We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully located, very good food, very relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham UK
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Beautifully located, very good food, very relaxing stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We had a very good stay here for a couple of days. The hotel is set in lovely countryside and is a very tranquil place to stay. The food is very good, with a completely different menu on offer every night. All staff were very friendly and efficient.

One thing i've never come ascross before, each morning at breakfast there was a sheet with weather forecast, suggested places to visit, a 'walk of the day' and other local information.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rydeb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    105
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
428
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay last weekend. We were very fortunate with the weather so could really enjoy the lovely garden and the spectacular views. We loved "The Blue Room" and it's fabulous outlook onto the garden.We found the owners and staff extremely pleasant and helpful, the dining and other public rooms all tastefully decorated and the food was OK too!. We visited three national Trust properties during the weekend which we loved...great to have so many so near.We have already reccomended the hotel to friends and hope to visit again ourselves before too long. The one thing we were disappointed in was a young man wearing shorts and flip-flops being aloud to eat in the dining room in the evening..every one else was appropriately dressed for a lovely meal in a lovely place.....I guess we're just old fashioned.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret_Paul0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Rarely have we stayed in such beautiful surroundings, in such a lovely old building which has been very sympathetically furnished and decorated, with staff so attentive, polite and helpful. The food was first class, Miles (who only 'introduced' himself by his name badge) was knowledgeable and attentive. All in all, I will echo all the positive comments by previous posters. If I had to make any negative comments (and I generally don't have a problem finding a few faults), they would be that my full English breakfast on one of our two mornings was stone cold and that we were not asked at all if we would like a morning paper!!

Makes a wonderfully refreshing change to all the big hotel chains that dont really care about you or your stay - go on, treat yourselves.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Superb location and very high standard of food and service was the theme running throughout our stay here at Pen-y-Dyffryn.
We particularly liked the high standard of the food created by the kitchen using local produce where possible and would recommend to any foodie to stay here.
We plan to return in the autumn.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladderbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Lovely rooms, very nice service.These peopel care about their guests

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bitofafossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

For us the highlight of our two night stay, was the excellent food served in this lovely 'get away from it all' hotel. The staff were both friendly and professional, the location of the hotel is excellently situated for walking and the views were fantastic. Our room was nicely decorated and the public areas such as the lounge, the restaurant and the bar area were also very pleasant. We have already recommended Pen-y-Dffryn to the rest of our friends, and we would love to (and intend to) go back there, as soon as possible!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAWStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed from 14th -17th April, just after Easter. Because we had 2 dogs we opted to stay in one of their comfortably appointed 'coach houses', up some steps to the upper terrace and a few yards away from the main hotel. Dogs are permitted in the public rooms of the hotel until 6 pm, after which they must go "bye-byes" in their owners' rooms. Dogs are NOT charged for at this hotel - this is unique, and very encouraging feature, in our experience! A couple of other guests had dogs with them while we were staying there, (the owners themselves are dog owners), and the whole place is very, very dog-tolerant. Owing to our two large dogs, our suite was a little smaller than we would have wished, (they take up an enormous amount of floor space when they are stretched out), - though this wouldn't have been a problem to anyone without two enormous dogs. We brought a large dog quilt (American, 'Orvis' 10' 0" square, with us to try to keep the hotel floor clean. It was too big for the exposed floor area of the room). We took our wireless laptop which didn't pick up in our room, but my husband was warmly welcomed to log-on with his laptop in the comfortable reception area - which at this time of year had a lovely blazing fire in the grate.
The gardens were superb! On a hillside, the shrubs, trees, fishpond and flower beds are on different 'terraces' and are - even in April - very pretty. I can imagine that in high summer they would be spectacular. There was a table and chairs on the patio of our 'coach house' room, ditto with the other similar four. The view was wonderful.
The Breakfast Menu was surprisingly extensive: from cooked poached haddock to pancakes to full English, plus a buffet of fruit, cereals, yoghurts,etc.,etc. And the Evening Menu was adventurous and surprisingly different from what we might have expected.
The little local girls waiting at table are terribly pretty, polite, helpful and engaging - nothing seemed to be a trouble to them. Very helpful and very refreshing.
Given the time of year - and the location, particularly close to Wet Wales, we shouldn't have been surprised at the weather :( Wet. Wet. And Wet. Dull. Grey. Misty. But clearing - a bit - in the mid-afternoon to tepid sunshine. We took two of the walks, (liberally printed off by hotel staff), around the local area. Fairly hilly and, we found, quite strenuous - but we are in our 60's. Dogs loved it. We are members of the National Trust and during our stay visited Chirk Castle, (on the day we visited, stupidly disorganised and disappointing. Good walk around the Castle though; follow the red-painted stakes), and Erddig, (absolutely wonderful! - sadly not enough time to see it all properly). Oswestry town is highly disappointing.... See Ludlow and other Shropshire towns for prettiness...
To sum up: Hotel, (room, food, etc.) - Great!!! Scenery/Local Walks - Brilliant!!! Local Area: Very lovely! I would give this hotel Five Stars.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skillful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
452 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
417 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,276 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
414 reviews
15.3 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Property: Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing