We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views - fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory on the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tal-y-llyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great views - fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

Had a quick one nighter here, location and views are perfect - vast views across the lake with huge mountains as a backdrop, this from straight out of the bedroom window. Host couldn't do enough and the breakfast was superb. Enjoyed every short moment, will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Joe - thanks very much for this and we too were sorry that your visit was so fleeting. Also apologies that we were unable to offer you an evening meal that night - maybe next time?
Ricky - Chef and joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
112
571
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed at this incredible place way back last year and meant to leave a review then but never got round to joining Trip Advisor. Now I have finally done it so I can share my thoughts for what they are worth about The Old Rectory on the lake. Me and my partner were looking to get away for a relaxing break and that’s exactly what we got in this amazing part of south Snowdonia. The pictures others have left on here really do not do the views justice as what we saw from the window of our Crag Goch room when we woke up the first morning were just breathtaking. We had arrived in the dark and were simply not prepared for what was waiting for us outside. The lake was glasslike and the reflections were just magical. Really we could not stop looking.

The breakfast certainly lived up to its Trip Advisor reputation as so did the evening meals. In fact, like the views, words here simply do not do justice to Ricky’s mouth-watering offerings. This guy is wasted here and should seek his fortune in any sophisticated eatery in London but I understand why he might not want to leave this wonderful, peaceful place to join the stressful world of frantic city catering. Our stay here was the best … John was the consummate host and the accommodation was just right for us. I also had a memorable time in the outdoor hot tub. I wonder is there anything better than sitting in the bubbles shipping champagne and marvelling at that incredible view? Go on try it all for yourself, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank as1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
I am afraid that I might have to keep this very kind review from Ricky as it could well give him ideas to go and chef elsewhere thanks to your encouragement!!! You mention the views here over the lake and we know we are so lucky to live in such an incredible location - whatever the weather there is always something to look at. Thanks for taking the time to submit a posting it really is appreciated and we are just happy that you thought we had lived up to our growing Trip Advisor reputation. To be honest we are simply amazed just how many people seem to be reading such reviews before they come and stay with us.
John - joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

We were immediately made to feel comfortable and at ease with tea/coffee and delicious home baking. We had one of the upstairs double rooms, well fitted, comfortably furnished and with superb views across the lake from both the bed and from the bath. Food was all of high quality, well presented with good wines. A special, unexpected bonus was to see one of the lake's otters on two days. We have no hesitation in recommending The Old Rectory as one of the best guest houses we know.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
Thank you so much for your recommendation - it is very much appreciated. We are also happy that the otter made a guest appearance on two separate occasions - indeed others visitors we have since told have said you are to be envied! Last year while making a video about them I managed to see the mother and her two cubs on ten different days spread throughout March - the best time is undoubtedly early morning when they take to the lake to catch fish. Today two of our guests were out at 6.30am hoping to catch a glimpse of these rather elusive animals but sadly saw nothing. By the description you kindly emailed us I suspect you saw the male otter - he is much larger than the others and tends to hang around the opposite side of the lake to us but has also been seen just below our drive. Apparently otters eat about 17% of their body weight in fish every day so it is a great sign that they are here - it means the waters of Tal-y-llyn are cystal clear and there is an abundance of food for them to catch. Long may all four otters stay near The Old Rectory on the lake - although we fear the cubs will be off soon!
John - joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

When searching online, we were immediately attracted by the setting of this beautiful place and booked before we'd even checked the weather forecast over there (unusual for us!).

Now that we've been and experienced the hospitality, delicious food, amazing rooms and tranquility we know that it's somewhere we'll 'retreat' to again :-)

We are very picky and I'm happy to recommend this lovely place to anyone who appreciates good hospitality, tranquility, nature and good food.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyMerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
We are grateful for this appreciative testimonial and are so pleased that our Rectory Retreat was just right for you. Of course we have no control over the Welsh weather but are relieved that it did not let us down this time and it remained fine throughout your weekend here. Like you, we were disappointed that the otters did not make an appearance - but believe me they are still about - but just a tad shy! Thanks for finding us on line.
John - joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

We are a tad reluctant to leave a review about The Old Rectory on the lake as we fear the more people discover about this amazing place the harder it will be for us to book in next time. Anyway here goes! This was one of our best short breaks away we have ever had in Wales. We are both teachers and were lucky enough to find it open for half-term. John and Ricky’s home is incredible, the bed was comfortable and I could have stayed in the free standing bath for hours. But it is Ricky’s incredible food which makes The Old Rectory so special – boy, has he got a talent and our set four course evening meal were worthy of any top notch highly rated establishment in any European city. What attention to culinary detail! It was such a pity we had only booked a meal for the second night as on our way there we ate at newly opened place just outside Dolgellau and what a disappointment ….. but that’s another story. While at The Old Rectory we managed to get up Cader Idris and I post some images of our day on the mountain. Annoyingly my camera battery died before I had the chance to do any pictures of The Old Rectory on the lake but the views, food and whole experience will remain in my mind.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven0693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Wow what can I say!! I have been allowed out of the kitchen to read your kind comments and I am well flattered. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your meal here. It was my pleasure to cook for you and I hope to see you again. John says if you send us the pictures you took while going up Cadair he will add them to our Cadair Conquerors page on our website. All the best, Ricky, the chef!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimborne,dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband and I have just come back from a 3 night break at this B&B. The location beside the lake is just delightful. It is just inside the Snowdonia National Park and is close to various attractions as well as being in the heart of the countryside for walking/climbing etc and no distance from the fabulous beaches with which Wales is so blessed. You are made to feel very welcome and given suggestions for activities on both dry and not so dry days. The food is particularly good with a breakfast menu to match any hotel. I strongly recommend the four course evening meal available for £30. It is a set menu but you will not be served anything you have said you dislike and was absolutely delicious and meals are served in a lovely room overlooking the lake. My only criticism would be that the cheaper downstairs bedroom in which we stayed is on the small side and doesn't quite match the special feel of the dining room and the great food.We were shown an upstairs room at the end of the stay and they were lovely and well worth the extra money. Overall, a great B&B in an exceptionally good location with food to match! Would love to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurelchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments and we agree with what you write about our smallest room - but as you kindly pointed out - the nightly price does reflect this. Our favourite suites are still the luxurious ones upstairs with big free standing baths and bedroom views overlooking the ever changing lake. We really hope you do return one day and maybe stay in one of these. Ricky is pleased that you enjoyed his food!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

A stunning place to visit, John and Ricky were fantastic. The food was amazing and the whole atmosdphere of the old rectory was phenominal!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clockworkheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Oops - just noticed this! Thanks so much for your kind comments - really appreciated.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.1 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
6.2 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
5.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#1 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing