We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and cosy”
Review of Haughton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haughton Hall
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent a very relaxed night at Haughton Hall. Our room was a large four poster room with a sofa bed for our son. The bed was very comfortable and the room lovely and warm despite the size. The bathroom could do with updating a little but was large and clean. We enjoyed lunch in the sunny bar and had evening meal in the restaurant. The food was excellent and the staff all very friendly. Breakfast was also of a high standard. A small thing which I think the hotel needs to offer is a selection of coffees. Lattes cappuccino's exc. they only offered filter coffee currently.
The leisure facilities offer a lovely pool, very warm with a hot tub, steam room and sauna as well as a gym.
Some refurbishment would not go amiss, for example the original sash windows could do with some TLC but all in all rather charming!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 704 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as a birthday treat for my husband this February.

The house has a long history and is absolutely stunning. We stayed in a four poster room which was immense!

Staff were friendly and attentive, addressing any needs we had.

Some updating could be done to make bathrooms a little more luxurious but for the price the standard was great.

Just be careful-there are a few rather large potholes on the drive in but it all adds to the countryside ambience!

Brilliant value for money-we will stay again!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Chocschicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in January 2014.
The hotel has a mostly old world feel, it's in need of a little attention but nothing more than you would expect in a country home.
The staff were very pleasant.
We had breakfast which was fine.
I didn't get chance to use the gym and fitness suite, bit they looked in very good condition.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank tinzDROID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Recently stayed on business, chose this hotel as it represented good value and was i little different to the chains.

Stayed in a heritage room which was nice and clean, the breakfast was good quality and the staff were all pleasant.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed 11th january, Our 3rd visit to hotel and still as good.Excellent large bedroom with good leisure centre next door. Excellent (large) hot breakfast brought to table. Friendly staff couldn.t do enough. £54.00 for night with breakfast, excellent value

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times. It is by far the best one and one of my favourites, the staff are friendly and helpful, all the rooms I have stayed in have been of a high standard, the gym and pool facilities are well maintained.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Andrew4746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

As soon as we walked into this venue for a wedding fayre we loved it! We had our wedding breakfast, and evening function here on the 21st December 2013. Can't praise the staff enough, the service, help, professionalism was all fantastic! Our meal on the day was delicious, served to all of our guests with good timing, and again the staff were very helpful.
Everything went as smooth as clockwork with our wedding co-ordinator,(Sarah) and she was very helpful through our planning stages. We booked several rooms for guests and our room (the bridal suite was stunning) clean, spacious, fab shower, and roll top bath, with stunning views.
The breakfast the next day offered good choice, and people could choose from juices, cereal, and cooked breakfast which I have to say was one of the best English breakfasts I've had in a while! Me and my husband would highly recommend this venue to anyone, for either wedding or function, or even just a relaxing break away, and again massive thanks to all the staff for making our day so happy and special for us. Kate & John Dyer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieb1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shifnal
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
569 reviews
16.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
5.6 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
965 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haughton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haughton Hall

Address: Haughton Hall Haughton Lane, Shifnal TF11 8HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Price Range: $89 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haughton Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the quiet beauty of rural Shropshire, dating from 1718, Haughton Hall has been decorated with timeless style and situated in 35 acres of gardens, woodlands and boasts a lake. An ideal wedding venue location, our relaxing accommodation, spacious public rooms, intimate bar and elegant restaurant create an atmosphere of refined comfort second to none. Haughton Hall enjoys a well stocked coarse fishing pool, and an outdoor tennis court. These are just a few more of the facilities available to you. A weekend break at Haughton Hall offers you the perfect retreat break and the ideal location to immerse yourself in the tranquil and peaceful surroundings of beautiful Shropshire. When staying as our guest at Haughton Hall, you can also enjoy full use of our Leisure Facilities free of charge. Our leisure club has a delightful Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and Multi Gym. Open first thing in the morning it is perfect for a refreshing swim before you start your day or a great stress buster after a busy day. We look forward to welcoming you Nicola Mason - Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haughton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haughton Hall Shifnal, Shropshire
Haughton Hall Hotel Shifnal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing