We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hosts”
Review of Anvil Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anvil Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Shifnal B&B and Inns
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding hosts”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very comfortable and clean rooms, a lovely breakfast and friendly owners. The lodge was recommended by a colleague and i'm glad i took his advice, it was a very enjoyable stay.
Mick, I enjoyed having a few beer, i must come back and do it again .

All the best
Darren

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
55
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night and was amazed at the quality of the accommodation very clean and modern at the right price.
The breakfast was to die for ! and we had the small english god knows what the large is like lol.
I loved the feel of this place and will visit again for a weekend to visit iron bridge which is very close.
Top job Mick and Judy see you soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We chose this B&B because of the good reviews, and I'm pleased to say we were delighted. The accomodation is away from the pub in an old stable block; the owners were really friendly and welcoming, then were happy just to give us the keys and let us do our own thing. They also steered us right for the best restaurant in town, and we were not dissapppointed.

The room was spotless, modern, warm, comfortable and had everything we needed, including a huge bed and a very generous range of biscuits! We had a great night's sleep followed by the biggest breakfast I think I've ever eaten. We were warned this would be a proper Midlands breakfast, and given the option of a smaller portions, but it was so good we ate the lot.

This place is just off the main street, and there's off road parking, so really, it's ideally situated. I can't stress enough how nice the owners are, and how clean and comfortable we found it. This sort of place is the reason we prefer to stay in small independent B&Bs, rather than soulless chain hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojosbigstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trefnant
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by mick,very friendly and polite man,mick took us to our room on the first floor,the room was out of this world,the first thing you see is the cleanliness of the room which was excellent,the shower was very powerfull,and a lovely bath you could take a soak in all day.the bed was king size and very comfortable.there was plenty of tea and coffee whenever you wanted it,judy was also a busy lady,always smiling,what a lovely couple,lucky was also there to greet us,lovely friendly dog.we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My partner Glenn and I had a warm wecome by Mike and Judy even though we arrived early. We were taken to a very comfortable spotlessly clean room 3 on the first floor. It had a large bathroom complete with a very powerful hot shower. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. There was tea, coffee, biscuits and bottles of water in our room.
We put in our breakfast orders the night before and were asked what time we would like our breakfast. We were offered cereal and yoghurts first but we just went straight for the full english! It was served hot and fresh and there was plenty of it.
Mike and Judy, along with Lucky their friendy very obedient dog were perfect hosts who made us feel very welcome .... we certainly will be giving them another visit.

Room Tip: 2 family rooms on ground floor and 2 very large doubles on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Has anybody ever stayed here who have been going to Weston park v festival? Just wondering if it is near (walking distance) help/information would be really appreciated as I am planning on booking a stay for v festival 2013! Would also be great full if anybody from the area would be able to give me any info on hotels near by Weston park (v festival)

Thanks

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I spent a night here before going to an event at RAF Cosford. I guess could have come by train to Shifnal station, but the access was good, parking was easy and I needed the car on the next day.

The room was spotless, breakfast hearty and the hosts jovial. I couldn't get the internet to work, but that might have been my computer and I was too tired to seek help.

Not the most scenic location on a wet February evening, but I was there for work. Had excellent early evening meal in a Chinese restaurant five minutes walk from the B&B. I will certainly return to the Anvil Lodge if I have another business meeting in this area

Room Tip: Small establishment with all rooms in the same block. Downstairs would be more convenient for some c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crw197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shifnal
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Telford Ironbridge M54
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anvil Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvil Lodge

Property: Anvil Lodge
Address: 22A Aston Road, Shifnal TF11 8DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shifnal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anvil Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anvil Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anvil Lodge Shifnal, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing