We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the last couple of years and absolutely love this place. During our stay we invited relatives over to stay there with us for one night and it was wonderfull to see that they felt the same as we do. If there is a place to destress it absolutely is Pen Y Dyffryn. Dinner was as good as ever, maybe the portions this time were a bit on the large site. While talking to other guest who had never been at Pen Y Dyffryn before we noticed that everyone feels the same, Warm welcome, friendly staff, great location and good honest food. Most people say they will absolutely visit again , and so do we.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dutchcouple040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 565 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this charming country hotel for two nights en-route home after visiting family in Cheshire and it was our first time in this area near the Welsh border. When the reservation was made, the hotel was almost fully booked, however we were offered, and accepted, the 'Champagne Room', taking advantage of the 20% offer on DB&B.

From the outset, all members of staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Our room was large and comfortable with the added bonus of a whirlpool bath. The dinner was tasty and well-presented and the breakfast had the added bonus of a super platter of fresh fruit.

Although the weather did not lend itself to pre-dinner drinks on the patio, the views did indeed coax us out one evening.

There are plenty of suggestions for things to do and places to visit in the area - we only wish we had the time to do more.

If you want a relaxed, comfortable and unpretentious place to stay in a quiet corner of the UK try the Pen-y-Dyffryn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campanologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Although we live about 60 miles away we have never visited this part of Shropshire before. Earlier this year we stopped off for a coffee on our way to North Wales for the day and decided we would take one of our regular two night breaks in Oswestry. It was a good decision with plenty to see and do including three very interesting National Trust properties at Chirk Castle, Erddig and Powis Castle all within a short drive.

We chose the Pen-y-Drffryn mainly through tripadviser. It was an inspired choice. We had wanted a Coach House room with our own patio but they were all fully booked so went for the Garden Room on the first floor with views along the garden. As it was, the light rain in the morning and evening meant we would have had little opportunity to sit outside although for most of the time in the area we experienced pleasant summer sunshine.

When deciding where to stay I quickly look at some of the recent reviews on tripadviser before examining in detail the lowly rated ones. I generally find these fall into 3 categories, those which identify a genuine problem which may turn us off visiting, some where the reviewer has a bee in their bonnet with the issues identified not necessary significant and those where the review is a spoiler, sometimes written for a competitor and occasionally said to be by someone with years of experience in the trade.

I was not therefore too concerned when I read the review dated 8th August shortly before we set off, but there is always a niggle at the back of the mind. However dinner at £37 a head is good value particularly when part of a DBB package with 20% off during August. During our stay all the fruit at breakfast looked fresh and appertizing whilst the room was very comfortable given the age of the building and the prices charged.

I cannot rate it a "5" as I have done for a few extremely good but more expensive hotels where we have stayed but it is more than a "4" - I would give it a "4½" if I could.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night at the beginning of August and from the minute we arrived we had no cause to be unhappy. Friendly, helpful and efficient staff - nothing was too much trouble, from bringing champagne to us up near the summerhouse (quite an uphill trek on a hot sunny day), to ensuring we didn't miss out on the canapés before dinner, and always with a smile. We stayed in the champagne room with beautiful views across the gardens and valley. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated and furnished, and the spa bath was a very nice touch. Dinner and breakfast were both very good and we left feeling completely rejuvenated. We shall return and will probably try one of the other rooms which all looked just as lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goneforgoodthistime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed five nights at the Pen-y-Dyffryn last week. This small country hotel, set in superb Shropshire countryside and minutes from the border with Wales, exudes hospitality at its best; good hosts, exemplary service, friendly smiling staff, and not least great food well presented.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, not five stars, but the hotel has no pretentions of being five stars. The big name hotel groups could learn from the owners of this little gem.

Room Tip: Talking to other guests I believe all the rooms are good. We stayed in the Rectors room with dual as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragomanBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel has everything we needed for a cosy getaway, tucked away in rolling welsh countryside. Food was delicious especially the venison which both my husband and i thoroughly enjoyed! All the staff very nice too. Our room was pristine and the decor just right for a country hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louiseedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I am usually willing to overlook the odd transgression and quirkiness of a resort but this place had just too many. I am very surprised at the rating it is closer to middle of the pack rather than as a leader. I am speaking from my 30 years’ experience as a manager in the Hotel Industry.

To start the dinner meal was overpriced. The main was just ok; they did a better job however on the dessert but still not worth the price they charged. Never did get the afternoon tea as we arrived late but was not offered something in its place.

Breakfast well here is where it goes off the mark. Some of the fresh cut fruit that was there on the first day was served up again and again. By the third day no one was touching it. I shook my head at seeing the same leftover fruit on the fourth day. Serving frozen berries and canned crab apples when fresh fruit is available seems a little on the cheap side. Please research the term pancakes with maple syrup, pancakes are not crepes and this is what was served.

As to the room it ended up tipping the scales, I was expecting something that looked similar to the pictures on the web. However it looks as though the camera filters they used really tarted the place up. I have to admit it was one of the most attractive websites and the reason we booked with you.
Please for sanitary reasons remove the carpet in the bathroom and install tile.
Nice gesture on the house coat but only one and there were two of us.
There was the usual coffee/tea service set up but the wrapped cookie was quite dreadful.

Sorry I'd like to but can't in all good conscience recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pagewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
478 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
432 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,323 reviews
13.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
472 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: $112 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing