We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Dolffanog Fawr!”
Review of Dolffanog Fawr

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolffanog Fawr
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tal-y-llyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Myself and my wife visited last year at a similar time of year and we decided to go again this year at fairly short notice. With the exception of the inclement weather, our stay was perfect!

The food (breakfast & evening meal) is as good, if not better than many expensive restaurants and the wine choice is fantastic...also particularly good is the Welsh lager!

The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and the beds are very comfortable. The guest lounge is very comfortable and though we didn't get chance this time, the hot tub is recommended.

There are also plenty of things to see and do in the area regardless of the weather!

Anyway, absolutely excellent again and will be back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC1978Teignmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Dolffanog Fawr
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 157 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We will return here again & again. Alex & Lorraine go out of their way to ensure their guests are relaxed, comfortable and extremely well fed. Lorraines cooking is second to none possibly only surpassed by Alex's wine cellar!
11 out of 10 :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrassyKnoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is all that one could want from a B&B. The setting has to be one of the best in Wales, abundant walks from the door step, gorgeous views, a spotless and comfortable room and, most importantly, a great breakfast in terms of attention to detail (eg home made bread from local organic flour), quality and choice. The hosts are genuinely friendly and highly professional. The timing of our three night stay meant that we were only able to savour one evening meal, which was delicious and certainly enhanced by the welcome bonus of a great wine list. Abundant local knowledge from the hosts is available for you to tailor your time and interests accordingly. Moreover, our dog was welcomed as part of the family too.

Room Tip: Mawddach if you want a bath and shower in the bathroom
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLRHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked 4 nights away here having never really stayed in a proper B&B or visited that part of Wales before. We chose Dolffanog Fawr based mostly on location and the reviews we'd seen on here and were delighted to find that the excellent rating is 100% deserved.

The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean, as well as being cosy and warm. It had the effortless charm of an old farmhouse but at the same time felt bright and modern. We only ate one evening meal whilst staying (often we knew we wouldn't be back from our excursions in time for dinner - otherwise we would have definitely eaten there more often) and it was absolutely delicious - akin to the sort of thing you'd expect at any top restaurant!

Breakfasts were great too, with a nice choice of things both hot and cold to eat. I was going to be healthy and have just one cooked breakfast during our stay but it was so good I had it every day but one! Top quality ingredients, best sausages I've had in a while.

If you don't eat an evening meal at the Dolffanog Fawr, there are some lovely-looking restaurants in Dolgellau as well as the Railway Inn just down the road Tywyn which we ate at our first evening.

During our break we had mainly planned to visit RSPB reserves that were all within a shortish driving distance of the B&B. However, Lorraine and Alex (and even some of our fellow guests) were so knowledgeable about all the walks and excursions in the area we ended up visiting things we hadn't originally planned. These included Portmeirion and the Forestry Commission-run Coed Y Brenin which had a forest walk that showcased the beautiful Autumn foliage brilliantly. In the end, we ran out of time to do all the new things we wanted to do so we will definitely have to go back in the Spring to do some more!

All in all, the accommodation was faultless, the views spectacular and Lorraine and Alex were the perfect hosts - we could not recommend Dolffanog Fawr any higher!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Dolffanog Fawr last week. Its a great place, quietly located beneath Cader Idris. The building is an intelligently refurbished and stylishly modernised farmhouse, with large tastefully fitted rooms. We had a rear room overlooking Cader and Llyn (lake) Mwyngil. It was extremely comfortable. We missed the evening meals, the hosts have a night off on Mondays, but we had fantastic breakfasts on a shared table with other guests. The hosts have a background in tourism, hospitality and catering, more of which can be read on their website, so the experience from a guests perspective was one of effortless quality; based on the hosts past experiences. If you make it there yourself, try the vegetarian black pudding! Oh and take your swimmers as there's a hot tub outside

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colindyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I agree with everything has already been said about this wonderful country guest house and would urge anyone considering a break in this area not to hesitate to book Dolffanog Fawr
Do not miss the evening meal. Top quality food prepared and presented in the way it should be with a wine list to match. It is a long time since I have enjoyed such consistently good food. The lovely lounge is a perfect place for pre and post dinner drinks with subtle background music to suit all tastes.
Having only stayed in larger hotels previously, I was a little concerned that I would find the atmosphere in a B&B claustrophobic and restricting, but how wrong I was.
Alex and Lorraine manage to be most welcoming hosts and yet the guests privacy is respected.
They have the knack of knowing when a little chat would be appreciated and when not.
We too enjoyed meeting the other like minded guests.
We will not hesitate to book a return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights as a change from our usual break in Aberdovey. What a find! Our room was huge, we could have had a party in there. It was beautifully decorated in a calm, contemporary style with traditional Welsh fabric used for cushions and bed covers. All the furniture and fittings were top quality.

We had the evening meal on our first night which was delicious, complimented by a delicious British wine.

Alex and Lorraine are wonderful hosts and we can't wait to visit again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
0.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
681 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolffanog Fawr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolffanog Fawr

Address: Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range: $153 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dolffanog Fawr 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the stunning Tal-y-llyn valley - one of the most beautiful spots in Wales. With the slopes of Cader Idris virtually rising from the back garden to the north and the less explored Tarren hills to the south, the house also enjoys excellent views across sheep pasture to Tal-y-llyn lake. We welcome you to our warm and comfortable home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dolffanog Fawr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolffanog Fawr Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing