We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Treat”
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Valentines Treat”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We only stayed one night but it seemed to last forever. Beautiful room which had been scattered with silk rose petals and tea lights arranged around the room. Had afternoon tea on arrival but still had plenty of room for the excellent 5 course meal we had in the evening. Service was excellent, staff very attentive and polite. On arrival in our room after dinner, staff had been in and lit all the tea lights and there was a plate of fresh strawberries dipped in chocolate. We had a lovely breakfast in our room the next morning. Didnt want to go home, will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ela552069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Park House Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Another lovely review, so thank you. It sounds like you were enjoying our "Romantic Package" during your stay. As I am sure you will agree not only is this excellent value for money but also that extra 'wow factor' that we all need sometimes.

We pride ourselves on being able to deliver those extra little touches that prompt our guests to remember us and indeed spread the word about us. Yet again, it seems you have left happy customers! So glad you enjoyed it and we cant wait to see you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    161
    87
    49
    28
See reviews for
88
193
12
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Climping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We went to the Park House hotel expecting a relaxing long weekend and we were very disappointed. During our 3 nights stay we shared the hotel first of all with a large wedding party , and, secondly a very boisterous group celebrating an 18th birthday which went on into the small hours. The noise from their disco's and shouting guests in the car park kept us awake for hours.. We were initially given room 27 which was so small there was no room for any drawers so any clothes not hung up [on the 5 supplied hangers] had to stay on the floor. We were moved to room 73, a 'cottage' room. It was quieter and slightly larger but a lampshade was broken and the bathroom fan was not working. The 'service' in the breakfast room was chaotic. Tables were poorly laid and it took ages to get toast, tea, coffee, marmalade, in fact most things. The breakfast buffet was barely adequate, scrambled eggs or baked beans we were told, had to be pre ordered. The cooked food was luke warm. All in all, our stay was a wind up and not the pleasant weekend in a 4 star hotel we had looked forward to. The only good points were the pleasant staff on Reception and in Housekeeping who tried their best to remedy some of our complaints.. It is clearly a hotel that aims at group events to the detriment of the individual traveller or older guest. There is no attention to detail and with all these drawbacks it is just not good value for money. I would never return and I am very suprised to read some of the previous reviews

Room Tip: Room 28 is apparently a large room on the top floor. Avoid Room 27 which is very small. the cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had high expectations of this hotel as both Trip Advisor and AA ratings were high. We were therefore disappointed, especially for the most part with the service. We ate in the restaurant. While the food was reasonable the service was totally uncoordinated. The best that can be said was that the staff were trying hard but were like headless chickens. The problem is one of training and employing a Restaurant Manager who, though he may have potential, is too young and inexperienced.

The hotel is a busy one, mainly with weddings. The decor throughout the hotel could be improved and the whole ambiance brought up to date. It is in a timewharp of somewhere around the 1980s.

Bedrooms are large but ours was very boring and austere. One good point was free wi-fi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed for one night and although clean our room it was very dated and looked like something from the 80s.

When we checked in we made a reservation for dinner. While we were eating a large, and noisy party, came in and after our plates had been cleared nobody came to ask if we wanted anything else so after waiting for 15 minutes with empty glasses we decided to go back to our room (another couple did the same). An hour later we received a call asking if someone could come and get a signature for the meal - wherever we've stayed in the past the meal has been added to our bill and as we could not find anyone we stupidly assumed the same, especially as the preauthorised receipt was for £25 more than the room rate.

The people in the room opposite had room service at 6.30 am, delivered by someone shouting room service at the top of his voice before banging on the door. This was followed by slamming of doors from 7am so we never got back to sleep.

At breakfast the butter on our table has clearly been used by earlier guests as it was full of toast crumbs, we checked other tables and they were the same so we asked for fresh butter, the waitress did not change the butter on any of the other tables.

Our overall view of the hotel was it was your typical wedding venue and reading other reviews it obviously is.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mico62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayd over for two nights in June for a family wedding and re-union. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The hotel organised the wedding reception extremely well, everyone had a great day.

The room was clean and and very comfortable with lots of period charm! The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broughies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I recently previsionally booked my wedding here for next year and after last nights stay am convinced I have made the right decision!! My partner and I visited with both sets of our parents and our daughter, staying in three rooms all of which were very clean and tastefully decorated. We ate in the restaurant on the evening and all had a three course meal which were all delicious, the only problem I have now is deciding which one i want on the actual wedding day!!! The staff are fantastic and went above and beyond to help all of us. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We actually got married here in April 2011, but stayed again on our first anniversary and the standard was exactly the same. Really friendly staff and the food in the restaurant is top quality. We were offered the same suite we stayed in on our wedding day and it was just as lovely. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bk_wes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shifnal
0.8 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
644 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
4.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
12.9 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Property: Park House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Shifnal TF11 9BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Shifnal
Park House Hotel Shifnal, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing