We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find in Oswestry”
Review of Sebastians Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sebastians Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was a good find. The price we paid through Late Rooms was comparable with local budget hotels and good value. I think they have positioned themselves very well and everyone we spoke to around the area knew of Sebastian's. The place is tastefully decorated and furnished. The bed was comfortable but small (it was only a double). It felt as though we were being processed by the military, perfectly organised but lacking warmth. I asked not to be called "sir" but that request was ignored. We only ate there once with the set menu. We found the portions small and nothing very special and I have to say I was taken aback by the final bill. If they are not careful they could easily loose their high reputation. Nevertheless, we are pleased to have stayed there.

Room Tip: The suggestion to ask for a courtyard room is probably a good one.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotall55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Sebastians Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 131 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

Hospitality: Mark and Michelle made us super welcome in their beautiful hotel without ever being over bearing or intrusive. They were always on hand when wanted, and responded to all our (sometimes awkward) requests with kindness and grace, going above and beyond on several occasions.

Bedrooms: beautifully appointed, with very comfy beds and thoughtful extras such as crystal water glasses with a thermos jug to keep water cool and a cafetiere with ground coffee and fresh milk. Our bathroom had a bath and a very powerful shower - perfect!

Breakfast: fantastic. Tropical fresh fruit salad, then a very well cooked fry up (other options are available, but we think it'd be a shame to miss this), followed by toast and baskets of croissants and bread.

Dinner: brilliant carnivore and vegetarian food. You don't have to dine at Sebastian's if you're staying, but we would strongly recommend it. Both meat and vegetarian dishes were perfectly cooked. What particularly stays with me was a little amuse bouche of leek and potato soup - seemingly such a simple thing - but with an incredible depth of flavour - all our food was of the same excellent standard. If Oswestry were slightly closer to London, we'd be along every week.

As you can probably tell, we really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be returning. We have stayed at six of the eight hotels in Oswestry listed here, including the top rated one, and are amazed why anyone ever stays anywhere that isn't Sebastians. It's a genuinely wonderful place with very kind and very professional staff and owners.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosred79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Well not quite a Boutique Hotel? More a Restaurant with rooms as there are no public areas to lounge around in except a bar area.
My room which was comfortable and clean and off an enclosed courtyard with parking close at hand but was not suitable if you have work to do as there is not a table and the internet signal did not reach room 6; WiFi access only obtained in the open courtyard which is far from convenient.
Breakfast was good but not included in room rate.

Room Tip: Good for leisure & non working business trips.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trickytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We arrived in oswestry and because the football was on we went straight to a pub to watch it and found our selves in a town that gives england a bad name. it seems to have an identity crisis and is not sure whether it is Welsh or English - full of very angry people.

Sebastians however is a quirky, romantic restaurant with rooms. excellent food, service and the rooms were large and comfortable.

recommend it for a stopping off point.

Room Tip: Our room had a spa bath preferred shower
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chestnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Although the room we stayed in didn't have a scenic view outside, inside it was very well appointed, comfortable and well equipped. We were staying overnight for a wedding nearby and were glad to have some time away.

Sebastian and his partner were a very nice couple, very welcoming and helpful and showed us the way to the car park which was tucked away down a side street.

We didn't eat in the restuarant but the breakfast the next day was above average and nicely served.

great place if you are passing through, I'm sure the restaurant is worth trying as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debsamadmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I stayed in a courtyard room, great if you are a smoker, you can sit outside the room and have a cigarette, lovely room with some really nice touches, nothing is too much trouble, when I arrived they made me a lovely sandwich and I had a glass of wine, prior to attending a wedding at St Oswalds and afterwards at Walls Restaurant, both within a short walking distance. I wished I could have stopped longer but I was being taken home the next day. Definately worth visiting, and do try the breakfast, I ordered exactly what I wanted and it was freshly cooked.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Stayed for one night visiting relatives, the owners are very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, even de-iced my car windscreen for me in the morning! It was a shame we couldn't eat in the restaurant as we were visiting family for dinner, though the breakfast in the morning was fantastic. Freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, pastries and the full English. Going back in March next year, have a booking in the restaurant & can't wait!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
0.2 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
425 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
2.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,295 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
182 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebastians Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebastians Hotel

Address: 45 Willow Street, Oswestry SY11 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: $107 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sebastians Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sebastians Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebastians Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing