We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We found Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel quite by mistake browsing the internet but what a find.
In all the reviews I post on Tripadvisor I always start by saying that they are my personal opinions and therefore cant be responsible for how readers interpret them and given the recent media interest in the accuracy of reviews posted I would confirm that my thoughts are my own and are true reflection of our stay.

From the moment we arrived the staff couldnt have been more helpful. Everything was explained clearly and any question answered promptly. Complimentary afternoon tea including scones and homemade jam was taken in one of the very comfortable lounges complete with log fire. Pre dinner drinks were taken in the small but cosy bar and we were given plenty of time to study the dinner menu. Dinner was excellent, the chef obviously knows whats he`s doing and it was lovely to see as much use as possible of locally sourced ingredients. A comprehensive wine list is available with something for everybody.

We stayed in one of the "Lower Court" cottages which had obviously just been redecorated to a good standard and was very comfortable. If I only have one negative comment it is that there was a considerable gap around the door and its frame and as the wind was howling on the night we stayed there was quite a draft blowing in.

Overall our stay was extremely comfortable, welcoming and helpful staff (a rarity these days), with lovely lounge areas and bar. Restaurant was very good as was the standard and cleanliness of our room.

All in all the ideal weekend retreat or longer if you wish.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeuceCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 558 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

Went for a long weekend. Was absolutely brilliant. Lovely welcome with tea and scones. Brilliant dinner with local produce from a small but ever changing menu. Good strong wine list as well. If you're into you walking there are brilliant routes with spectacular scenery. The owner will help you plan where you want to go over a cracking breakfast. The staff can't do more for you and the ambiance is the right side of homely with out being stuffy. If you like a chain hotel with health spar and loyalty card scheme I wouldn't bother. If you're looking for the personal touch with good food, friendly and helpful staff along with a treck through the countryside then get yourself there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed at the Pen Y Dyffryn Hotel on our journey back home from a weekend in S Wales. Ths was to be a belated christmas present for my husband as the restaurant seemed very highly rated.
The overall ambiance of the hotel was good, welcoming staff, lounge areas with log fires, afternoon tea and scones on arrival.
The evening meal was nicely presented, the menu was interesting, however it just seemed to lack something to make it that little bit special. The final dissapointment of the meal was the price of the coffee, seemed fairly steep, after all the whole package for bed and breakfast and 4 course evening meal was not cheap by any means. Breakfast again was nicely presented, good food, but again lacking in that extra something...maybe we expected too much?
Bedroom very nice, clean, comfortable bed, lovely linen. Bathroom had a spa bath, the shower was rather a dissapointment as the power was very low. Towels were a treat, very white, very fluffy and excellent quality.
Overall a positive stay, but would not go out of our way to recommend it to family and friends.
.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m55w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I am not sure as to how many times my wife & myself have stayed here, at the "Lower Court", which is one of the four cottages at the back of the hotel, is very, very relaxing, and without telphone contact ( though this is only a few meters away ) we had the usual fantastic solution. Of course the food & views are up to the high standard, as expected. For us this is a great place to stay, but, min 2 nights. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Book one of the cottages.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil03091947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Pen-y-Dyffryn recently for 2 nights with our dog. Our criteria is a good standard hotel with great food which also accepts dogs - this can be quite a challenge to find, but we came up trumps with this hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much, the staff are very friendly and welcoming; our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with wonderful views over the valley and gardens; and the quality of the food was absolutely superb. This hotel has a very, very good chef, who cooks delicious meals. Therefore, we rate this hotel as being exceptionally good value for money. (Raymond Blanc take note, we enjoyed their food better than yours!)

Room Tip: The Rectors Room (Blue Room) is on the corner, first floor with dual aspect views. (There may be a l...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeremiah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We went for the New Year Break and found the hotel friendly and warm. We enjoyed the log fires and the entertainment such as it was although there was only just room for all the guests to sit in comfort as a party comprising eight of the guests habitually commandeered one of the lounge areas. The food was of good quality and presentation with a hefty influence on meat and dairy. We would have appreciated some choice at the New Year's Eve gala dinner which had a set menu and came plated with rare to medium meat and game for starter and main course.With only eighteen guests it should have been possible to circulate the menu the day before and ensure that we were all catered for happily. We were disappointed that the "coach house room accessed via stone steps" was not only this but also over uneven pathways and steps with areas of algae and slope. Thank goodness it wasn't icy, and we are fairly agile walkers. The room would be beautiful in the summer . We had bought into a New Year package which included various afternoon teas and champagne and were amazed on leaving to be charged £4 for every cup of coffee we had had following our evening meal.

Room Tip: Avoid the Coach House rooms in winter.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dumble41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Pen-y-Dryffryn is a lovely square stone-built house of comfortable size, overlooking a delightful quiet green valley. You enter and the sweet smell of the log fire beckons you to an armchair, There are papers to read, and a tray of tea and scones arrives with a smile from friendly receptionist. You may also see the resident dogs around, and many guests bring their own.

Because it was a Victorian vicarage, the rooms differ in size, and some are a short walk across well-tended gardens, with their own terrace. However, we expect that all rooms are comfortable, and ours was very convenient for a dog, with french windows.

The restaurant has a more modern decor, and the delicious cuisine reflects this, but you can still enjoy a traditional breakfast. It is the sort of place where guests talk to each other, and this reflects the easy amosphere created and sustained by the resident husband and wife owners.

It is not cheap, but the best never is.

Room Tip: The website shows the variety of rooms, but it is just as simple to telephone and ask for what you w...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ComfortCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
460 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
425 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,299 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
427 reviews
19.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: $153 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing