We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected, just great !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Alesund, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“As expected, just great !”
Reviewed September 10, 2010

No mobil, no internet, just great !!!
The garden, needs a little - love, but thanks life.
WE will be back !!! Especially the "Upper Court"
Thanks again, seeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee u.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil03091947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    104
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
425
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed one night in one of the rooms in the old hotel. Our room was excellent with a good view over the beautiful garden. Afternoon tea on arrival was very welcome and very good. Our evening meal was excellent with local produce and a good choice. The bed was comfy and it was very quiet so we had a good nights sleep. The hotel is old with many interesting things to look at and it is very restful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We were looking for a weekend away not too far from home at the last minute and came across this hotel. I telephoned and spoke to a very helpful lady and we managed to book the last available room. That the hotel was then fully booked speaks for itself.

The hotel is in a beautiful setting, a peaceful wooded valley. We had a room in the Coach House, the room was immaculate and well furnished and had its own private patio with table and chairs. It was so peaceful at night.

The public rooms at the hotel are in a traditional country house style, cosy with lots of comfortable seating areas.We enjoyed a delicious evening meal and breakfast was also of a very high standard. There is an emphasis on locally sourced food. The staff throughout the hotel were excellent, friendly and professional.

What surprised us was the location of the hotel, it appears to be quite isolated but when you look in the very informative room folder, you soon realise that it is in a prime position close to many different attractions. You could easily spend a week here and find somewhere interesting to go every day. You could also stay put at the hotel and do one of the many walks nearby.

We will definitely visit again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We had a 3 night stay here (late booking). Both my husband and I could not rate this hotel high enough. We have stayed in 5* hotels and had poorer service and food. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful in every way. Our room was fantastic (The Champagne room). There was a complimentary afternoon tea on arrival and we also had a complmenary half bottle of champagne which we drank on the patio looking at the wonderful views.
There is a wealth of information on the surrounding area and walks available directly from the hotel.
There were no complaints whatsoever with the food. It was of an excellent quality.
We are looking forwards already to our return.


Please do visit, you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This is a pleasant old house in a rural location with lots of walks right from the door. The food is generally very good and local people come here for special occasion dinners. When I complained about a supposed-to-be-rare lamb rump that came overdone it was replaced very promptly with a nice pink one. Another night I got a dryish piece of pork but I think that was unusual, as was the slightly sad and rubbery duck breast I got another night. It's fair to say I think my disappointment was unique. My partner's food was fabulous every night and everyone elses looked that way too. There was an air of satisfaction about the dining room generally and a friendly atmosphere. The staff seem prepared to work around peoples preferences, for example delaying cleaning the room when we wanted a long lazy morning and letting us come back slightly late for dinner one night (prearranged). When a man on a nearby table ordered welsh rarebit for dessert (no it wasn't on the menu!) he got exactly what he asked for and it looked very nice too. I think this is the deciding factor in my deciding to recommend this hotel to readers, that if anything here isn't to your satisfaction first time round it will soon be sorted out. We had a thoroughly nice time and I would come back here again. This might be a 4/5 score but it's a high 4.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sturdyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We chose this hotel for a 3 day dinner, bed & breakfast package after reading Tripadvisor reviews... and were glad we did. The things we liked were:
- the complimentary tea & scones served on the terrace on our arrival
- the well-maintained garden & the terraces with plenty of seating to enjoy the wonderful views
- the excellent range of local maps, guides and books for the use of guests
- the daily bulletin at breakfast with the weather forecast and suggested outings & walks
- the professionalism and efficiency of the staff
- the chef who provided delicious food and accommodated special dietary needs
- the room (Terrace Room) that had patio doors onto the garden which was great for the dog
- the fact that there was no extra charge for the dog
The things we didn't like as much were:
- the room was a bit small. It was a squeeze getting into bed when it was made up as a twin
- that coffee was not included in the dinner package and cost £4.25 per person.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from four fantastic nights at The Pen-y-Dyffryn. The service was supurb. The food was fantastic. The location, stunning isolation. If you are looking for a hotel to relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life I cannot reccommend this hotel enough. One of the best we have ever stayed in and we cannot wait until we are able to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulCSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
449 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
413 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,256 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
406 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Property: Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing