We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue and food”
Review of Sebastians

Sebastians
Ranked #4 of 120 Restaurants in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great venue and food”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We've been meaning to come here for a while and were not disappointed, lovely French food and great atmosphere. We will definitely be coming again for birthday meals; it is quite expensive but no more so than the excellent Checkers in Montgomery and Ynys Hir Hall.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOU-LOU-Powys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    22
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good food and service, but also expensive.”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have been meaning to visit Sebastians for some years and as we were staying in Oswestry for the weekend we finally made it. We were made very welcome on arrival and drinks and menus were soon to hand. You are only able to choose from the dearer monthly menu on Saturday evenings. The 'cup-a-soup' appetiser was very good. Both starters: partridge en crout, and scallops were excellent. Both of us had the fillet of brill, with chinese vegetables for main course. SORRY I have to say this:- it was 'brill': beautifully cooked and very tasty. The 'arctic roll' dessert, after the quality of the starters and main, was a disappointment. A good wine list but the 'mark up' seems very high. We may visit again but only after trying other local restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireDavidH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Been lucky enough to of eaten there a couple of times and actually had my wedding reception there a few years ago. Its a lovely place to eat, wonderful service, attention to detail is excellent as is the food quality. Would go back more but finances wont allow!!!

Helpful?
Thank jenyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dining experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Visited with friends as a group of five after having seen a good review in the Shropshire Life magazine. Service was highly efficient and unobtrusive. The dining was warm and full of character. Lighting was flattering for we ladies of a certain age. The food was excellent - really flavoursome and well executed. The side bread and butter were so delicious they are worth a mention. Only minor complaints are that pudding portions were too small and ladies toilet was poky. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MmeBarbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have been dining at Sebastians since they opened. It has been a delight to see the business grow, develop and keep abreast of if not ahead of trends. Mark and Michelle are consummate professionals, always pleasant always helpful. Mark's cooking continues to improve and his variety continues to extend. Congratulations to both we had a fantastic meal last week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CestmoiWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sebastians also viewed

 
St Martins, Oswestry
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Sebastians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing