admirable complement.

There are plenty of options for outdoor seating, allowing you to drink in the views of the changing light over the lake as the sun goes down. We chose to watch it all from the end of the short jetty at the front of the house: perfect!

We stayed in Mynydd Rugog, which is a lovely room overlooking the lake at the front, with a spacious, well appointed ensuite bathroom which has a side view of the lake. The room is tastefully decorated and many little extra touches show how muchthought has gone into the preparation by our hosts. The bathroom is amazing, free-standing bath and separate shower and really deserves its own photo in the gallery!

In summary, and as I said in the review title, The Old Rectory on The Lake is a triumph! We both thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and sincerely hope to return soon. We left happy and relaxed (even without trying out the outdoor hot tub!) and for me, Idris the feral and laid-back puss who lives in the grounds, was an absolute bonus!

Room Tip: Mynydd Rugog - a lovely room with front view of the lake from the room and side view from the fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, I am The Old Rectory on the lake's cat! at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
John and Ricky have asked me to respond to this as you kindly give me a mention at the end! What a detailed and considered review and I am so pleased that you found The Old Rectory on the lake to be the cat's whiskers!
In summary - a purrfect review.
Idris - The Old Rectory on the lake's (not so feral now!) cat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had lovely time at the Old ractory Tal-y-llyn
Best possible view you will have from a B&B in youe life
rooms were nice
brakefast was nice
we had dinner and it was nice food also
the place is located in the senter of Snowdon forest and its good as a center location for this reagion
RECOMENDED

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RanV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello to you in Tel Aviv and it was great to meet you and your delightful family. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I really appreciated the late night conversations with you all about your country and lifestyle. It was utterly fascinating. You know where we are if any of you ever visit Wales again!
Kind regards, John - joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
333 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,457 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
222 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing