We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for one night”
Review of Haughton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haughton Hall
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Not bad for one night”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

You get the impression that Haughton Hall has big intentions but, unfortunately, it comes over as a slightly tired, average hotel that's trying hard but is some way from being simply good let alone exceptional. We were here for a family wedding and stayed overnight after the reception. The wedding was well run and the wedding breakfast was nice, if not exceptional. The bar is the one area of the hotel that has been modernised and is very nice. The bar staff are friendly, the service good and the prices fair. The hotel accommodation is spread over the original hall and a new block added in the 50's/60's I'm guessing. In some ways it's best to be staying in the new block as at least then you don't have to look at it. Our room, 34, was of a reasonable size with a great en-suite shower and comfortable bed. No complaints there. Our breakfast was pretty good, particularly the full english, which could be tailored to exactly as you wanted it. If I was being really fussy I would say please don't serve the cheap brown sauce which tasted like almost pure vinegar, spending just a few pence more on some proper HP really would make a difference! We didn't use any of the leisure facilities so can't review them. Overall fine, especially if you're only paying a flying visit like us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajk1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    206
    105
    52
    33
See reviews for
131
273
15
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night (thank fully) on the 9th march
I don't often complain at hotels and I think people like to go to somewhere and relax with no worries and to something nicer than they have at home.
From the drive up we were hopeful as the building look nice... However this ended here!
The check in was average with no warming welcome "have u travelled far" what are your plans" advice on where to go
The room!!! Possibly the worst room i have stayed in, the ceiling was like a class room with square tiles and no plug nr the dressing table... So drying hair was a task! Shower was boiling hot one minute and freezing cold the next (an experience if nothing else)
Leisure facilities!! Do not be fooled by the pictures ..... It needed a really good clean and a little tlc inside

Plus side!!! Breakfast was lovely!

Unfortunately we will not be returning

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrogatetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night and the room cost £60. Lets start with the bad, so others can make up their mind whether to stay here or not. The food from the Table D'hote Menu was undoubtedly the worst we have ever had whilst dining out. You could not even say it was poor fine dining, as it was not even fine dining. Plus to be changed £19.95, for this displeasure, was really insulting. I couldn't work out the Table D'hote pricing either, it is supposed to be an incentive to make you have extra courses, rather than being more expensive than the 'A La Carte'.
If we are to be very critical the room was too hot, even though we turned the heating off. But I'd rather be too hot than too cold, plus we could have opened a window.
Wasn't looking forward to the breakfast the next morning, but what a total reversal. A super breakfast, a very good choice of produce, well cooked, excellent coffee and good service. All you could ask for. We then tried the Leisure facilities, brilliant. Lovely pool, with a Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym (which we didn't try).
The rest of the hotel is average. The rooms are nice, the décor is nice, the gardens are nice, a nice lounge, in fact there was nothing to dislike, but then again nothing to say 'wow'.
The staff were friendly, helpful and provided good service. Drink prices were good, with a good choice of drinks, especially as they have a captive market.
Would we stay there again? ....... probably yes, but wouldn't dine here even if it was free. Probably a good reason why the restaurant was almost empty on a Saturday night, yet the restaurants in the town a couple of miles away were thriving.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night last weekend. We stayed in the Board Room which was absolutely brilliant. The experience, from our initial telephone enquiry, to when we left, was perfect.
The leisure facilities were great, altough we did not get chance to try the gym the pool and spa facilities were brilliant.
We dined in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and the food was all delicious. The bar area was very relaxing, with the drinks prices being quite reasonable. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
All in all the experience made for a wonderful nights stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dixiewestmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on business for 3 nights in January, we had one of their four poster bedrooms. Both the room itself and the bathroom were enormous, although both could do with updating. The leisure facilities were what really made it, great gym with everything you really need for a workout. Nice sized pool, decent sauna and steam room - shame they make staying guests pay for 'hiring a towel'.

We did not eat in the restaurant in the evenings, although we did have a bar meal one night, which was very good and the atmosphere in the bar was very relaxed - even though it was really busy. Breakfast was very good every morning, they were quick and the food was good quality.

We would definitely consider staying here again, as we both prefer hotels with some character, and the leisure facilities really would swing it for us.

Room Tip: The Four Poster bedrooms are huge and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutmeg215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just organised and spent a weekend here for my friends hen celebrations.
From original point of inquiry to the minute we left, the service was fantastic.
We arrived mid morning and had the best bar food ever, for a very reasonable price and then after managing to check in early, we retreated to the leisure facilities for a swin and general relax.
We retreated to our rooms to get ready for the evening celebrations, where again we were spoilt. The food was absolutley amazing- we were struggling to finish what we had been served but tried as best as we could as it was all stunning!
The hotel had helped me organise a side room for us 11 ladies to have space to ourselves and put me in touch with the local card shop, who came and decorated it for me, without the hen knowing.
After the meal, we retreated to the bar and relaxed into the evening.
Consistently the staff were so friendly and couldnt have done enough for us during our stay.
Next morning, breakfast was as satisfying as the evening meal before.
After checking out of our rooms, some relaxed back in the bar area, reading the sunday papers and others returned to the swimming pool or had treatements booked with Mo, the therapist.
Overall, the experience, was just what we needed, relaxed and more than comfortable weekend with stunning food, fantastic staff and the best atmosphere. Thank you everyone at Haughton Hall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at Haughton Hall to attend my godsons wedding. Wedding day delightful. However, our room No 29 and room No 28 which we had booked for our son and family did not reflect the decor of down stairs. Both rooms were in need of refurbishment especially the bathrooms. Our room, 29, can only be described as something out of Faulty Towers. The wrong toilet seat for the toilet, shower did not always work and a glass shelf which sat above the sink nearly cut your head open every time you bent down to clean your teeth. But the major problem was that these two rooms were above the hotels kitchen. The noise and the smells were just too much. The cleaning staff were only too familiar with these two rooms but still they let the out. It can be nothing more than
Greed.

Room Tip: Never stay in rooms 28 and 29
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shifnal
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
16.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
24.7 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haughton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haughton Hall

Property: Haughton Hall
Address: Haughton Hall Haughton Lane, Shifnal TF11 8HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haughton Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the quiet beauty of rural Shropshire, dating from 1718, Haughton Hall has been decorated with timeless style and situated in 35 acres of gardens, woodlands and boasts a lake. An ideal wedding venue location, our relaxing accommodation, spacious public rooms, intimate bar and elegant restaurant create an atmosphere of refined comfort second to none. Haughton Hall enjoys a well stocked coarse fishing pool, and an outdoor tennis court. These are just a few more of the facilities available to you. A weekend break at Haughton Hall offers you the perfect retreat break and the ideal location to immerse yourself in the tranquil and peaceful surroundings of beautiful Shropshire. When staying as our guest at Haughton Hall, you can also enjoy full use of our Leisure Facilities free of charge. Our leisure club has a delightful Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and Multi Gym. Open first thing in the morning it is perfect for a refreshing swim before you start your day or a great stress buster after a busy day. We look forward to welcoming you Nicola Mason - Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Haughton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haughton Hall Shifnal, Shropshire
Haughton Hall Hotel Shifnal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing