We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolffanog Fawr
Nearby Hotels
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Plas Dolguog Hotel(Machynlleth)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
$184
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wynnstay Hotel(Machynlleth)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
$127
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pen-y-Bont Hotel(Tal-y-llyn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolffanog Fach(Tal-y-llyn)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
164
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge tablehot tubperfect hostsother guestsmountain bikinggreat bedroomlinen towelsguest housefantastic cooknorth walesbank holiday weekenda stones throwgreat wine liston numerous occasionscooked foodbeautiful locationgorgeous food
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 166 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We will return here again & again. Alex & Lorraine go out of their way to ensure their guests are relaxed, comfortable and extremely well fed. Lorraines cooking is second to none possibly only surpassed by Alex's wine cellar!
11 out of 10 :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrassyKnoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is all that one could want from a B&B. The setting has to be one of the best in Wales, abundant walks from the door step, gorgeous views, a spotless and comfortable room and, most importantly, a great breakfast in terms of attention to detail (eg home made bread from local organic flour), quality and choice. The hosts are genuinely friendly and highly professional. The timing of our three night stay meant that we were only able to savour one evening meal, which was delicious and certainly enhanced by the welcome bonus of a great wine list. Abundant local knowledge from the hosts is available for you to tailor your time and interests accordingly. Moreover, our dog was welcomed as part of the family too.

Room Tip: Mawddach if you want a bath and shower in the bathroom
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLRHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked 4 nights away here having never really stayed in a proper B&B or visited that part of Wales before. We chose Dolffanog Fawr based mostly on location and the reviews we'd seen on here and were delighted to find that the excellent rating is 100% deserved.

The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean, as well as being cosy and warm. It had the effortless charm of an old farmhouse but at the same time felt bright and modern. We only ate one evening meal whilst staying (often we knew we wouldn't be back from our excursions in time for dinner - otherwise we would have definitely eaten there more often) and it was absolutely delicious - akin to the sort of thing you'd expect at any top restaurant!

Breakfasts were great too, with a nice choice of things both hot and cold to eat. I was going to be healthy and have just one cooked breakfast during our stay but it was so good I had it every day but one! Top quality ingredients, best sausages I've had in a while.

If you don't eat an evening meal at the Dolffanog Fawr, there are some lovely-looking restaurants in Dolgellau as well as the Railway Inn just down the road Tywyn which we ate at our first evening.

During our break we had mainly planned to visit RSPB reserves that were all within a shortish driving distance of the B&B. However, Lorraine and Alex (and even some of our fellow guests) were so knowledgeable about all the walks and excursions in the area we ended up visiting things we hadn't originally planned. These included Portmeirion and the Forestry Commission-run Coed Y Brenin which had a forest walk that showcased the beautiful Autumn foliage brilliantly. In the end, we ran out of time to do all the new things we wanted to do so we will definitely have to go back in the Spring to do some more!

All in all, the accommodation was faultless, the views spectacular and Lorraine and Alex were the perfect hosts - we could not recommend Dolffanog Fawr any higher!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Dolffanog Fawr last week. Its a great place, quietly located beneath Cader Idris. The building is an intelligently refurbished and stylishly modernised farmhouse, with large tastefully fitted rooms. We had a rear room overlooking Cader and Llyn (lake) Mwyngil. It was extremely comfortable. We missed the evening meals, the hosts have a night off on Mondays, but we had fantastic breakfasts on a shared table with other guests. The hosts have a background in tourism, hospitality and catering, more of which can be read on their website, so the experience from a guests perspective was one of effortless quality; based on the hosts past experiences. If you make it there yourself, try the vegetarian black pudding! Oh and take your swimmers as there's a hot tub outside

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colindyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I agree with everything has already been said about this wonderful country guest house and would urge anyone considering a break in this area not to hesitate to book Dolffanog Fawr
Do not miss the evening meal. Top quality food prepared and presented in the way it should be with a wine list to match. It is a long time since I have enjoyed such consistently good food. The lovely lounge is a perfect place for pre and post dinner drinks with subtle background music to suit all tastes.
Having only stayed in larger hotels previously, I was a little concerned that I would find the atmosphere in a B&B claustrophobic and restricting, but how wrong I was.
Alex and Lorraine manage to be most welcoming hosts and yet the guests privacy is respected.
They have the knack of knowing when a little chat would be appreciated and when not.
We too enjoyed meeting the other like minded guests.
We will not hesitate to book a return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews