We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from a short break away at Pen-y-Dyffryn. We wanted somewhere to stay for one night for our wedding anniversary. The weather was not too good - rather windy and wet- which was a shame as the gardens looked beautiful and it would have been a lovely place to sit out and admire the view. Our room was small but well appointed and really comfortable. The food was amazing and good value for money. The staff are really friendly and the service was brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    104
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
423
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Asked for ground floor room-told wasn't one-this turned out to be untrue. Steps all very dangerous. No mobile service. One vegetarian option on menu which turned out to be very poor. Alcohol prices high ('captive audience'). Waiting girls lovely. Gardens outstanding. Please check 'extras' on bill.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Subp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a fantastic place in a stunning setting !

We stayed for just 1 night as a treat so wanted something reasonably close but also where we could take our dog and were pretty much blown away !

The setting is breath-taking and the old rectory beautiful with loads of character. Staff and owners were all friendly, helpful and accommodating and the room very well quipped and comfortable with it own small patio to sit out a look across the valley.

The food was more than excellent being well sourced, well cooked and well presented.

The room we stayed in (The Upper Court) could do with a little T.L.C. but this is only minor as all other aspects were beyond our expectations.

Great for a restful night or weekend away from the hustle and bustle or a special treat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neale E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayd here 2 days, lucky with fine weather, small room but very well equipped, very good food,
Pleasant and effective service, very good value for money. Beautifully located in the Shropshire hills, nice gardens, pleasant terrace. Just a pity that it overlooks the car parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Found the Pen - y - Dyffryn on the internet when i was looking for a hotel to spend a romantic and quality time with my wife for her birthday.
The hotel, accomadation, staff and the food exceeded all expections.
Being able to sit in the attractive and well kept gardens admiring the views added to helping us relax was a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for the champane room with a double both
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Pen-y-Dyffryn is situated in exquisitely beautiful countryside of rolling hills, complemented by a lovely garden. We were immediately made welcome on arrival and greeted with afternoon tea, which we were able to enjoy on the terrace.
The public rooms are stylish and comfortable, with very much of a country house atmosphere. The bedrooms are equally so, with comfortable bed and the bathroom providing quality toiletries, large fluffy towels and bathrobes.
Sadly, the restaurant does not live up to its star billing and disappointed us at the particular time of our visit. We discussed with the Hotel management who explained that the menu is changed nightly, but we honestly felt that in respect of the main courses at least, it fell short both in its content and execution. This is a pity, because in all other respects, the establishment excels, and its location issuperb..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed for one night for my husband's 30th birthday.

The hotel itself was beautiful from the outside, all grey stone and gorgeous gardens. There was also plenty of parking.

On arrival, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was small but very quaint, country-style and cosy with a nice view. We were given complimentary tea and scones on arrival, which were delicious.

The weather was beautiful so we could appreciate the gardens and scenery in their full glory, so we spent the day sitting in the garden and going for a long walk. Maps of local walks are provided.

We had the dinner, bed and breakfast package as it was a special occasion. Dinner was 4 courses, but we actually got 5- canapés, a pea volute, our starter, main, and pudding. The food was tasty but not outstanding. I was a little offended that I overheard the chef asking someone if we were to be given 2 or 3 scallops, and when it came out I only got 2. This seems very stingy in my opinion, especially for the price you are paying. Wine was very expensive (£16.95 for a bottle of house rose), as were drinks from the bar (£4 for a pint of lager).

We slept like 2 logs in the extremely comfy beds and the perfect silence of the countryside.

Breakfast was faultless. We had cereal and yogurt, juice and then a full breakfast with toast and tea.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms would be fine as it is so quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XerxesL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
448 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
413 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,256 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
620 reviews
13.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Property: Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing