We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Total Quality”
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We only managed a one-night break and I so wish it could have been longer. We stayed midweek in the Superior Room and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

The room itself is well equiped and very spacious - a perfect place to relax. It was clean and well stocked and a very welcoming environment.

The food on offer is also of a high quality - and an extensive wine-list will suit almost any palate. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our meals which were served by the friendly and helpful staff.

It's not cheap but we would definitely stay there again as we had a great time.

  • Liked — The food was excellent and mostly organic.
  • Disliked — The choice of newspaper was very limited.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SpikeyMikey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    105
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
428
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

If you like peace and quiet this is the place for you.Comfortable bedrooms with all the facilities you need for a short stay.Above average food served in a pleasant dining room by attentive and friendly staff.We just felt that if we spoke in any more than a whisper some of the other guests might have had a heart attack!!

  • Liked — Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Too quiet.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

We were only able to stay at Pen-y-Dyffryn for one night but will return. From the moment we walked into reception to register until the time we checked out, we were made to feel 'special' and very welcomed at this 12 bedroom country house hotel on the border of Shropshire and Wales. Our evening meal (4 courses) was one of the best we have had for a long time; beautifully prepared and presented. There are two comfortable lounges where you can relax before and after a meal, and in reception a folder of local walks from the hotel to help you plan the next day. Folders in the rooms give lots of other ideas for places to visit, as does a sheet which is presented with your breakfast menu. A nice touch is that the room folder also lists the (mainly local) suppliers of food for the hotel. Our room was in the Coach House and was very private, quiet and comfortable. You have your own patio table and chairs which must be nice weather permitting! This is not a cheap hotel, but you get what you pay for; value for money and real quality. The (mainly young) staff were without exception, excellent.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the Hunter family and their staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2007

We have just returned from a superb weekend at this gem of a country hotel. Our room, 'Upper Court' in the Coach House was spacious and well equipped with unrivalled views. Just a pity that the weather wasn't quite warm enough to sit out on the private patio!

Food at breakfast & dinner was excellent. Our only (slight) quibble was the emphasis on New World wines on the wine list. We prefer European wines - but that's personal taste.

Staff were attentive without being overbearing / intrusive.

We tested out the hotel's 'walk of the day' - the printed directions were well written & easy to follow - fuelled by a tasty packed lunch.

We didn't move the car from arrival until departure - and the silence of the countryside (and lack of mobile phone signal) was a real treat

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdlancstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

My elderly parents and I stayed here for a weekend in April and really loved it. The hotel and grounds are lovely, the staff extremely pleasant and willing and the food absolutely delicious. Both rooms were very pleasant. The Champagne Room, up a steep set of stairs in the main building, has a testered double bed, a single bed, a small sitting area with lovely views and a huge bathroom with largel spa bath and shower over. The Terrace Room. on the ground floor of the main building, has a king-sized bed, nice though somewhat small bathroom with shower only (so I guess it's a shower room) and a small patio outside French doors. Both very nicely done up and comfortable with fully-accoutered tea trays.

The food at both breakfast and dinner was gorgeous and delicious. At breakfast the fresh fruit selection was a stunner both mornings and the cooked breakfast delicious. Coffee and tea of excellent quality and toast from house-baked bread. The selections at dinner (4 courses with choices for 3 of them) were interesting and varied and all were executed very well. I particularly noticed that there were nice options for vegetarians. The nice mother and daughters group at the next table told us that they had been going there for breaks for over 10 years. We only wished that we lived near enough to become regulars too! (We are from Boston, MA, USA.)

  • Liked — the views, the gorgeous countryside, the food
  • Disliked — not a problem for us, but dining room can be quite noisy when full, depending on who the other guests are
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonGretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 2, 2006

My husband and I have just returned from a visit to Pen-y-Dyffryn Hotel. It's in a really beautiful location in eye catching Welsh border countryside. We had a great welcome on arrival with complimentary tea and cake by the fire. Our bedroom had fantastic views of the hills, the bathroom had a spa bath (that worked) and we had hot water bottles to keep our toes warm at night.
The staff were friendly and attentive but not fussing all the time (which is how we like it) and the food was especially good-it was quite difficult to choose each night as everything sounded so yummy. We didn't think the wine was overpriced either.
There is quite a lot to do in this bit of Shropshire, but the hotel is really well situated just to walk in the surrounding hills. The owners have produced a series of walks which help you on your way. We will definately be back later this year and we,re planning on bringing some friends along.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 28, 2005

Interesting little hotel on the edge of a small Welsh borders village (though the hotel is just in England. Great centre for walking and the surrounding area is gorgeous. Pheasants everywhere, buzzards and lots of other interesting birds for the twitcher, woods and streams, hills and little valleys.

The hotel itself is very good but has a couple of gaps in its otherwise good standards.
There were bowls of toffees and fruit around for guests to help themselves to - nice touch, though the apples were dried up when I thought of taking one. And they had a book of local walks that you could get a copy of to take out with you.

Our room was in the 'coach house' - Upper Court - which is outside the main building and up a set of dangerously steep steps - entirely unsuitable for anyone with the slightest walking impairment. It was one of a set of four and ours was quite nicely renovated and of good size, though with a rather poky bathroom and a pathetically feeble shower over the bath.
We were there late November with snow and strong wind and the room was very cold in the middle of the night when the central heating went off and the draught through the double doors swept in. The steps and path between main building and 'coach house' were slippery and seemed to have sand thrown on them rather than rock salt, so the ice did not shift till it thawed naturally.
(By the way, it could never really have been a coach house as you could never get anything with wheels up there, but I suppose they wouldn't want to call it a sheep, cow or pig house, as it really must once have been!!)
Some of the other guests also complained of cold (even in their rooms in the main house) but I noticed that the heating seemed to be higher / on longer, after that.

The hotel has two lounges with open wood and coal fires, though the fire in the lounge we preferred was not lit on Sunday afternoon/evening. Both pleasant rooms but only just big enough for the staying guests. Between is a pleasant dining room.

The menu was quite interesting and there was a goodish, though not over-expensive, wine-list. I got the impression though that the menu, whilst it varies daily, would recycle very quickly and other reviewers here months ago had the same choices as us, so if you stayed for longer than a few days you might find the same things coming round. Not a real problem as all choices seemed good, and all that we ate was excellent. Again adding a nice touch they served canapes / amuse-bouche and other little extras - pre dessert sweets etc. Coffee after dinner was extra though, which I thought was a bit tight.
Breakfast was less good, however, with wet bacon, un-basted fried egg, leathery mushrooms and miniscule, over-cooked, smoked haddock served to us. Though we were offered top-ups of tea and toast.

Service quality was generally very good, and they all tried to please, successfully.
Housekeeping staff hadn't bothered to check everything was working and as it should be - a light bulb was out on our arrival, tissues were not replaced when they ran out, water in the room was not replaced automatically. TV reception in the room was hopeless.
More importantly, service-wise, in my opinion, no-one at any time called us by name, and even when Miles, (as I discovered from his a name badge!) came around before dinner to talk to guests, he did not actually introduce himself or ask us who we were, though I guess he had a pretty good idea from which room we were in. This seemed to be the norm as I saw/heard no other guests being called by name either. A small touch perhaps but one that makes a great deal of difference, makes people feel comfortable and 'at home' so far more likely to return, and takes so little effort in a place of that size.

We may return as the location is so great and the no- longer so new proprietor and staff do seem to be trying to improve things and maintain a good standard, and there are not many other places to stay in the area, though we will look around again. I would say this is a place for couples - not families and definitely not corporate groups. The public space is very limited (two small lounges and the dining room), and would soon become untenable with corporate or child-generated noise.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
450 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
417 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,274 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
413 reviews
15.3 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Property: Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing