We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, great staff”
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel online for the night of a friends wedding. Upon arrival they told us that our room was a little more expensive as we booked it online but immediately gave us the discounted rate for the superior room! We had one of the cottage rooms which were not part of the main hotel, and I must say it was certainly home from home! Ideal if you may want to retire early and not have tosuffer the reception/event continuing in the bar.
Break fast was brilliant and overall the food was good, didn't eat in the restaurant but catering for 90 day guests, the hotel pulled out all the stops. Generally the staff were super efficient, friendly and nothing was ever too much for them.
The minor points which I think may be being a bit picky were that the furniture in the waiting area was a bit worn, room service was a tad slow and the drinks prices were a tad on the expensive side!
We are quite local to this area and it would have been cheaper to get a taxi home but it really was worth the money, i certainly would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and i would certainly stay here again especially since the room rates have stayed more or less constant since year 2000.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank cubaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Park House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 552 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2011

I booked a one night Saturday stay at this hotel around the time of Valentines Day, for my Fiancee and I. And what a lovely Valentines stay we had, at this hidden gem of a hotel.
I chose the Passion at the Park House package, which for £180.00 included the following: Early check in of 12 Noon, Half a bottle of Champagne and Chocolate Strawberries on arrival, Canapes and Cocktails prior to Dinner, 3 course evening meal each chosen from the A La Carte Menu, Breakfast each in bed the next morning, and a late checkout of 2pm. It also included a free upgrade to a King size executive bedroom, but I managed to negotiate the last remaining Suite instead, for an extra £20.
We were given room 1, and it was very nice. We had a separate lounge area with sofa and chairs, fireplace, lamps, workdesk, a massive mirror and a flat screen television with Sky. The bedroom was nicely decorated with petals on the bed (which was massive), there was another flat screen television with Sky/Freeview channels. The bathroom was elegant with the bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us.
We even had a phone call from reception once we had entered the room, asking if everything was up to standard, which I thought was nice.
Room service was prompt and quite nice, though they did only give us 2 butters for 6 pieces of toast in the morning, which was a little strange.
The food was nice though and on time.
We found the service in the bar and restaurant to be of a very high standard, and we were treated very well indeed. This service is not found at many hotels, but this kind of customer service is very well received. The bar and restaurant area are posh. but also, very relaxed surroundings. There was a Pianist playing whilst we eat our food. The food was also top notch, and service was quick. We really enjoyed our stay here at the Park House, and if we could afford it would be back more often. If you can afford it I would recommend the Passion at the Park House package, but with a Suite.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This was a very good country house hotel. This was for a special event that coincided with one of their entertainment evenings. The deal was good value, we had a lovely 4 poster room with a very modern en-suite. The restaurant food was very good and breakfast was of a good proportion and quality the next day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HammyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed 3 nights for a family wedding. Before arrival we were told we were booked into a superior room. All the staff were extremely nice and helpful, however on entering our room were very disappointed to find it so small and with a tiny window extremely dark, all the lights had to be on all the time. We had everything a superior room should have in the way of furniture but to access the full length mirror on the wardrobe door we had to move a chair. The lighting in the bathroom was totally useless and in the wrong place i e not above the mirror and we had to run the hot water for 5 minutes to get any hot water. We naively thought all the rooms must be like this but on seeing our friends' rooms when they arrived we were unhappy but realised at this stage we could hardly change, also we didn't want to make too much of a fuss as to annoy our wedding hosts. On the Thursday night the disco was in full swing right under our room until 12.00 midnight! However I wouldn't not recommend this hotel but not to have room 5!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed here overnight whilst visiting family. The size of the room was a nice surprise especially as we had our dog. The pool and hot tub was a welcome addition with plenty of towels to use and a general unhurried relaxed atmosphere.
The only let down was the breakfast. Information on times and procedure would have been welcomed and service was a little to laid back... This was the only area I felt was not good value and I would certainly stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

First impressions were a little disappointing. We found the hotel on a search for 4 star country hotels yet when we arrived it was on a T-junction in Shifnal itself. We were expecting a country manor in landscaped gardens so that was a let down to start with.
However, from then on it was wonderful! The service we received from the start was excellent. We received an upgrade to the bridal suite (room 2) which was an amazing room and was clean and very tidy.
The restaurant is lovely, well decorated and again the service was excellent, there were occasions were waiters were a little scarce but that was a very minor point as the food was fantastic (try the fillet steak!!) The staff were alway eager to help, very friendly and accommodating. The bar prices were about what you will expect from a 4 star venue, but we didn't mind paying the price as the atmosphere and service was so good.

Over all the stay was great, the only way it could have been bettered was if the hotel was in a more picturesque location (our view was of the main road or the car park, hardly what you want on your honeymoon) but everything else made up for that and we would love to pass our thanks to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

Would be a 5 star rating if it was in the countryside.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank mike167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Had a very good stay at Park House. Good levels of service, well appointed rooms. Bar extremely cosy with subtle Christmas decorations, and a particularly good setting when the snow started! Hotel staff met the requirements of our large family group and very attentive despite a large wedding party also staying at the hotel. Reasonable leisure facilities were a bonus (though the pool was freezing!)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_e_b01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shifnal
0.8 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
673 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
3.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Shifnal TF11 9BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Price Range: $99 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Shifnal
Park House Hotel Shifnal, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing