We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic stay with slight disappointment”
Review of Haughton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haughton Hall
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I booked the boardroom suite for myself and my partner one friday evening for a birthday surprise as he lived there for 4 years when it was a boarding school. The drive up to the hotel was beautiful and we parked up and went in. We were greeted in a friendly manner and given the room key and directions.
Room was nice and large and the bath was huge but was a little surprised to find while walking around in my underwear in the bedroom behind a wall unit was a door and the light from the other room could be clearly seen through the keyhole.
We did go down for a drink in the bar and we were contemplating food but there seemed to be a wedding booked for the following day and the member of staff knew the family and they spent all the time with the wedding party so we decided to go elsewhere for food.
However breakfast was very good in the morning but definately not worth what we paid but nice for the reason we booked but we wouldnt book again or recommend in fact my partner said it was better as a school

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank songbirdy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Haughton Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 673 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The room was nice and clean with a comfy bed. The leisure facilities were ok but you have to hire a towel which is fine if there are ever any staff around to get you one, we had to go back to our room and use our towel from there in the end as we waited 20mins for staff and still no joy. The restaurant was nice with good food, but our waittress disappeared whilst we ate desserts and we never saw her again, after 30mins of finishing our meal we had to go a find someone so we could pay. Our room was cleaned and after we returned from the pool to change the housekeeper just walked in without knocking. When you can find staff they are briliant, but the hotel needs a bell or something to get their attention, and definatley needs do not disturb signs for the room. Needless to say we wont be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxxkatie87xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed in the Telford suite for a couple of days after getting married. It is a nice big room , very clean , a few scuff marks here and there. They are not very generous with the extras and we had to ask for some more coffee and tea.
There is a good gym, pool and sauna
The only disappointment was the breakfast , with rock hard hash browns and very well done bacon
The staff were very friendly

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jebuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for a cousin's wedding. It was a lovely setting for canapes on the lawn. Thankfully it was quite sunny. All staff were very friendly and accommodating. Apparently the bar was open until the last person left, which on both the night before the wedding and the night of the wedding was turned 4am. Breakfast was lovely, although in terms of space if we had a brief wait on the morning after the wedding, as we all left it to the latest possible time to get out of our comfortable beds.

We were a bit skeptical about our room initially as it was quite close to the main entertainment suite, but once the door was closed this was not a problem, although those who were above the main entrance were disturbed by the noise of those leaving.

Made good use of the leisure facilities available, although it was difficult to get water to drink when in the sauna area.

Overall a great place for a wedding reception. It will be a nice peaceful break away as well, but possibly worth checking what events are taking place and asking for a room away from the main venues.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ermking12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having booked this hotel purely on price and position ( close to the driveme race track for a super car track day experience ) what a joy and a gem it turned out to be ,elegant and classic friendly and very welcoming. We could up grade to a four poster room steeped in history for only £20 . Our room was in the stables annexe and was light airy and big ! We took advantage of playing tennis, the beautiful swimming pool and picnicking in the stunning gardens until darkness called us in, we explored the walled gardens, a copse and sat under a tree enjoying the peace. It is difficult to explain the atmosphere of this hotel but it is calm and refined. The food was very good with a well cooked breakfast and superb service. All the staff were professional and very friendly we shall be returning for a longer stay as the surrounding area has so much to see and do, and Haughton Hall is a beautiful base.

Room Tip: The free wi fi in the downstairs stables rooms is a little intermittent so if it is vital ask for an...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLRTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

After meeting with Jen on a total seperate venue which she had organised for me to do with a business meeting , i informed my son and his future bride of what excellent all round service along with fabulous food that Haughton Hall had provided.
I was so happy when they informed me of their intentions and they had booked Haughton Hall for their wedding. venue
Jen along with a fantastic team made any arrangement we required, booking out rooms for family and friends, special menus for some of the guests, nothing was too much trouble.
They day before the wedding i visited with family and friend to help decorate the venue @ Haughton Hall and to check everything was in place, it soon to became very obvious that all was planned and everything that was required had been sorted
The sun was shining after a very wet month and the wedding day arrived,
The guest went across from the church to be greeted with canapies & drinks on arrival followed by fantastic meal and excellent service.
Nothing could have made this day any better
Everything they did was so good i can not praise them enough, it turned out to be one of the hottest days of the year everyone worked so hard.
Sarah the food & beverage manager liased with me through out the day and into the evening making sure that all was to a very very high standard, the buffet in the evening everyone spoke about , even though 60 of us were still very full from what we had already eaten , even then the food could not be resisted.
The grounds were beautiful , it was so lovely to just sit and relax on the lawns and take in what a wonderful day it had been.
Our family and friends stayed over night even commented on the excellent service and food that was offered at breakfast, of which i am sure some of the staff that had worked so hard the day before still provide and excellent service that very next morning

I can not thank the staff enough for making it the most memeorable wedding day of which everyone i have spoken to that attended the wedding said it was one of the best weddings they had been too .
I would highly recommend,and have already, Haughton Hall for any venue but especially a wedding.

I wish thank all the staff for a faultless service and all their hard work,

Well done Eveyone and thank you again
From a very happy mother

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Held our civil wedding ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening reception at Haughton Hall in October 2012. Loved the hotel from the moment we visited to look round. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The wedding arrangements went very smoothly. Jenny, wedding co-ordinator was brilliant. She didn't say no to anything we wanted. Booked rooms for family and friends to stay overnight at reduced rates and had nothing but complementary comments from all guests. The bridal suite was beautiful. The food was absolutely amazing. Photo's in the grounds were lovely. Couldn't fault a thing. Only downside was that the time went too quickly. Looking forward to our return visit for our first wedding anniversary in October. Well done to all the staff who were so friendly and the chef was amazing. Also loved our MC - the yorkshire accent went down really well!!!! The hotel could perhaps benefit from updating in some areas but the staff more than make up for the decor and furnishings. Only downside was in the spa as the jacuzzi was not working on either day we visited. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to arrange a wedding there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shifnal
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
552 reviews
16.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
4.4 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
5.6 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haughton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haughton Hall

Address: Haughton Hall Haughton Lane, Shifnal TF11 8HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Price Range: $92 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haughton Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the quiet beauty of rural Shropshire, dating from 1718, Haughton Hall has been decorated with timeless style and situated in 35 acres of gardens, woodlands and boasts a lake. An ideal wedding venue location, our relaxing accommodation, spacious public rooms, intimate bar and elegant restaurant create an atmosphere of refined comfort second to none. Haughton Hall enjoys a well stocked coarse fishing pool, and an outdoor tennis court. These are just a few more of the facilities available to you. A weekend break at Haughton Hall offers you the perfect retreat break and the ideal location to immerse yourself in the tranquil and peaceful surroundings of beautiful Shropshire. When staying as our guest at Haughton Hall, you can also enjoy full use of our Leisure Facilities free of charge. Our leisure club has a delightful Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and Multi Gym. Open first thing in the morning it is perfect for a refreshing swim before you start your day or a great stress buster after a busy day. We look forward to welcoming you Nicola Mason - Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Haughton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haughton Hall Shifnal, Shropshire
Haughton Hall Hotel Shifnal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing