We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A country gem with really welcoming staff”
Review of Sweeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have stayed here as a family for weekends on our way to Anglesey almost every year for the last 10. The hotel is ideally situated for access into the beautiful surrounding country on the welsh border. It is surrounded by fields with wonderful views and the hotel has gardens and grounds to sit out in on sunny days and to explore. The rooms are all well appointed, comfortable and come well looked after with all the facilities that you would expect from a smart country house. The staff are always welcoming, friendly and efficient. We love the food and although we havent spent too much time in the bar it looks friendly and relaxed. The last 2 years we have stayed in the 2 bedroomed self contained cottage which is adjacent to the hotel and is ideal for a family and really special. The owner manager Sean couldn't be more friendly and helpful. We love it.

Room Tip: The cottage is great for a family.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fujishimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Sweeney Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 459 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited today an Anniversary Lunch. The food was lovely, great value for money and service was brilliant. The staff were so pleasant and friendly, they couldnt do enough for you. The location was wonderful and the whole experience was great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheEvertonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Was alittle disappointed. We had booked one night away just to chill out , watch the rugby and have a fine meal. We were give a very basic room, small bathroom, no bath! We hadn't been told when booking that there was a wedding on, but was told several times throughout the afternoon (so were other visitors) We asked if we could order lunch, again we were told they weren't sure has there was a wedding on! however chief accomodated us. Family run business and young bar man very pleasant. When the wedding arrived we went to our room to find, telly didn't work, this was reported, no one arrived until I went to reception 2 hours later. We were told we could watch the telly in another room but couldn't move as there was a wedding in. There was bulds out in the center light and we couldn't get any hot water. There was also open half used toiletries in the shower! In the end we checked out and went else where. Sweeny Hall did wiope our lunch time bill clean as a jesture.

Room Tip: Check no wedding on
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

my partner and I visited the hotel for the first time last saturday, as we have never been before we called in to see if lunch was possible and suitable, we were greeted by Sean who i believe is the owner, he was very pleasant and friendly so we decideed to give lunch a try.
We had a very nice meal in nice surroundings, we have no compliants it was a very enjoyable meal , lovely cooked food. well worth a visit,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just off the A5 and easy to find, Sweeney Hall is an impressive sight. Approached via a long drive and surrounded by pastures, a warm welcome by Sean, the proprietor was the perfect end to a long drive from Cornwall.

Elegant and sophisticated decor, but with a homely feel and comfort our room had everything I wanted. A hot bath accompanied by a glass of promptly delivered wine, I felt refreshed and settled in the bar to order dinner. Service was attentive but not intrusive, the menu varied offering interesting flavour combinations which surprised and delighted us. Beautifully cooked and presented we enjoyed our dinner and slept soundly.

Sunday breakfast was perfectly cooked and we left to walk the Aquaduct stuffed and in need of the exercise!

Our visit was brief but it was a taster of visits to come. We will be returning to the Sweeney and I feel confident that we will find the same warm welcome, delicious food, excellent service and comfort each and every time.

Congratulations to Sean and his team. I would recommend a stay here to the most discerning traveller - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DibDabs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Booked 18 people for a surprise birthday meal. From the outset, organisation was horrendous- phoned to confirm arrangements twice as we were not happy that the booking had been made correctly. A week prior to meal, we phoned again to be told they had booked out the room we had originally booked and would have to put us upstairs, even though we have older family guests and toddlers. The manager was obnoxious- couldn't give a toss. Would never go here again and this complete idiot with absolutely no people skills should seriously reconsider his career within the hospitality trade!!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seprawn, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

I am sorry I didn't reply to this feed back when you posted it but at the time I felt you had been very personal with your choice of words and I didn't want to do the same.To say I was a little disappointed with your feedback would have been an understatement as you didn't even turn up for the booking you had made in our restaurant on that Sunday lunch.I am well aware we had to move the room you were originally in to accommodate the increase in numbers with your party but we were still able to provide you with a private room at no extra cost and felt we had tried to accommodate your needs to meet your concerns with being in a room on the 1 st floor offering you the use of one of our guest rooms for the loo facilities.I am also very sorry you felt you had to call back to confirm details that you had given to us once but can assure you that had you given us the chance and turned up for the reservation you made we would have taken care of you and your party as we have done very successfully over the past 20 years i have owned and run the hotel for and I am probably too happy doing what I do to change careers now.Thank you once again for the feedback but i do think you should give us a fair chance and come for a meal,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Not knowing what to expect, we were very pleasantly surprised by the relaxed country house ambience and the beautiful parkland setting.The dining room was very busy, but fortunately we had booked a table for lunch.The menu choices seemed fairly traditional,but turned out to be excellently prepared and presented,some of the dishes having a bit of an original twist.My chicken breast with black pudding was accompanied by a creamy peppercorn and cognac sauce
which was delicious.My wife enjoyed a traditional beef roast (two huge slices) which she claimed just melted in her mouth,which is really good coming from her ! My chilli prawn starter was perhaps a little unadventurous,but tasty enough.Our two dining companions were equally pleased with their menu choices.Gins and tonics to start and a bottle of Pinot Grigio with the meal,all came to a grand total of just under £80 for the four of us.
The staff were cheerful and attentive, and all in all it was easy to see why the place was so popular and"buzzing"( in a quite refined sort of way).
We would certainly recommend The Sweeney and hope it won't be too long before we make a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank R0ssHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
425 reviews
13.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,301 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
787 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweeney Hall Hotel

Address: Sweeney Hall Hotel Morda | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 9EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: $108 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweeney Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Georgian Country House Hotel set in mature parkland yet within easy access of a major road.We have 11 bedrooms in the hotel as well as a cottage that sleeps four in close proximity. Each room is individual with all the quirky details you often find with a family owned and run property.A log fire welcomes you in the winter months and this is equalled by our fantastic terrace and gardens in the summer.We are open to non residents and have a great local reputation and following for our food.Whether a special occasion or a mid week bite to eat we can offer what you need.We have been at the Sweeeney Hall as a family for 20 years now and love what we have to offer with its history and warm atmoshere and unique character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your Sweeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweeney Hall Oswestry
Sweeney Hall Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing