We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent welcome, accommodation, breakfast and service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anvil Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anvil Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Shifnal B&B and Inns
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent welcome, accommodation, breakfast and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Anvil Lodge on 27th and 28th April 2012. Mike ensured we got a good welcome on arrival after having to gives us directions as we had got lost in Shifnal. The Anvil Lodge is ideally situated close to the centre of the town but not too close. The room was of a very high standard with a really large bed and really good bathroom facilities. Breakfast was really tasty but I only managed the "large" breakfast on the first morning and had to stick to the regular one the next day. The choice of fresh fruit and cereals very good. Judy and Mike are excellent hosts and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. If we are in the area again we will try and book up again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KizzilovesMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Great B&B, would recommend. Our room was very very clean, as was the bathroom - couldn't find fault. The room was quite large too, plenty of storage space and nice tea and coffee making facilities.

Warm welcome from Mike (and Lucky the dog) who provided lots of info on the area - and taxi services too!!!

Breakfast was great but we just couldn't do it justice!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunandmoon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

we stayed for one night in late march when attending a wedding at the nearby Parkhouse. We would echo the positive reviews added by previous entries. The accommodation is lovely and the welcome from Judy and Mike (and the dog) is genuinely warm and friendly. The Breakfast was not only huge but also well presented and tasty. when Mike say large he means LARGE!!

we would certainly recommend and if we are this way again we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbymoore06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We came to Anvil Lodge as we were going to an engagement party in Shifnal. We do not drive so got the train. So convienient, it is 2 minutes from the station. Attached to their own pub, the room we had was stunning. Huge bed where me and my wife got lost!!! Bathroom was bliss with a powershower and a fantastic bath. The room was clean and cosy. Had a fantastic pint in their pub (Tiger Bitter). As for the breakfast - OMG!!! Mike made a stunning full english breakfast which kept us going all day long!!! A wonderful B&B - will definitely stay again. Little comment for the owners - next time four in a bed contact you please compete you would win easily!!! Adam and Kate xx

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baggyboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Just had a one night stay at Anvil Lodge. Comfortable, welcoming and a fantastic breakfast. Really good value and our hosts couldn't have been more friendly. Would really recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAndy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bispham
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed for one night as we were going to a party locally. We received an extremely warm welcome, Judy even ironed my husband's shirt for him! We were made to feel very welcome in the pub, both before and after our do, a proper real ale pub with a log fire. The room was lovely, very bright and comfortable. Breakfast was fab, even the small English was filling, I didn't have lunch! The communal dining table was lovely idea. I agree with previous comments that Mick and Judy really made you feel at home and we would have no hesitation in staying with them again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fazug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We had 2 nites at the anvil lodge in september, very enjoyable, the room was fab very clean and mordern and a very big bed.Breakfast is excellent the full engish is served up hot and lovely. the dinning room is nice and you can talk to all the other guest at the table. Michael and judy are very helpful and friendly and will do anything for you. Michael has the pub next door very comfortable with a great fire and a pint. thanks michael and judy for a nice 2 days.
Debby and dave Legg x

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leggy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shifnal
0.5 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Telford Ironbridge M54
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anvil Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvil Lodge

Property: Anvil Lodge
Address: 22A Aston Road, Shifnal TF11 8DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shifnal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anvil Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Anvil Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anvil Lodge Shifnal, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing