We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great free museum if you Luke aircraft.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Air Force Museum

Royal Air Force Museum
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Shifnal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great free museum if you Luke aircraft.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We have been here a number of times as used to live very close and it would kill a couple of hours but didn't really hold my sons interest for long, or mine ! However, went here again recently with my 6 year old and some friends and their similar age children and they had a great time, my lad was more interested and the kids had a good play outside too. Although the kids enjoyed the interactive area this is getting a bit tired and could do with an update, maybe useful to have staff demonstrating how things work for the younger kids. What it could really do with is some outdoor play equipment to keep kids entertained for longer too. This is an okay day out and it's free !!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccahulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,415
    292
    27
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We visited yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed it. I'm not particularly interested in planes, but seeing so many of them up close and realising the part they played in our history is fascinating. The Cold War hangar is particularly good, with lots of information displayed in an imaginative way, some of it in large circular 'booths' (can't think of another way to describe them) with lights, images and commentaries.

There are 2 cafés and a shop, all a bit pricey but good, and as entry is free that's not so bad. When we visited it was a lovely weather and many families were having picnics outside using the tables or just on the grass.

We didn't have children with us, but being school holidays there were a lot of children there and they all seemed to be enjoying themselves. They could even make airfix models in one of the hangars, the smell of that glue took me back!

All in all, a good day out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Probably the best aviation museum in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

The RAF Museum at RAF Cosford is probably the best I've ever been to; and I've been to several in the UK, including Hendon, Duxford and The Lincolnshire aviation centre as well as a couple in the United States.

What makes it so good? Well free admission certainly helps although there was a small charge to park the car. I noticed there is a small railway station near by too. The newish Cold War exhibition building is fantastic with many of the iconic aircraft from both NATO and the Warsaw Pact that faced each other during the almost 50 years of stand-off. It's not just aircraft either, there are various vehicles as well as missiles including the Polaris nuclear missile. The story of Berlin and also the British military mission in East Germany was also excellent. Having served with the RAF in Germany during the 1980s, this really did bring back memories.

However, the thing I loved most was the collection of British experimental aircraft from the 1950s and 60s. This was the heyday of British aviation and the array of aircraft is absolutely fascinating. This is very definitely what makes the difference between the Cosford museum and the rest, ably supported by the missile collection with its numerous weird and wonderful German missiles developed during WW2.

Finally, as an extra bonus, we got to see the Jaguar aircraft taxiing on the airfield as part of the RAF training school. The smell of aviation fuel was the finishing touch to set the whole day off.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great family day out..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I’ve been visiting RAF Cosford every few years for a couple of decades now. The place has changed dramatically but the feeling of being amazed every time remains the same. This is a great place for family days out, especially if you have young children /grandchildren / nephew / nieces. Its free entry and has some fascinating attractions and planes. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shehzad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Exhibits are well displayed. Very varied and rare types of aircraft.
Nothing to dislike if you are keen on historic aircraft.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank theburvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Air Force Museum also viewed

 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Royal Air Force Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing