We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just returned (01/06/14) from a one night stay and have returned home feeling totally relaxed. We managed to book the last room available which was advertised as a small double room, while it small, it was a fair size. What a beautiful location! We sat outside in the sunshine, glass of wine in hand, enjoying the beautiful gardens and surrounding views and felt totally relaxed. The quality food in the restaurant and excellent service from the very helpful staff made it a most enjoyable stay and we are already checking the calender to see when we can return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top patio had stunning views and were separate from the house. Apparently they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 572 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were fortunate to be able to book a table in the restaurant. We all opted to choose something different on the menu and we were all pleased with the meals that we had chosen. The food is about quality and not quantity, however should you want more bread or vegetables then you only need ask. The atmosphere is relaxed and not hurried. The attention to service was extremely good. All this however does come at a price, so you will need deep pockets

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Langfords2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Myself and my partner stopped here mid May 2014. Upon approach to the Hotel, it looked fantastic in the glimmering summer's day.

Welcome, we were presently surprised to be upgraded to one of the master rooms. Beautiful views of the gardens in bloom and king size bed.

We decided to opt for a light lunch, simple but tasty sandwiches (a couple of hot options might have been nice), accompanied with a nice (pale) ale - recommended.

tea and Scones, or coffee in our case followed - simply delightful.

After working up an appetite (super large collection of walks to choose from. We popped down for the 4 course dinner - recommended.

Everything is fairly priced and we will be looking to go back for longer next time....

A real break for reality

Room Tip: We opted for the standard double, were lucky to be upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This stone built former rectory and school came up trumps in all departments although deep pockets are required if you want to enjoy the food and wine! Friendly and helpful owners and staff, show gardens overlooking a valley between rolling hills and plenty of lovely walks combine to provide a relaxing and enjoyable visitor experience. We particularly liked the communal rooms and gardens and the friendly efficient staff.

Room Tip: A Coach House room with patio overlooking the gardens and valley is worth considering unless you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdTheLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel lived up to the high expectations created by the reviews on Tripadvisor: friendly and helpful owners / staff; excellent dinners (the menu changed completely every night of our 3 night stay); and a lovely setting comprising the hotel's own gardens nestling in a valley between rolling hills.
The owners were very helpful in providing suggestions and advice on where to visit in the area - and there is plenty. Overall a lovely short break - we hope to return.

Room Tip: We had the terrace room, which has a door straight out into the garden - lovely, and despite being n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Pen y Dyffryn hotel and restaurant stands on the Welsh border near Oswestry, where dual carriageways down size to winding lanes. The imposing stone mansion, built as a vicarage in 1840, has spacious comfortable rooms with inspiring views of the garden and across the valley. Some rooms have patios which would be lovely in the sunshine.

For dinner, following the successful amuse bouche, I had locally smoked salmon with beetroot sorbet and celeriac remoulade. The beetroot sorbet, as big as a duck egg, rather overpowered the salmon. Then I had local fillet steak served with asparagus and mashed potato which was perfect. There were the same extra vegetables with whatever the main course choice. I prefer the chef to put before me a complete main course with the perfect balance of diet and flavour.

On the tables there were carafes containing single sickly green chrysanthemums. What for?

We’ve been before. We’ll go again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterBibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at this country house hotel. It always presents us with a problem trying to find a nice hotel that is dog friendly and is run by people who care. A friend recommended it so we thought we'd give it a try. The staff were excellent , friendly, smiley, courteous and only too happy to help. That is for me one of the most important things, as staff can make or break a business. People buy people. Leonie in particular is a little gem!
The hotel is small and homely, the service and food are excellent and although it was our first visit the clientele in the main are regular visitors which says a lot !
At breakfast each day a newsletter is provided with great suggestions for walks, lunch options, shopping etc. even a weather report! A map is available upon request for the local walk of the day. A super touch I thought.
We also requested an ice bucket and two champagne glasses which were provided without any resistance or charge. How nice is that?!
Guests dress for dinner which is rather nice considering there is such a relaxed atmosphere. Drinks and delicious home cooked canapés are served in the front lounge which is stylishly dressed with an open fire. The menu changes each day and provides an excellent choice including a vegetarian option. There is no need to book a specific time for dinner so as long as it is between the kitchens open times again all is relaxed, just amble down when you are ready. Dinner is rather a surprising experience in a positive way as the food from start to finish is excellent. Certainly surpassing my expectations. Congratulations to chef and the team for a superb job!!
Coffee/tea/ hot chocolate etc is served in the rear lounge with delicious home made chocs all in front of an open fire. Very relaxing !
We took our two little dogs which we put in a portable crate during meal times . As we carry quite a lot of luggage for the four of us our courtyard room was somewhat cramped but as this was the only one available on booking we had no option for a larger room. On our departure I discussed this with Audrey and Leonie who advised me that for future bookings I should reserve the champagne room in the main hotel which is bigger with double Jacuzzi baths. They are more than happy to accept dogs in the main hotel too .
The distance to the courtyard rooms was a pain with all our luggage also the steps ( the hotel is built into a hillside) a porter service would be much appreciated in the future .
Overall a perfect retreat for lovely walks in the countryside, relaxing and being well fed and watered ! A most refreshing change to many hotels. Ps there is no fitness centre but couldn't delete it from the chart!

Room Tip: Courtyard room four is the largest or the champagne room inside the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie4713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
481 reviews
3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
435 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,328 reviews
13.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
476 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: $99 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing