We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Royal Air Force Museum Cosford
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Shifnal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Royal Air Force Museum Cosford is located in Shropshire and offers a fun, entertaining day out for all the family. Housed in wartime hangars and in the National Cold War Exhibition, there is a huge display of aircraft and exhibits to explore.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went to the museum to celebrate our grandson's 7th birthday, it was a really enjoyable day staff were so friendly and accommodating. Lots to see and do for all ages I would really recommend a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,455
    299
    27
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Not much to do really not a lot of interactive stuff.
Coffees good.
Food appalling!
Not real ya place to go for more than an hour unless you have this over obsessive addiction to planes!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ady C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An experience for everyone”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I am lucky enough to live close to this site and so have visited the museum on a number of occasions. There is always something new and interesting to see or do.

The annual Cosford Air Show is recommended though well visited so prepare for a few delays getting in and out of the site.

The staff are very involved and approachable. The exhibits are well laid out and in the main are very accessible.

I went this time to see the Dornier exhibit and Focke Wulf 190 both of which had been added since my last visit.

Free entry is always a plus, time was you didn't pay to park either, oh well mustn't grumble in this day and age Cosford represents great value for money.

I will be returning soon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartinR_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well Worth it”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a very interesting and informative museum/attraction.

Its well worth taking the time out to visit.

Its free to enter.

The only thing that was a disappointment was there wasn't a lot of information on some of the individual planes. exhibits, some did some didn't.

Would I come again? Yes

Would I recommend to other's? Defiantly

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul_osborne46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great fun in all weather”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited on a wet and very windy day, but didn't spoil our fun as the majority of the aircraft and other exhibits are spread over four large hangers so protected from the elements. Our personal favourites were the Lancaster and Vulcan bombers...they're HUGE!

Loads of interesting things to see, and a little play area with all sorts of aviation-related gadgets to have a go with that is good fun for kids of any age (even mid-20s!). We managed to visit at the same time as a school trip, but the place is big enough that you can easily avoid being overwhelmed if you have your wits about you :-)

Decent little café/restaurant in the reception building that serves Costa Coffee, just be aware that they stop serving hot food at 2.30pm (we got there at about 2.45pm and there were just a small selection of sandwiches left, although they were nice enough, if a little pricey). Plenty of picnic tables outside as well, if the weather is suitable.

Best bit is, free entry! Just a pay & display car park. £2.50 for up to 3 hours, £3.50 for all day, and the machine even takes cards. Cosford rail station is just outside as well

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Air Force Museum Cosford also viewed

 

Been to Royal Air Force Museum Cosford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing