We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Dolffanog Fawr

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolffanog Fawr
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tal-y-llyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just stayed two nights at Dolffanog Fawr , Alex & Lorraine were wonderful and attentive hosts. The food was superb, especially the evening meal, the pannacota was delicious. This B & B is set in the beautiful welsh countryside. Our room was delightful, comfortable and spotlessly clean . We had a lovely break.
Thank you Alex& Lorraine

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherryd05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 159 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Lost count of how many times we have stayed here, the food is excellent, second to none, home cooked by Lorraine, with a splash of helping from Alex, who can advise on the great wine selection they keep. The bedrooms are clean and tidy with very comfortable beds. The location is fantastic with great views of Tal-y-llyn lake, plenty to see and do in the vicinity. Will we be returning again - without a shadow of a doubt.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, work your way round them and decide on which is your favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This a beautiful place to stay in a stunning area of the country. Our dog really enjoyed the welcome too. Thank you for the warm welcome and the delicious food. The hot tub and the view were a highlight

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Saida123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay at Dolfanog Fawr a few weeks ago.Great B&B in a lovely location: large, comfortable bedroom; tasty, home cooked evening meal and breakfast. Will be returning and would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Njoytravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Loved this B&b you wont get any better than this.
Well presented grounds/gardens. Rooms are stunning,modern and tastefully decorated. Spotlessly clean...throughout. Breakfast well presented and cooked to perfection.
Stunning views through bedroom window. Ideal if you want to get away from the rat race...stayed two nights,this place really is stunning..great hosts and a very friendly pet dog..Took our jack russel who loved running around the rear garden. Our dog was greeted just as good as us which was nice...Dogs are not allowed in the Dining room which is fair enough..and not a problem.
Would we recommend staying here yes...We have stayed in various 4/5 hotels in the past which havent come close too this great place too stay...
extensive wine list etc .. This place really is as it says on the ticket 5 star.
Thanks Alex/lorraine/oggi...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just got back from 6 nights at Dolfannog Fawr & had a fabulous time. The B&B is in a beautiful location nestled under the Cadair Idris mountain and with the garden looking onto a pretty lake. There is so much to do around the area if you like the outdoors - we did 1-2 hikes a day including 2 mountain climbs and they were really varied and beautiful. It's such a lovely area and very quiet despite the glorious weather.

The B&B itself is lovely and the rooms very comfortable. We had dinner there whenever we could (Lorraine & Alex have a well deserved night off on Sun and Mon) & the food was wonderful. Really inventive meals & had no trouble catering for vegetarian (& pregnancy) diet. Alex & Lorraine make you feel very welcome and have loads of useful advice about the local area. Will definitely be coming back to this gem!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktpie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Having just arrived back from Dolffanog Fawr I can honestly say it was the best B & B
We have stayed in.Lorraine and Alex were the perfect hosts in regard to the meals they are spot on,very friendly .would not hesitate to go again

Room Tip: Room 2 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
780 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
777 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolffanog Fawr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolffanog Fawr

Address: Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range: $156 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dolffanog Fawr 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the stunning Tal-y-llyn valley - one of the most beautiful spots in Wales. With the slopes of Cader Idris virtually rising from the back garden to the north and the less explored Tarren hills to the south, the house also enjoys excellent views across sheep pasture to Tal-y-llyn lake. We welcome you to our warm and comfortable home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dolffanog Fawr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolffanog Fawr Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing