We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Independent Quality”
Review of Cafe Radio

Cafe Radio
Ranked #39 of 119 Restaurants in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Independent Quality”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Got recommended Cafe Radio for food by someone in the area. Their menu has some really great stuff to choose from. The Radio burger was huge and came with chunky potatoe wedges, fresh salad and some great sauces. You can taste the quality in the ingredients and the price of each dish certainly makes it worthwhile. If Lorrie is working, try one of his coffees as the guy is a genius barrista in the making. I had a meatball wrap the next day and wasn't as happy as the burger meal in terms of the amount I got (mainly just 4 meatballs and a bit of humous in a wrap) but once padded out with the salad they provided it wasnt so small. The burger is definitely the best though. Seating inside and outside and the staff are great. Real indepedent feel. Check out their site at www.caferadio.co.uk and drop them a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoppaPill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    15
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great little find”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

What a surprise in Oswestry. Excellent food and service. Fresh, home cooked and locally sourced ingrediants featured in a hugely diverse menu which changed my light lunch into a feast. Thank you,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulineretirednhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast? Elevenses? Lunch? Afternoon Tea? Dinner? Yes please!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

So chuffed I'm a local....means I can visit regularly. Best coffee I have EVER had....their Flat White is perfect and it's great to ask for one and not receive an standard white coffee or a blank look. Breakfast choices are delicious and different from granola with yogurt and Shropshire honey to a 'Californian' to a Full English - top bacon too!

Mmmmmm Cake......homemade and gorgeous.....Tunisian orange cake....Peanut butter brownies...scones.....go and taste for yourself.

Great meze platters and specials every day. I often share a large plate so I can manage cake too, but a real treat is the Tapas evening on Friday and Saturday, however, I forgot to book last time and couldn't get in, so a quick ring to reserve a table is advised.

The food is fresh and prepared to order....seasonal, alternative with fantastic flavours. Friendly staff and attentive smiley service in an understated cool setting. A hidden gem on Bailey Street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherlockwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Radio Cafe ... TUNE IN NOW for a truly eclectic experience!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were looking for a late lunch and and were attracted by the retro style of this cafe on Bailey Street. I've been visiting Oswestry for a good 40 years and have never felt drawn to this place. It's obviously had a face-lift and with its quirky decor (old radios, art on the walls, and newspapers and magazines lying around waiting to be read) we spent an enjoyable hour or so in here. The welsh beef burgers were great with an excellent salsa. The tea was spot-on and we even had a second pot - it's such a simple drink but so often got wrong. The home-made anzac cookies were divine and we even had a couple to go! There was free wifi and interesting radio online from Paris. A truly eclectic experience. Staff seemed to know their regular customers and conversations flowed - we were made to feel REALLY welcome. We'll definitely be back next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleSian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“best cafe in town”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Radio Cafe on Bailey Head is a perfect choice for a light meal or a small snack. The tea is exceptionally good. All the food is prepared on the premises. Excellent falafels, breakfasts (try the Californian!) and not all is vegetarian. The burgers are very good too. And, if there is any left, go for the chocolate and peanut butter cake with creme fraiche and homeade rasberry jam. Yummmmmm.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janeysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Radio also viewed

 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Cafe Radio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing