We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the heart of Oswestry”
Review of Sebastians Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sebastians Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

From the moment we arrived, Mark and Michelle, the owners, could not have done any more. Our room was absolutely delightful, everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, great pillows, nice decor. As we arrived a little later than anticipated, we decided to stay for dinner at the restaurant. The wine list was great and the food was incredible. We chose from the standard market menu at £19.95 which was a set menu but gave the option to choose courses from the a la carte menu. We were given canapes with our drinks then seated in the dining area where we experienced beautiful food. I can not fault any of the staff, they were all so helpful. I am so glad that we were not put off by its star rating, this place is a real gem and I will be returning in October for another few days of pampering!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have been visiting Oswestry for many years due to family living nearby. This was our first stay in Sebastians and we will most definitely be staying there in the future.
The bedroom was small but well designed with a very comfortable bed and good quality bedding. Shower was good although we couldn't find the switch to activate the extractor. Each room has a small seating area outside.
Breakfast was pricey but good quality. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. There is a comfortable sitting area to enjoy a glass of wine even if you don't eat in the restaurant.
Location good for centre of town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DacLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We arrived in the pouring rain and were received with a very welcome pot of tea. Our room, across the courtyard, was tastefully furnished with a sofa and enough storage space: a large wardrobe and chest of drawers with mirror. There was a tray with coffee/tea making facilities and a plate with fruit. The double bed (2 twin beds joined together) was large and comfortable.
The bathroom had a tiled floor and walk-in shower, good quality towels and toilet articles, including a pot with cotton wool balls and earbuds.

The breakfast was delicious, with home-made pastries and bread, and a very good selection of quality jams.

We had an excellent dinner there.

The free parking at the back was very useful.

The hosts could not have been more hospitable and friendly.

I would definitely return and would have given this hotel an "excellent" rating, if it were not for a few minor problems which should have been checked beforehand: a missing lightbulb on the bathroom mirror and a defective lamp on a bedside table. The wet bathroom tiles with grouting which looked like it had seen better days, spoilt an otherwise perfect impression.

Room Tip: Room number 7 across the courtyard is larger and has a bigger bed than the one upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophia1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Room was very cramped and fairly average. Bathroom light and fan didn't work and there was hair stuck to the toiletries. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and the owners very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Lovely place, amazing food and you couldn't have asked for more attentive and genuine hosts!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angharad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed one night at Sebastians because we love the restaurant and decided to travel down from Liverpool for the night. The first room that we were allocated was in the annexe at the back of the hotel. Unfortunately the heating wasn't working so we were (eventually) moved to a room in the main hotel. I must say that the owner wasn't on the premises when this problem came to light, but she sorted it out as soon as she arrived, which is all that you can ask for.
The second room was on the front of the hotel, and boy was it noisy. We went for a late night drink in Oswestry and returned to our room about midnight. About an hour later the racket from very late night revellers began in the street outside and continued until about 3am. Then we snatched a few hours sleep before the council street cleaning machine (i think) rumbled past.
Anyway we are going back to the restaurant in September for my birthday, but will stay at the Lion Quays and use a taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tobleroneLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have just spent the weekend at this lovely hotel ! The owners could not of done enough for us from arrival to departure. I was very impressed, especially with the Breakfast. I will definatly be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Four Poster !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce22derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
2.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
479 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,323 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
186 reviews
11.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebastians Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebastians Hotel

Address: 45 Willow Street, Oswestry SY11 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: $110 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sebastians Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sebastians Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebastians Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing