We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Dining Rooms - CLOSED

The Dining Rooms
Price range: $14 - $52
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Treated my parents to a Sunday lunch, food was exceptional and very well priced considering the standard. I think what makes it so special is the atmosphere, warm and friendly with a quiet pianist in the background.
My wife and I were married here some years ago and the quality of service has not lowered. Would recommend this to anyone whether it be a meal out or catering for that special day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobAshleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    67
    29
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Called for sunday lunch just before christmas ,
They was a carvery on choice of Turkey, Lamb , Beef ,Ham, Pork or all five if you asked , good job I`m not a veggie, , fantastic setting with grand piano playing in the background as we were leaving Children from the gathered dinners were singing christmas carols played by the pianist . good food in nice setting and great atmosphere

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FFSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing Christmas Lunch”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I came for Christmas lunch here in 2012 and it was most enjoyable. What a difference a year can make! From arrival the restaurant and staff seemed ill prepared. Our table was one place setting short. My foie gras starter was raw and had to be sent back. The turkey was tasty but overcooked. But the inattentiveness of the staff meant we had to keep asking for vegetables (sprouts raw, carrots mushy), gravy, cranberry sauce etc.The same with coffee at the end of the meal. Won't be going again. 85 quid wasted.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KevanofSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding at The Walls”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had our wedding in The Dining Rooms (aka The Walls); after meeting Rachel and Geoff, we felt their laid back and eclectic style would match our relaxed wedding plans perfectly and we were right. The building has a great atmosphere and the staff were all friendly and attentive. Steve the resident pianist set the tone for the meal. In the evening Rachel and team cleared a large area for our ceilidh (Odd Socks) in the evening which worked brilliantly

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyM0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming for the occasional Sunday lunch here since the Dining Rooms aka The Walls opened. Today was like putting on a familiar jumper. The service was calm, efficient and attentive. There was pleasant background live piano. It was the usual carvery, the meats were cooked well whilst I had baked salmon which was moist and flavoursome. The puddings were excellent especially the passion fruit sorbet with the lemon posset. I ordered fresh fruit salad which wasn't on the menu. Beautifully presented and came with slices of spiced poached pear and what looked like home grown grapes. Everyone was very satisfied

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Rooms also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
St Martins, Oswestry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing