We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location, fantastic views,great hosts providing the best food!”
Review of Dolffanog Fawr

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolffanog Fawr
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tal-y-llyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2011

A genuine and warm welcome, shown to our bedroom with breathtaking views overlooking lake Tal-y-llyn back dropped by Cadair Idris ,followed by afternoon tea and given local knowledge by Lorraine.
The breakfasts were perfectly cooked by Lorraine and served by Alex who has a wealth of local and wider information on the area.
We ate in two of our three night stay it is a fixed menu with the food locally sourced again cooked to perfection by Lorraine and served by Alex who keeps an extensive wine list at sensible prices.To say we enjoyed our stay is an understatement !

Room Tip: I do not think there is a poor one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0114classicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 158 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

The drive through to Talyllyn was beautiful, we were especially lucky as the fields were full of sheep and their gambolling lambs. This view was visible from the bedrooms and reception rooms along with the lake.
Dolffanog Fawr is a lovely house, all bedrooms are beautifully appointed (we saw all four during our stay), huge beds and modern clean shower rooms with up market toiletries provided.
Alex and Lorraine make perfect hosts, friendly but not obtrusive and ready to have a chat or leave you B. I am a vege and Lorraine cooked delicious three course meals, using fresh local produce, the eggs were from their own chickens in the garden, we watched their little boy collect them in his basket so you can't get any fresher !
I would recommend this B&B without any hesitations.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenaD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

By sheer chance we have found a little gem of a B&B in Dolffanog Fawr. We were blown away by the quality of the room and food. Alex & Lorraines attention to detail makes this B&B a must to revisit. There was not one thing that we could find fault with. The location is to die for too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly55000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We have stayed at Dolffanog Faw many times. The rating has never been anything other than five star. This is the place to relax and enjoy your holiday. Nothing is too much trouble for Alex and Lorraine.

Mountains and a fab. coast are there to be discovered.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilAshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

This was the 2nd time we have stayed at this b&b (having previously tried the place next door). Very good indeed! Alex and Lorraine are good hosts, and sitting at a big table makes for convivial company. So why only **** for value? Well, Alex runs a decent wine list but, despite what he writes, the prices are much the same as all other establishments, i.e. OTT.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snibbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryhaslem, Owner at Dolffanog Fawr, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Hi Snibbig

Thanks for your review, I'm sorry you thought our wine list was too pricey. Unlike most establishments we operate aflat rate mark up for our wines.ie. we add about £8 to the purchase price of our wines. As a result of this our basic house wines may appear to be the same price as other places but our better wines offer exceptional value for money. As stated in the info with our wine list the more you spend the better value you get - I do not know of anywhere that offers top notch mature Hermitage for under £40 per bottle or wines from Chateau Musar or Ata Rangi for under £30 per bottle. There is a hotel close by that charges over £45 for a premier cru burgundy that we charge £25 for. We have over 70 different wines on our list and many others in our cellar maturing. As with everything we do we are passionate about offering value for money and providing exceptionally high levels of hospitality and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

4 nights of bliss. Alex and Lorraine have really found a magical formula. Great hosts, beautiful location (you could spend a week and not go further than 5 miles and not be bored). The cleanliness and quality of the rooms is as good as any 4 * hotel we have stayed in. A must - is the evening meals, truely superb. Lorraine is an excellent cook and the choice of wines fabulous. The farmhouse table communial dining really works - a great chance to share stories of days walks and get tips from each other for the next day. definitely going back.
Gary and Theresa

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garybrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

This place is wonderful to unwind from the rush and stress of the modern world. We have stayed here several times. Dolffanog Fawr is in the Snowdinia National Park situated just under the secon highest mountain, wonderful walking country with fishing near by and many of local attractions to pass time. Lorraine and Alex are really good hosts with a fantastic home cooked menu and a wonderful wine cellar. We always leave feeling fully rested and know that on our return we will get a wonderful warm welcome for both us and our dog Sandy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrederickShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tal-y-llyn
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
770 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolffanog Fawr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolffanog Fawr

Address: Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range: $155 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dolffanog Fawr 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the stunning Tal-y-llyn valley - one of the most beautiful spots in Wales. With the slopes of Cader Idris virtually rising from the back garden to the north and the less explored Tarren hills to the south, the house also enjoys excellent views across sheep pasture to Tal-y-llyn lake. We welcome you to our warm and comfortable home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dolffanog Fawr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolffanog Fawr Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing