We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Od, but interesting!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Odfellows Wine Bar

Odfellows Wine Bar
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shifnal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Odfellows Wine Bar
Ranked #4 of 5 Shifnal B&B and Inns
LOUGHBOROUGH
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Od, but interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

It's a strange little place, the Od Inn, next to Odfellows wine bar. Being basically an 18th century house, it does have plenty of character in the seven rooms, but they are of very quirky dimensions. I stayed in rooms 1 and 7, 1 is a standard room, small but adequate, with a fine view of a brick wall three feet away across the alley, and a nice old double wardrobe. It is very quiet, unlike room 7, a 'superior' room which is indeed much bigger and has a fully tiled modern bathroom with walk-in shower. However, room 7 is right above the wine bar and has two large Georgian windows right above the entrance door, facing the main street. As a result, don't expect to get much sleep before midnight. The rooms do contain a small fridge however, and cutlery for the continental breakfast, which means that takeaways and wine are an option for the frugal and/or unsociable. I moved out to a nearby Days Inn after a couple of weeks, but that soulless 'reps crashpad' has so little to recommend it that I'm moving back to the Od Inn. All in all, a nice place to stay, right in the middle of the nice town of Shifnal.

Room Tip: beware the high numbers, they overlook the main road and have large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMacStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
6
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Od'd is lovely bar with rooms. The staff are brilliant I always find them friendly, fun and helpful. Good selection of booze. Some rooms do need a lick of paint and some new carpets, but proper old wooden furniture, a fridge with continental breakfast (always ask in advance for this), set of cutlery if you grab a take away.

If like me you are fed up with corporate business hotels, this makes a welcome change. Large car park with CCTV and right in centre of town, station close by. The beds are very comfy, the sheets fresh and clean, and the towels are fluffy. And the bar is great , I have always found the bar staff and managers top rate, and the locals friendly - Cheers

Room Tip: Upgraded room 1 at front with wooden floors and power shower - normally an extra tenner. Rooms at ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britishwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Popped in for a drink whilst passing through after a long day,. Staff really friendly, however we would have liked to eat, obvious tables set in different locations of the pub to eat, but no menus any where, nor any hints that food was being served. No restaurant times or invite to enquire, however we stayed for a drink and caught up with the Olympics on the TV....but beware the 'locals'. They made it very clear that there were 'STRANGERs' sat at their table. A message to the locals...'STRANGERS' can lip read!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Good location in a nice little town right next to the station - the wine bar itself was fine, the accommodation perhaps less so but adequate. I had a front facing room, the carpet had seen much better days and the en-suite perhaps left a little to be desired but the room itself was clean and the bed comfortable. There was an excellent fruit platter in the fridge and also cereal and croissant for breakfast. The owners would do well to replace the fridge for a quiet modern one since it was forever switching on and off and was quite noisy about it too. There is no double glazing so there was a bit road noise but all told it was an OK stay at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: No double glazing so front rooms have road noise - make sure the owners have addressed the noisy fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stayed in room 5 which was OK, clean, but rather shabby in places and quite dated (80's era). There was an unpleasant smell in the bathroom made slightly better by opening the window. The shower was dreadful, slightly blocked, no water pressure and poor water supply with inconsistant temperature, took forever to rinse the shampoo from my hair. My parents had the same shower fitted in the late 70's and this one could well have been installed then.

Breakfast supplied was fine consisting of cereal, squidgy croissant, fruit (best bit), cheese and juice cartons, also bottled water and coffee/tea making facilities.
Bed although hard was actually quite comfortable. 2 full sized wardrobes for my small suitcase full of clothes. Appreciated the free wifi, albeit unsecured, and the free parking.

Spent 3 nights 2 of which were very quiet. Night 3 was very noisy because a live band was playing in the wine bar, however, this was over by 11.30PM so not a real issue.

Only paid 35 pounds a night so can't really complain.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triplalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

The Wine Bar itself is great will great food as well but the B&B side is not to the same level.

Our room was very tidy (Room 2) and its always is. I have stayed there for some years but the carpets are in need of a clean these days, a few stains now.

The shower was blocked a little and the shower's hot water unit can't make its mind up whether to be hot or cold. Needs attention.

Breakfast I'm sure would be great but as it starts at around 10/1030hrs never had the chance to find out. They do put cereals, milk, juices, fruit and Cheeses and a crossent (the french bread breakfast thing) for you in the room. Most of those in a fridge provided.

I would recommend to a friend but once the shower was sorted and if they're happy to eat breakfast mid morning

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle-Jayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shifnal
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Telford Ironbridge M54
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Anvil Lodge
Anvil Lodge
#2 of 5 in Shifnal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odfellows Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odfellows Wine Bar

Property: Odfellows Wine Bar
Address: 11 Market Place, Shifnal TF11 9AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shifnal
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Odfellows Wine Bar Shifnal, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing