We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2009

For us the highlight of our two night stay, was the excellent food served in this lovely 'get away from it all' hotel. The staff were both friendly and professional, the location of the hotel is excellently situated for walking and the views were fantastic. Our room was nicely decorated and the public areas such as the lounge, the restaurant and the bar area were also very pleasant. We have already recommended Pen-y-Dffryn to the rest of our friends, and we would love to (and intend to) go back there, as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAWStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 565 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed from 14th -17th April, just after Easter. Because we had 2 dogs we opted to stay in one of their comfortably appointed 'coach houses', up some steps to the upper terrace and a few yards away from the main hotel. Dogs are permitted in the public rooms of the hotel until 6 pm, after which they must go "bye-byes" in their owners' rooms. Dogs are NOT charged for at this hotel - this is unique, and very encouraging feature, in our experience! A couple of other guests had dogs with them while we were staying there, (the owners themselves are dog owners), and the whole place is very, very dog-tolerant. Owing to our two large dogs, our suite was a little smaller than we would have wished, (they take up an enormous amount of floor space when they are stretched out), - though this wouldn't have been a problem to anyone without two enormous dogs. We brought a large dog quilt (American, 'Orvis' 10' 0" square, with us to try to keep the hotel floor clean. It was too big for the exposed floor area of the room). We took our wireless laptop which didn't pick up in our room, but my husband was warmly welcomed to log-on with his laptop in the comfortable reception area - which at this time of year had a lovely blazing fire in the grate.
The gardens were superb! On a hillside, the shrubs, trees, fishpond and flower beds are on different 'terraces' and are - even in April - very pretty. I can imagine that in high summer they would be spectacular. There was a table and chairs on the patio of our 'coach house' room, ditto with the other similar four. The view was wonderful.
The Breakfast Menu was surprisingly extensive: from cooked poached haddock to pancakes to full English, plus a buffet of fruit, cereals, yoghurts,etc.,etc. And the Evening Menu was adventurous and surprisingly different from what we might have expected.
The little local girls waiting at table are terribly pretty, polite, helpful and engaging - nothing seemed to be a trouble to them. Very helpful and very refreshing.
Given the time of year - and the location, particularly close to Wet Wales, we shouldn't have been surprised at the weather :( Wet. Wet. And Wet. Dull. Grey. Misty. But clearing - a bit - in the mid-afternoon to tepid sunshine. We took two of the walks, (liberally printed off by hotel staff), around the local area. Fairly hilly and, we found, quite strenuous - but we are in our 60's. Dogs loved it. We are members of the National Trust and during our stay visited Chirk Castle, (on the day we visited, stupidly disorganised and disappointing. Good walk around the Castle though; follow the red-painted stakes), and Erddig, (absolutely wonderful! - sadly not enough time to see it all properly). Oswestry town is highly disappointing.... See Ludlow and other Shropshire towns for prettiness...
To sum up: Hotel, (room, food, etc.) - Great!!! Scenery/Local Walks - Brilliant!!! Local Area: Very lovely! I would give this hotel Five Stars.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skillful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Pen Y Dyffryn is one of the best hotels that we have had the pleasure to stay at. The location is superb and perfect for a "get away from it all" holiday. If you like walking in spectacular countryside, as we do, there are some excellent walks, from the hotel, which are detailed in the reception area and cater for all abilities from the casual stroll to the serious trek . Further afield there is so much to do that we ran out of time. If you just want peace and relaxation then you do not need to move from the hotel and you will only be disturbed by bird song . The staff are so welcoming and accomodating , nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent and although we did not have dinner, the menu looked good ! The superior room with spa bath is a gem ! We look forward to returning !!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthWalesTrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

If you want or need a recharge of batteries, this is the place to come. The setting is sublime, the food wonderful and the staff charming and cheerful. We have been 4 times already and we will return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenOldieOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

I can support all of the earlier, favourable comments so won't repeat them. This lovely country hotel is a real find. It feels as though it's in a remote spot and yet it's only a few miles west of Oswestry. For those who like walking it's ideally situated with plenty of walks from the hotel door - details are available from Reception. We spent only one night here but liked it so much have immediately booked to come again with friends.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vronni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for the first night of our honeymoon on route from Bournemouth to Scotland, and we absolutely loved it!! On arrival the grounds looked beautiful, and we loved the lounge rooms with open fires roaring.
Our room was the Upper Coach house, and was private and cosy feeling - beautifully decorated, and an amazing shower! We had complimentary tea and cakes in the lounge room infront of the fire then went back to our rooms to relax.

Dinner was absolutely wonderful, with loads of courses, and appetizers to start. We are particularly interested in food, and eat out a lot, but the food here was cooked to perfection, and was one of the best meals we've ever eaten out.

This place is perfect for a romantic and relaxing get away. We felt completely relaxed after our stay, and we were only here one night!! It is an added bonus that our dog was welcome, and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Pen-y-Dyffryn is an unique hotel in which to get away from the pressures of everyday life. In its beautiful setting overlooking the Welsh Hills around Offa's Dyke, it is the perfect place for a rest. The food is first rate, the accommodation extremely comfortable and the service is excellent. The proprietors, Miles and Audrey Hunter, make a real effort to ensure that you enjoy your stay

Stayed: September 2008
Thank BeaconsfieldBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
478 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
432 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
13.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
471 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: $115 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing