We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual”
Review of Sweeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Chirk, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Living local to the Sweeney I haven't had the pleasure of staying overnight, but I have been dining here for many years. I have attending weddings and funeral wakes here too. Out of all the times I've been here, I've never had a bad meal. I find the house wonderfully relaxing and not at all pretentious. The service is excellent - attentive but not rushed or intrusive. Having been out for the day my husband and I stopped by without making a booking - it was a Thursday evening in early April and didn't expect it too be busy. What a shock we had, it was packed and we just managed to get a table. Despite this, the service and food were still up to their usual excellent standard. Well done to Sean and his team keep up the good work and we'll see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    103
    41
    32
    6
See reviews for
132
136
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have just returned home from the Sweeney Hall having attended our daughter & son in laws wedding The hotel has a lovely drive up to the house with sheep & lambs in the field. The house is homely country house rather than stuffy country house . It's family run & this shows the place feels loved . Each bedroom is different, The bed in ours was really comfy & the room was pretty with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The wedding was in the hotel & was very well organised. the staff are very friendly & the food was really good. I felt it appeared to be very good value I expect that summer weddings are charming when its a little warmer outside
Breakfast was well cooked & plentiful so it set us up well for the journey home.
I would recommend Sweeney Hall for functions or just as a nice place to stay for a few days as its a lovely area to tour round as well.

Room Tip: They are all different but you can see them on line & chose which you want to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish lass
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights as we were attending a family funeral. On arrival, we were impressed with the grand driveway and impressive old building. Once inside we were greeted by a very personable young chap at reception who carried our case to our room, 5. The place was empty, although we saw tables set for evening meal, we thought we would have the place to ourselves. As we had had a long drive,we decided to go for a short walk in the grounds then relax before dinner. The walls in the hotel,are very thick therefore, soundproofing is very good, we heard nothing at all. On going downstairs for a preprandial drink we were amazed how busy it was. We had to carefully move around people to get a seat in the bar ! The menu was very good and we ate from the main menu the first night, and early bird dining the second night....both very good in quality and quantity. We are sure that if there was nothing which suited, chef would manage to prepare something to please...our problem was to decide which food we wanted, as opposed to finding something we liked ! The food presented for the après funeral was good and plentiful, a buffet, again with a large selection from which to choose.
The bed was uber comfortable and we enjoyed two nights of very good sleep. The only downside was the electric shower, but we have had worse, and the lovely large fluffy towels were a delight.
All staff we encountered,Sean, reception, restaurant and bar staff were all very friendly, pleasant and helpful. When we enquired about directions to the crematorium, we were presented with a printout from the computer prior to leaving....how very thoughtful and helpful.
We read a previous reviewer said 3 star rating with 5 star quality and service, and we concur. We have stayed in country house hotels before and found them to be very pretentious, nouvelle cuisine and exorbitant prices...not here. We felt very relaxed and comfortable during our entire stay. The fact that it is frequented regularly by locals is testament to the good standard of the hotel.
Should we ever be back in the area, we would certainly opt to here. We could see that the garden in Spring and summer would be lovely,as there seemed to be many plants and flowers ready to bloom. There is an outside sitting and BBQ area, obviously used only in the summer, but it is so tranquil with the only sound being the bleating of the lambs and sheep.
Peace, perfect peace, but we have now returned home to the noise of traffic passing near to our home !
We trust that Sean manages to keep his eager staff,and the business continues to do well. We thought when we arrived that hardly anybody knew about the place...how wrong could we have been ! Please keep up the good work.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScottishlassAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montgomery,powys
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have been promising my Sister-in-Law a visit to this great hotel for quite a while. Today we made it and it really lived up to the praise I continually heap on it to all and sundry! We did not arrive until about ten to two but although pretty busy, the delightful young lady made us feel very welcome. The food we chose was beautifully prepared and served and the atmosphere is very
laid back and cosy. I will come back and back and back...........

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monty076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Superb place to stay and relax. Recharge the batteries before a busy summer ahead.
Sean and staff looked after us superbly over the fortnight we were here. Breakfast and Dinner were just perfect and excellently served. The wine list had our favourite selection .
Sweeney Hall is in a perfect location for going out on day trips to Cities and rural locations of interest.
We will be back next year its already booked.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank christinek-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We held my daughters 21st Celebration Sunday Lunch for over 30 family and friends. The food was excellent and I can't see how it could be bettered - everyone had different choices and they all thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Service was friendly and attentive and a few guests stayed overnight who highlighted this as a key strength. We will certainly be returning and will now make this our "go to" venue locally not just for special occasions. Thank you Sean so much!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Sean, Christian and their team have honed to perfection the art of providing an unforgettable experience at Sweeney Hall. We stayed for two nights over a very busy weekend and standards were exceptional throughout. Superb...you begin to relax from the first moment of turning onto the drive that winds prettily up to the Hall, right through to the end of your stay and inevitable reluctant departure.
The cuisine is superb. The menu is varied and wide, yet all dishes are fresh and cooked to perfection. You will not find better rib-eye steak with Béarnaise sauce anywhere, nor confit of duck with chilli and orange marmalade, nor...I could go on and on! We were a party of four and everyone thoroughly enjoyed three courses each evening. Unforgettable dining, efficient and friendly, professional service and very reasonably priced. Good choice on their wine list too.
The bedrooms are spacious with stunning views through the large Georgian windows. The beds are king sized and very comfortable indeed. Outside there are beautiful grounds to gaze upon or to go out and explore, along with sheep, lambs, pheasants and other glorious wildlife.
There are no compromises here, just a wonderful, relaxing and memorable visit. You will feel very 'at home' in luxurious surroundings. Don't hesitiate...it really is a unique and fantastic place to visit. Beautiful historic Shrewsbury is nearby for a day out too, as is Moreton Hall.
Our grateful thanks to the owners and all staff for looking after us so well. What a treat.
M. & M. Wilkinson, Kendal, Cumbria

Room Tip: Room 1 and room 5 are both large, airy, comfy and lovely, the former being their best room. (I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
409 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
742 reviews
13.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweeney Hall Hotel

Property: Sweeney Hall Hotel
Address: Sweeney Hall Hotel Morda | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 9EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweeney Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Georgian Country House Hotel set in mature parkland yet within easy access of a major road.We have 11 bedrooms in the hotel as well as a cottage that sleeps four in close proximity. Each room is individual with all the quirky details you often find with a family owned and run property.A log fire welcomes you in the winter months and this is equalled by our fantastic terrace and gardens in the summer.We are open to non residents and have a great local reputation and following for our food.Whether a special occasion or a mid week bite to eat we can offer what you need.We have been at the Sweeeney Hall as a family for 20 years now and love what we have to offer with its history and warm atmoshere and unique character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sweeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweeney Hall Oswestry
Sweeney Hall Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing