We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, excellent Thai food- give it a try!”
Review of Khao San

Khao San
Ranked #28 of 119 Restaurants in Oswestry
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place, excellent Thai food- give it a try!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We went here this evening and although it was quiet, we were made to feel very welcome. The food was lovely, very fresh and tasty. The service was great and the value for money was exceptional.
It's a small restaurant away from the Main Street but don't let this put you off. Really glad we tried it and will be going back regularly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassiejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Thai food and service”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here and will be returning again. The waitress was very welcoming and attentive without intruding. Keep up good work and thanks for lovely evening. One of the nicest Thai restraunts ever eaten in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevlaw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SY11
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Appearance is not everything”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Thai restaurant in Oswestry seems to change its name more often than Alan Partridge bounces back. Like a lot of Thai restaurants this one looks a bit tired inside, but I am not eating the décor!
£30 for 2 starters, 2 mains and 4 drinks is great value. Service was quick, the place is clean.
Great satay, they even made me a little dipping bowl of fresh chopped chillies and fish sauce, squid well cooked but a bit too much batter for me.
Thai beef salad for main, gorgeous! A perfect balance of heat, sweet, sour, salty and bitter! Beef perhaps a little overcooked but the whole combination was pretty near perfect.
The other side of the table had a Pad Thai, which I was told was as good as she had in Thailand.
Chang Beer too!
They even persuaded us to order a banana fritter, which normally brings memories of giant whole bananas in thick batter and syrup, this was a half banana in a sesame batter, served with ice cream and mango coulis.
Would I go back, yeah! I am trying to think of an excuse to go this weekend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ihatecorporatehotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a fabulous little gem of a restaurant. The unfortunate thing with the place is there are periods the restaurant is closed due to staffing issues. I have been here many times, always tell everyone how good it is. No matter who is in current residence the food and service is always top class and great value.
Sadly generally quiet and under used.
If this wonderful restaurant finally closes it's doors permanently it will be a great loss to Oswestry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CatJayO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
899 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 869 helpful votes
“Extreemly tasty Thai food”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stopped in here almost on a whim and we were really glad we did.

The restauraunt doesn't look anything earth shattering - reasonably basic layout. When we arrived we were the only customers. The menu contains a large selection of Thai food - quite a comprehensive choice.

Service was quick and friendly and the food didn't take long to arrive (Complimentary prawn crackers and sauce while waiting). Having visited Thailand a few times we found the food tasted authentic - was hot tasty and plentyfull. Satay and Pad Thai dishes were awesome.

The restauraunt must be the home of the family as there were numerous comings and goings of family members and small children - which all added to a Thai feel to the place. For some reason they wereonly accepting Cash when we ate there despite the visa stickers - not sure id this is a permanent state of affairs or not.

If you are loking for luxurious sourroundings / water features / Thai Music and fancy table deccorations this isn't the place. For reasonably priced excellent tasting food it certainly is.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khao San also viewed

 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Khao San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing