We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The barley mow trefonen

The barley mow trefonen
Ranked #15 of 116 Restaurants in Oswestry
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This pub is were we go after a days shooting, great atmosphere, great food and they brew their own beer :-) and also has a pool table. If you just want a quick drink or a meal in a lovely country pub, give the Barley Mow a try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“So good, we went twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We chose to eat at the Barley Mow because it was listed in a leaflet that we got from Oswestry Tourist Information, and we were so pleased that we went back again the following evening. The service is friendly, the food is delicious and the prices are very reasonable. The first night, I had lamb shank, which was melt-in-the-mouth tender, followed by apple sponge, all for the princely sum of £8! The second night, I had baked salmon and another portion of apple sponge, again on the 'main and dessert for £8' deal - this is a midweek offer.
If we lived near Trefonen, this could easily become our local!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a great pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stopped here whilst walking Offa's Dyke Path.
Arrived just as they were opening - very friendly welcome and took advantage of the £8 meal + pudding deal - agree with previous review- very good curry and amazing value - we had to skip the included pudding!
This is a lovely pub - chatted with locals and a great atmosphere. Beer very good too.
Well worth the stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Curry & Sweet for £8”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Barley Mow is a lovely little village pub and is ideal for walkers on the Offa's Dyke Trail. 3 of us had an evening meal here. Main meal and a sweet for £8. Very good value. We stayed in the bar area so I did not see what the restaurant section looked like. My chicken curry was very hot and tasty. Although not on the sweet menu I had at least 4 scoops of ice cream to cool off with for my pudding. The staff are very friendly. The Offa's Real ales were good especially the Gold. The locals were also quite friendly. We stayed in an excellent B&B Lynstead Lodge in the village, which unfortunately is not on TripAdvisor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WiggyofIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“An outstanding pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This village pub adjoins the Offa's Dyke brewery. The buildings look very ordinary and the car park is a bit of a jumble of cars. We did not know what to expect. Inside the bars look very tidy and the furniture is simple. There is a separate room for dining with about five tables. They serve their own beers as well as several guest beers. We tried three of the Offa's Dyke beers, including the Grim Reaper Porter and they were all fantastic!! They were interesting and refreshing; unfortunately I often don't get on with beer and have a headache but NOT with these! The menu was average size and simple - I had liver and onions - superb! A friend had the mixed grill - what an enormous feast!! And I had a chocolate cake for desert - perfect!! - it was best chocolate cake I've had for a long time! My two course meal was only £8.50 - this is a special offer for Tuesdays to Fridays. Not all the meals are in the special offer -like the mixed grill - and increase the costs by a few pounds. The service was helpful and pleasant and we did not have to wait long. This is really an outstanding pub!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EyesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The barley mow trefonen also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to The barley mow trefonen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing