We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time - planning our next trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing time - planning our next trip”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent the May Bank Holiday here, as my 'husband' was learning how to make pizza ovens down the road at the Centre for Alternative Technology. The venue was incredible and just perfect for a romantic weekend away. John and Ricky were the perfect hosts, knowing when to stop and chat and when to leave us to our conversations. Ricky is a brilliant chef; sorting us out with a filling and tasty breakfast and the evening meal was to die for; mouth watering steak and Welsh lamb! There is a fantastic wine list and welsh whiskey to finish the evening on. There's so much on offer in the area; we enjoyed the slate quarry (hard hats at the ready!) as well an energetic walk up the mountain! There's plenty of history around; with a 12th Century castle and chapel nearby. We're planning a trip back to explore the mountains on foot and mountain bike, can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
What an enthusiastic review (!) and we were so pleased that you chose to stay with us over the early May holiday weekend. It was great to meet you both and thanks so much for these very kind comments which I have also passed on to Chef Ricky. We really look forward to welcoming you to The Old Rectory on the lake again.
Our kindest regards, John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
586
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just spent two nights again at the Rectory in glorious May weather. This time we took family with us and were not disappointed. The usual warm welcome, excellent food and high standards were all present and correct, underpinned by the recent tasteful refurbishment.
With dedication and love, Ricky and John have created a wonderful first class holiday venue. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toptip_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We really appreciate this amazing review - we are glad that we and the Wesh weather did not let you down and look forward to your return - hopefully in the not too distant future. Thanks for bringing your brother and his wife to come and experience what we try and offer here at The Old Rectory on the lake.
Best wishes, John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed here over the weekend for my anniversary. I have nothing bad to say about it. The food was fantastic and lived up to my very high expectations. I would come back just to eat here. The hospitality was great, John was very accommodating and friendly. After breakfast he gave loads of recommendations for various walks in the area which were enjoyable. Looking forward to coming back to see some more of his videos.

The scenery was beautiful even though it was raining, and the hot tub was great. Thoroughly looking forward to coming back in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We really appreciate you leaving this review and posting some images and are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us - despite the weather! Jamie, we look forward to welcoming you both here at The Old Rectory on the lake later again in the summer.
Kind regards, John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have been meaning to review the old recotry for some time - I stayed there with my girlfriend in Spring 2010 and it was entirely accurate as per the reviews on this website.

It look as if everyone else has epxressed my view very well. If you are new to Wales, I would simply say that the old rectory provides the best experience a fantastic country/ principality.

You are welcomed like old family by John and Ricky and are made to feel as if it is a home from home. The view from your window is breathtaking in all weathers, and the serentiy of the area is truly unique. Do ask the guys where to go in the area, there are some amazing monuments to explore and at the same time I was able to spot buzzards, kites, harriers and kestrels.

In short, for those who beleive you have to spend a lot of money to go to truly iconic and beautiful landscapes, the old rectory will shatter that illusion immediately. For what you get, the price is practically daylight robbery.

Room Tip: if you have the joy of going on a sunny day, get up nice and early to see the array of nature on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedLimBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for posting this incredible review about your stay with us - I am glad that your time here with us is still in your memory! You know where we are should you wish to return!
Kindest regards, Ricky - joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stumbled over this utterly amazing place whilst trying to find last-minute accommodation in the area - sadly there was no room at The Old Rectory on the lake so had to go further afield but I was determined to return to Talyllyn. I did and my visit far exceeded my expectations. It's all been said before on here regarding the amazing welcome and superb five star hospitality. It is also a photographers's paradise! I will be back.

Stayed April
Tip Better book far ahead as it appears this place is getting seriously busy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Greetings to you in New York from Talyllyn. I am so sorry that we could not accommodate you
the night you turned up on our doorstep but were very pleased and indeed flattered that you rearranged your trip over here so that you could both return a couple of weeks later. Thanks so much for posting this plus the images taken during your stay. You have since emailed to say you hope to return in the summer so we look forward to welcoming you again then.
Best wishes, John - joint owner, The Old Rectory on the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Jon and I stayed at The old Rectory on the Lake for one night purely as it was booked up for the two which we wanted. On our arrival we had a very warm greeting by John and Ricky the owners, they made us feel extremely comfortable, showed us to our room which again was more than we hoped for because the views from our window across the lake tormented the whole area. You could lie in bed and just look out- so peaceful ...then awake to the sounds of the little lambs in the long grass .
The bed was cosy and warm with soft linen , the rooms decorated warm and pleasent, very clean. We took advantage of the free standing bath - nearly feel asleep - jon was still sleeping in the bed but i was to tempted by the bubbles ....and in i went with a splash , not sharing any of that i`d say!
In the morning we watched from our window the fisherman out early, out in the little fishing boats across the lake that stretched for miles.
Jon and i took a long walk around and across the area,the mountains covered with Snow- we could of been in Austria, The French Alps, so amazing and quite, unreal and so lucky . Jon and i took a walk down the lane - visiting the old ceremory then the pub on the corner - they do a nice food selection ....and talking about food. ...Ricky from the Rectory surprised us with a five star service, everything he served us was top on both our lists, full of flavour , presented beautifully, the service by John was splendid . Thank you both.
We shall return again and Jon is already arranging with his fishing friends a weekend on the lake so we will definately be in touch with the Old Rectory and thank you John and Ricky for making our one night ....want to be more and all the little touches you surprised us with to make everything so right . Bless.. Mimi and Jon Lockett . Ist April 2013

Room Tip: The Craig Gogh room was what we choose, but i am sure all the rooms are at an excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimiaanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks Mimi for leaving such a descriptive review of your one night's stay with us - it was good to meet you both and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. The fishing season here at Talyllyn runs until the end of October so we hope that you manage to come and visit us again before then. Make sure you book your boat, rods etc with the hotel opposite - just ask for Phil their ghillie.
our kind regards, Ricky - chef and joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I were last at The Old Rectory in October and, on that occasion, did the Precipice Walk (see photos).
We are returning next week for our eighth stay with John and Ricky and would point out that The Old Rectory is one of the few constants in life:
Always welcoming, great location, excellent food and accommodation.
Can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raincheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am doing something I have never done before! Responding to a review while the person who wrote it is enjoying breakfast in our Orangery with his wife!! We welcome you back for your ninth visit and it was good that last time you enjoyed The Precipice Walk above Dolgellau - we often recommend this to our guests and all agree the views are spectacular. It's like what you would see from the summit of Cadair Idris without the slog! We really look forward to your coming here and we cannot believe that you have just booked for a further three visits this year!
Our very best wishes, John and Ricky - joint owners of The Old Rectory on the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Tal-y-llyn
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
204 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing