We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Valentines retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a fantastic dinner bed and breakfast deal for Valentines weekend. Food was very good, rooms and views fantastic. Two real roaring fires made the place cosy.
I have already recommended this place to my family and friends. Great value for money in luxury surroundings.
Dog friendly too and why not!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank fromagegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penydyffryn, Owner at Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Very kind. Perhaps we will meet some friends and family soon!
Miles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 565 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

As the title says, from a warm welcome to an informative goodbye the next morning, and of course amazing food and wine and lovely room in between! A one night break with my partner in the rectors room was just what we wanted, great location, staff attentive, evening dinner superb and an amazing breakfast. Thank you Pen-y-Dyffryn

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lally05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penydyffryn, Owner at Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks for the good comments. Hope to see you again soon
Miles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed one night at Pen y Dyffryn inc dinner,its only 25 mins from our house but it was our first visit.Our room was away from the main building and was comfortable,light and airy with a lovely view.On arrival check in was smooth and efficient and we were welcomed with tea and cake in front of a roaring log fire !
Evening meal was one of the best Ive ever had,the menu though not extensive was varied enough to suit most tastes.My wife and I opted for the tandoori style pigeon breast starter followed by guinea fowl and pork respectively as mains,followed by creme brulee and apple ice cream ,and apple, pear and pistachio nuts flan.The meal was of the highest quality as was the service.The choice of wine is excellent and not over priced.......we can definitely recommend the hotel for a totally relaxing experience with the added bonus of superb food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penydyffryn, Owner at Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

So glad you enjoyed our food. Mr Morris, our head Chef has been with us for nearly fifteen years now - some sort of record I guess!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel in 4 months. We enjoyed it so much the first time round we wanted to come again. The location is wonderful, fantastic views, no phone signal, excellent food, wonderful staff and superb room. If you need time to relax in a peaceful environment this is the place for you. I cannot believe the earlier review of someone who thought the staff/owners were rude. This is so not true. The staff always speak to you, they never walk by without acknowledging you. Can't wait for our next visit, hopefully in warmer weather when all the flowers are out! I'm sure it will look even more spectacular and I look forward to sitting in the grounds enjoying the sun!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the champagne room (double spa bath and separate shower). It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbsjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penydyffryn, Owner at Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

It is always reassuring to get such positive feedback - we do try very hard to make our visitors feel like house-guests. We hope to see you again very soon
MIles and Audrey Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just enjoyed a relaxing break at the Pen-y-Dyffryn hotel and can thoroughly recommend it. The location is idyllic and our Coach House room overlooked the valley into Wales. When we arrived we enjoyed complimentary tea and scones in front of a roaring fire which was the perfect way to unwind after the journey. Dinner was superb with a good choice of locally sourced food and the service was attentive and friendly. Breakfast was equally good and a nice touch is the day's weather forecast with suggested trips and walks printed out for each table. This is indeed fine walking country and our dog, who was staying with us, enjoyed the stay as much as we did! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Coach House rooms are perfect for those staying with four-legged friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penydyffryn, Owner at Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay, and that it sounds as if your lovely dog also enjoyed his time with us. Hope to see the three of you again soon
Miles and Audrey Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Pen-y-Dyffryn on our wedding night before going away on honeymoon and had a truly wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful, the food is exquisite, and it is set in a lovely location with some excellent walks from the doorstep. Our room was immaculate and had wonderful views of the countryside. The staff were incredibly friendly and efficient and no request was too much trouble. We were made to feel very special indeed and had a lovely chat with some of the staff over a delicious breakfast of smoked salmon in the beautiful dining room.

It was a lovely way to spend our first few days as a married couple together and I would like to thank the staff for making it so special for us. We will certainly be returning for our first anniversary! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penydyffryn, Owner at Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

We all wish you both a long and happy life together and look forward to seeing you for your anniversary
Miles and Audrey Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Sadly, this is my first bad review, and it doesn't feel good, I love saying the nice things, but this time I just can't. We looked online, the website looked great, menu seemed wonderful, all in all we couldn't wait. even though we only live about 25 miles away we really thought we may have found a real local "Gem". Unfortunately NOT! This was our Wedding Anniversary weekend, 2 nights of relaxing country air, in the beautifully described rooms with food to die for. Sounded too good to be true. IT WAS!
We arrived with high expectations around 3.30 on the Friday, looking to get settled and have a lovely walk in the country to work up an appetite for our evening meal. On entry, there was no one around. After a few minutes and some Hellooooooo's! a young lady arrived she was courteous and friendly and showed us to our room. According to the guest book, we were the only guests, yet there was no mention of the online promised upgrade (we checked up to 11 pm that night and the better rooms were still available, so no excuses there). We booked a standard room as they all looked really great on line. How deceptive pictures can be. We were shown to the "Blue Room". We have stayed in Hotels all over the world from top notch one's like Villa D'Este, Eden Roc. Cipriani, Plaza NY, & Breakers, to the cheaper Travelodge, Premier Inn, Farmhouse B & B etc. We do know what to expect, and what to consider as value for money. This was certainly not that! The bed linen was worn and dowdy, The bathrobes (wiser not to place in room) so worn the needed throwing away, bed cushions, worn out, carpet, worn out, paint work, scuffed and marked. The room was small and claustrophobic, it did however have a nice view. Everywhere seemed relatively clean, definitely not spotless by any stretch of the imagination, but clean. Sadly because items were so worn, they gave the impression of being dirty, because they were faded and too used to get away with. The whole place needs a real good overhaul, hallway carpets, stair carpets worn and dowdy. Everywhere very cluttered with ornaments and knickknacks which just made the place look really untidy. If the paintwork etc... had been good, it may have looked fresher and less cluttered and scruffy. The dining room, whilst nicely set out, had maximum tables for the size, just not conducive to fine dining or a private or a romantic meal, you could almost envisage sharing your neighbours napkin. We didn't try the food, or find out what the sleep was like, as we spoke to the owner, who was quite rude and unhelpful, offered no apology, no other room and stated what did we expect booking one of their cheaper rooms!!!! This cheaper room cost us £156 per night £312 for two nights. so not really that cheap! The owner ungraciously manner almost left us feeling like second class citizens who they couldn't be bothered to help. Sadly they failed to realize we are both seasoned travelers, who have several holidays a year, have been responsible for providing accommodation in one of our businesses in the past, and do know what we are talking about. The owners left us feeling so unwelcome and accommodated that we chose to forgo our £50 deposit and leave without sampling the food or accommodation. At this point we were just grateful that out home was only 40 minutes drive away. We will not be going back, and will ensure we go somewhere we have tried and tested next time we have a special weekend in mind. It's a real shame! The area is great, the potential all there, but it really falls far short of the mark.

Room Tip: My advice would be book the best room you can, as the standard rooms are extremely small by any stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penydyffryn, Owner at Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

These guests did not actually stay at the hotel. They checked in and then left within 15 minutes, without speaking to anyone about their issues, and then rang to complain from the car on their way home. This is a first in our experience. We firmly believe that everyone is entitled to their opinions, and we respect them, but in these unusual circumstances there doesn’t seem much to be gained from a detailed response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
478 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
432 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
13.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
471 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: $113 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing