We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail”
Review of Greystones

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greystones
Ranked #4 of 12 Oswestry B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Cameron and Magy are perfectionists who pay attention to detail. The house, the accommodations, and the beautiful park are all the works of art. We recommend having dinner at Greystones every night possible. It is clearly the best food we had on our trip. Cameron is an excellent cook who uses top ingredients to create colorful delicious meals complemented by his fine wines.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MushHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 138 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

We booked a two night stay at the end of April and found Cameron and Magy very generous and excellent hosts . The weather was wet so we were limited as to what we could do.
The churches in Shrewsbury were very interesting indeed with a lot of good information on their history over the years. The highlight of our stay was Camerons fabulous evening meals and would highly recommend that option when booking . You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artist389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I wanted to take her elderly mother away for a 91st birthday treat. It had to be somewhere near Llangollen, with a view to arranging a boat trip over the famous canal aqueduct.

The problem was finding somewhere to stay that is a bit special. Most of the TA reviews of inns and hotels in the area suggested they might be a little on the basic side.

But then we found Greystones listed as a B&B. And the reviews seemed almost too good to be true.

Well, they aren't!

Cameron and Magy run an extremely comfortable establishment, with three large bedrooms. And I do mean large.There were two sofas and an armchair in ours, so plenty of room to relax in comfort. Around the property there were numerous books, CD's and DVD's which we could have borrowed, too.

There is an attractive 2 acre garden, surrounded by open fields, which we enjoyed walking round. It would be lovely to sit out there on a warm summer's day.

The food, by the way, was excellent. Breakfast as well as dinner. Hot prawns in sauce as a starter, fresh asparagus, Welsh fillet steak and rack of lamb were all greatly appreciated. The standard of Cameron's cooking is extremely high. And we've never been offered Grand Marnier souffle in a B&B before!!

There's also an interesting wine list at fair prices. We learned to ask Cameron what he suggested and we were by no means disappointed.

But accommodation like this isn't just about the food or the bedrooms, nor even all those other little touches which make a stay more comfortable. It's also about the way you are looked after while you are there, and it really was a matter of nothing being too much trouble for either of the proprietors. They made a number of useful suggestions about places to visit, too.

So, in short, we really did find the special place we hoped for to give my mother-in-law a treat.

Even the well behaved dog made us welcome!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canalfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

As a last minute thought we were looking for a place to realx and de-stress and found a real gem in Greystones. From the warm and personable welcome from Cameron and Magy through the excellent meals, comfortable rooms to a reluctant taking of our leave the whole experience was first class.

Our room, The Maple, was more like a suite than a room. It has a really comfortable bed but the large sofa and chair were ideal for realxing in to read or watch the TV accomponied by a glass of the complementary sherry or port.

Cameron and Magy are great hosts who judge things just right. if you want to chat they are happy to but if you want your own space they give that to you too. There are local pubs but why would you go out when you can have a great cooking from Cameron - one of his sons is a chef in a Michelin 3* restaurant and I think dad has picked up a few tips! The wine selection is excellent and tremendous value but I can definitley recommend an after dinner cognac.

Located in a quiet area there's plenty of walks or places to visit with Shrewsbury less than 30 minutes drive and Oswestry about 10 minutes away it's also close to Ironbridge if you want to see some of our great industrial heritage.

A really great place for a grown up break that's really relaxing and leaves you wanting more. We are already searching our diary for our next opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redgolf815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We couldn't wait to get back to Greystones - we last visited in August 2011 and when we had chance of an Easter 2012 weekend we jumped at the chance. Cameron and Magy were the perfect hosts, we managed to get the Fountain Room again and were extremely comfortable.
Cameron's food was exceptionally brilliant as always. Cheese souffle, Welsh lamb and crispy duck salad to mention a few dishes, with a fine selection of wine to accompany. Magy also ensured that nothing was overlooked - our daughter was especially delighted with the chocolate Easter bunny that greeted her at the breakfast table on Easter Sunday.
We took trips to Llandudno - a superb Welsh costal resort within easy reach of Greystones ; explored Chirk Castle, just up the road and Ironbridge - 30 miles away, a World Heritage site with 10 exceptional museums. Greystones is a well-located peaceful B&B where every consideration is given to making you welcome and we hope to be back soon. Great thanks to Cameron and Magy - you're brilliant !

Room Tip: Fountain Room is a suite with a sofa-bed suitable for a child (or maybe two ?) and a double bed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djensle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Following a friends glowing recommendation we booked a long weekend at Greystones which included a six course gourmet dinner on the Friday, then the next day a cookery course on Italian food with Cameron and his son, Alex. The dinner was fantastic, the company was great and Cameron, Magy and Alex were terrific hosts. We had such fun and learned so much and following his obvious skills at making pasta, I know know what to buy husband for his birthday! The rooms were delightful, the bed in our room (Maple) was one of the comfiest ever and for three nights we slept like logs. Would we go back? Most certainly. thank you Cameron, Magy and Alex, it was lovely to meet you and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: all three rooms are lovely and whichever one you choose, you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Italiaphobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had a short break (3 nights) at Greystones. I would consider it the best B & B we have ever stayed at. It certainly deserves the 5*. Attention to detail was great. The food was excellent at breakfast and dinner. Hosting was lovely. Very friendly but did not encroach on your privacy. They gave lots of information regarding places to visit. This is clearly not just a job for them but a passion! Nothing was too much. We will most definitely return. Very relaxing. We left knowing we had been pampered.

Room Tip: Would recommend you stay for evening meal, fantastic food, presented with outstanding excellence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stafford123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
5.3 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
467 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
183 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
428 reviews
3.6 mi away
Laurels Bed & Breakfast
Laurels Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Oswestry
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystones

Address: Crickheath, Oswestry SY10 8BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oswestry
Hotel Class:5 star — Greystones 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Greystones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystones Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing