We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magnificent food”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel is in an old rectory out in the country. Rooms are all individual. Ours was quite small but very well appointed and designed. Staff were friendly and efficient. We were given afternoon tea on arrival and sat before a roaring fire. A varied menu was provided and all the food we had was magnificent. Wonderful breakfast. Fruits of the forest on my all bran with fresh yoghurt set me up for a cooked breakfast which included black budding properly cooked not fried.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewrat222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    103
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
412
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Booked a weekend 2 night stay at very short notice in the ground floor room in the main hotel as only one of 2 rooms left. On booking I was asked if we would like this made up as a twin or super-king double and requested the latter. When we arrived the beds were made up as twins and we asked if it would be possible to have this rectified and this was done whilst we were having dinner without any interference to our evening.The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept very well. Dinner both evenings was delicious with ample choices and the wine list very reasonable. The proprietors were both friendly and Audrey extremely helpful in offering advice on our days activities. We arrived too late on our first evening to have our free tea and scones but this was offered unprompted on our second afternoon. All in all a very pleasant weekend and we shall be signing up for their newsletter with a view to returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckyjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

On the strength of positive TA reviews we opted for a two night stay, and because of the glowing description which was given on the hotel's website, we opted for Rectors Room. Looking forward greatly to our weekend break, I telephoned the hotel to check my reservation before departure and was assured by Mrs Milne that we were booked into our room of choice.
Upon checking in, it was therefore somewhat bewildering, to be taken to the Rose Room, and when questioning the obvious mistake, to be informed that the Rectors Room was already occupied by someone else, and that no other rooms were available, due to the hotel being fully booked !
The receptionist was very pleasant and apologetic, admitting that a mistake had somehow been made, but said that she was powerless to rectify the problem. I refused to accept this explanation and asked to speak to Mrs Milne, who eventually contacted me via their internal telephone switchboard.
Her manner was very brusque and she seemed totally unable to comprehend why I refused to accept the room which had been allocated. After a somewhat protracted argument she did eventually acceed to my demands to be given the correct room, which she obviously felt to be an unwarranted inconvenience. For the duration of our stay Mrs Milne's manner could certainly be described as 'frosty', her parting comment being a rather sarcastic, "I hope you ....eventually enjoyed your stay " ?
On paying our bill, which was almost £600, she could not even bring herself to say "thank you" let alone inviting us to return for a future visit.
Having dealt with the negative elements of our visit, I must stress the positives by saying that we did indeed 'eventually' enjoy our stay at Pen-y- Dyffryn in the Rectors Room.
The hotel is in an extremely quiet location, and commands impressive views. There are some lovely circular walks from the hotel to suit all levels of fitness.
The employed staff are all very welcoming,friendly and helpful.
The restaurant is pleasant, although the tables are much too closely spaced, making dining a rather communal experience. The chef offers a good selection of well prepared dishes, the menu changing daily.

Room Tip: Make certain that you compare the rooms and get written confirmation that you will be given the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMorris59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanrwst
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here for several days with our dogs - it's an excellent, very dog-friendly hotel, the staff were great and extremely welcoming, and the hotel and the annex where we stayed were warm and comfortable and set in gorgeous scenery without being too remote. The food is excellent, as is the service, and we all had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my family to celebrate a birthday. The Hotel is very well located hidden on the Shropshire border with stunning views. A great open fire warm and welcoming with a friendly reception. No hassle is a good description with the rooms welcoming and amazingly well appointed with a bed you never want to get out of. The meal has an amazing selection to satisfy anyone's requirements and we were never made to feel in an rush from order our meal to leaving the table.

Breakfast is in exactly the same style, very relaxed but efficient style that will make you want to stay for ever.

Cannot recommend highly enough considering everything.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MidWalesWelsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Really enjoyed our two night stay. Really peaceful, relaxing and welcoming. Fantastic atmosphere - homely and not too formal. Beautiful views. Great location to explore. Excellent food! Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rhian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night in July. Only a room in the main house was available. This was fine but rather a long way to carry luggage. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was generous and comfortable with a good bathroom and plenty of soft towels. The location is beautiful and excellent for walking. The garden is also very attractive. However, we really felt that the food let them down. It was very overpriced and rather uninspiring, especially as there were such good reviews on TA. One reviewer commented that it might be fine for the older person but think of the young. Well I am the older person and I am sorry but it didn't suit me either. I don't like to give it only average, but somehow it missed the mark.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
13.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Property: Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing